Beware of What lurks at night

4 34
Avatar for Joan0729
2 years ago

"Oof! Okay that's all of the luggage Mrs. Smith!" A boy said as he carefully placed huge boxes that stacks with each other from the Moving Van. He wipes his forehead and takes big gulps of cold water from a nearby coffee table that was arranged by Bethany Smith , A woman who just moved in at a quiet province with her family of three.

"Thank you so much Carol. Why don't you stay for dinner later?" Bethany asked while taking out the stuff from the luggage , It would be a bit rude to ignore the boy who helped her move big appliances such as Wooden Wardrobes and Heavy Kitchen wares. Her Husband was out for the day with their son to roam around the neighborhood , leaving her enough time to arrange their things without nuisance.

"Oh It's okay Mrs. Smith , I also need to do errands for my grandma , well see you around Ma'am!" The boy said as he turned down the invitation , he bid his goodbye and walked out of the house. Bethany sighed as she started to make dinner for her 2 boys and her parents'-in-law that would be here in a bit. After preparing dinner , she went on the backyard to stroll around while waiting for the others. Her newly bought house was located near a forest , in which her Backyard was open to the dark eerie aura of the forest.

She really had no choice but to buy the house since it was the only available house that's nearest to her Husband , Jerry's Parents' house. Of course she heard rumors from the internet that Jerry's Hometown was one of the places on earth that had cases of missing people and unidentified phenomenons kept occurring at this very neighborhood. Yes , It is scary but she had faith on her husband to protect their family at every cost.

A honk of a car was heard outside , She left the backyard to welcome the visitors. Not noticing a pair of eyes watching her leave.

"Hey Sweetie , I also called my parents over." Jerry said as he opened the passenger door only to reveal a sleeping little boy. "He's a bit tired from all of that sight seeing." He chuckled while shaking his child awake. "Urgh-Are we home?" The Kid said groggily while rubbing his eyes , Bethany picked up her little boy and gave him a kiss in the cheek. "How was the neighborhood? Did my little Sam had fun?" Beth asked as they went inside the house , leaving the Dad outside to wait for the remaining visitors to come.

"Yeah! I met this nice kid named Marco who's a bit older than me but he was really nice to me and we played the whole day!" Sam excitingly explained as he sat at the dinner table. The two chatted some more till Jerry's parents arrived. "Grandma!" Sam gleefully said while hugging his grandparents. "Oh My Goodness! My Little boy Sam is all grown up!" The grandfather said as he ruffled the little boy's hair.

"I'm a Big Boy now Grandpa! Don't call me little!" The adults in the room chuckled at the small outburst Sam made , they all sat at the dinner table and began to update each other about the current things happening on each other's life. "You know Beth , Sam is really a carbon copy of Jerry when he was young! It reminds me of the times he would come home crying-" The grandma was cut off by Jerry who choked on his food as he try to change the topic.

"So Beth , What do you think about the house?" The Grandfather asked as he take a sip of wine. To be honest , she doesn't really feel 'welcome' but rather feels that she won't be here for too long , but she shrugged away her thoughts and positively answered him with an 'just okay' to satisfy him. The family continued talking as they finished their food , The Grandparents also bid their goodbyes and invited them to visit their house tomorrow morning , which got a yes as a reply.

Sponsors of Joan0729
empty
empty
empty

After cleaning , Beth tucked Sam and kissed him Goodnight and went to her and Jerry's shared room. "Hey Bub , It looked like Sam had a great time and I heard he made a new friend." Beth chuckled as she pulled the blanket and covered her shivering body. "I don't really think so , He didn't even bother to talk with other kids and sat silently on a corner. Guess he's too occupied talking to himself." Jerry replied in a sleepy tone , he was already half-asleep. "Huh? But he just told me he made a friend , I think he's name was Mar-" She was cut off by a small snore coming from her husband. 'I guess I'll talk to him about it later.' As the both of them went to sleep.

Morning passed by and Beth started to get ready so they can visit her Parents'-in-law. Jerry and Sam were already at the car while she's still in the house to lock all the windows and doors , as she locked Sam's Bedroom , she heard a knock coming from afar. But as she was about to follow the sound , her husband called her.

3
$ 1.25
$ 1.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @renren16
$ 0.03 from @Lazysnail
+ 1
Sponsors of Joan0729
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Joan0729
2 years ago

Comments

Welcome aboard sis. I got goosebumps, I meant it. I really don't like reading something like this, but at some point, it got my attention. So, I forcedly read it up to the end.

I am looking forward to read more of your works in here.

Enjoy the rest of the day sis. God bless you! o:-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh Thank you! I was hoping to write more horror related stories since it's almost halloween and it'll be fun to give a little scare Ahahaha! Thank you for reading and I hope you have a nice day too! ^-^

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome, Joan0729. You seem to be a good writer. I'm looking forward to read more by you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! I hope to write more stories that could satisfy reader's tastes , thank you for reading! ^_^

$ 0.00
2 years ago