Writer's Ramblings: Report on my writing goals - Week 41

0 31
Avatar for Jnavedan
1 year ago

Progress in my writing

A week ago, I published the first report of my planned trip as a crypto writer: Time is flying by! 

Well! I've been writing on Blockchain-based or Blockchain-related websites since mid-2019. But now, I decided to drop the informality and give a brake to the chaos in my writing.

A bit of structure and good habits never hurt anyone: I'm no exception. In fact, I'm pretty ordinary and mediocre about it.

Wait a minute! When I say I'm mediocre, I'm not doing it to beat myself up. 

By mediocre, I mean normal behavior, and not in its derogatory sense.

In the search for excellence, some people forget that everyone has similar skills. And that only with continuous work will some obtain surprising results for themselves.

The first step is to jump from amateur to professional. 

By professional, I mean making your passion for writing your main livelihood.

Yes, I hear your mumbling. And you'll even think about how hard it is to break into the publishing field these days.

Of course, you're quite right in part! I don't deny it.

Besides, if you're just here to share your thoughts and experiences for fun. So, rewards are welcome to supplement your current income. 

Feel free to stop reading the article and look for fun elsewhere. But I suspect you are one of those who like to read and write like me.

Please don't do it like me! Who for many years worked to realize the dreams of others. I don't deny that I obtained certain satisfactions and benefits. But deep inside me, the writer was eager to get ahead.

At least, try to carry in parallel with the current work, writing. Today it is easier than yesterday, thanks to technology.

Consequently, get organized and standardize your writing process into a routine. You should have a kind of ritual for the creative process and a detailed log to measure your writing daily.

But above all, write for fun or to learn and share it. Who knows, you may end up inspiring others.

Well, today, I'll start by showing you how I put together, on the fly, the plan to reach my writing goals.

I made a spreadsheet for that purpose, and as the days went by, I refined it based on my experience.

If you wish, you can take a look at it below, my friend.

Source: Own elaboration

In the previous report, I planted the mental picture of my performance as a writer during week 40, as summarized in the following excerpt:

Of the 29 scheduled posts, I managed 26 with at least 5150 words out of 7100 (initially, it was 5900, but I decided to post consistently on Noise.App).

For those who like math, I achieved 89.66 % of the posts with 72.54 % of the word goal. Well, I was able to write some more, but I haven't automated the counting process yet. 

A line covers about 8 words and a page 200, so I wrote almost 26 pages.  

In other words, if I met the goal 100%, I could technically write a short novel.  

Source: Writer's Ramblings: Report on my writing goals - Week 40

At a glance, mapping in the spreadsheet indicators; allowed me to be objective with myself.

As you will see, I outperformed the previous week.

I won't deny you. I am relatively satisfied with the quantitative data, but sometimes the numbers mask relevant information.

In fact, I think I wrote more than the 8000 words recorded in the spreadsheet. Since I don't count the comments left on the posts I visit.

In this sense, the statement about the dissonance between quantity and quality comes to my mind: Quantity does not imply quality.

I wonder, how good are my writings?

Sure, fellow writer, you have also asked yourself this question (at some time).

Well! Let's leave the criticism to the audience. Let's dedicate ourselves to writing interesting and valuable topics correctly. Let's apply the Kaizen philosophy: Today is better than yesterday, and tomorrow will be better than today.

Let's look at the details, think, and act on them.

You may ask, what's the point? In the end, nothing is perfect, and details go unnoticed.

You are right, but...

Notice the red boxes on the spreadsheet: they represent two items I didn't write.

Sure, you can tell me. Relax; you're 5% over your goal. Don't be hard on yourself.

The problem really lies in the why. Maybe I'm pushing my limits, or I'm putting the emphasis somewhere else.

I don't have the answer yet, but I am determined to be congruent in what I think, say, and do. If I planned it, I must execute it. Otherwise, I would be wasting my vital energy.

Source: Image by mohamed Hassan on Pixabay 

Final thoughts 

Writing is one of the activities that I find (together with reading) very pleasurable.

Of course, I recommend seeking a balance that allows you to enjoy the wonderful gift of life.

One can make it a delight, a productive and valuable work for others. Here the writer's profession is perfect for combining enjoyment with work.

If you like writing and want to jump from amateur to professional, don't think (too much) about it. Organize yourself and structure your environment to achieve your goals as a writer in the field that excites you.

Imagine doing what you love and being rewarded for it.

I hope this article will serve as a stimulus and orientation for those who see in writing the potential to develop themselves.

An original article by @Jnavedan

The thumbnail by JK_Studio on Pixabay 

Cover image by Dhiraj Gursale on Pixabay  

I end by thanking all my colleagues in the community, who add value every day here. As well as all my sponsors for believing in the content I share with you.  

2
$ 1.60
$ 1.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
Sponsors of Jnavedan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jnavedan
1 year ago

Comments