What The Oldies Want My Partner To Be Like

27 57
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

Happy choose day my dearest read cash buddies! I hope you do all had a great day today.

My brother and I are planning to get vaccinated today because we badly need it for school since they said that face-to-face classes will start to open next year and we both don't want to skip school just because we're unvaccinated. We woke up early because our mum told us to and wanted us to have an early spot in the line. We arrived at 7 AM and as we got to the place, we were shocked at how crowded the area was. Yes, we already expected that there would be a lot of people, but we didn't expect that it would turn out like this. The crowd has gone crazy, social distancing is no longer implemented, and there are even some people not wearing masks. A lot of people have gone mad because they've been falling in line since the sun hasn't shown up, but until now they haven't gotten their vaccine because the newcomers were the ones getting the vaccine first, which caused the commotion. My brother and I decided to go home and be back on Friday, hoping that it would not be the same as what happened today.



Every typical Filipino parents be like (except my parents) : " You are our precious gem and you will marry a foreign guy and live a better life." HAHAHA

Did your parents or relatives ever say those words to you? At every family gathering, there is always that one relative or aunt who will ask you if you are in a relationship. Why is that? 

I like family gatherings and I hate them at the same time. It's because all of your relatives will be around and talk about lots of random stuff like school, career, and the future. And I hate it. It irritates me whenever they mention it or when they talk about me. Whenever we have family gatherings, I avoid approaching my professional aunts and uncles because they will immediately start talking about my career and what path I should be pursuing. Like, c'mon guys. LOL.

And aside from that, the most common question that you will get from your relatives at every family gathering is the question, "Do you have a boyfriend?" "Who's your boyfriend?" Sometimes I just get along with that and make fun of it. I even made fun of them by telling them that I don't have a boyfriend but I do have a girlfriend, and their reactions were so funny! And they're like, "What the heck, you're a lesbian?" and I was like, "Yes, I am." And their reactions are worth laughing at.

My nanay, who is my grandma's cousin, would always tell me this line: "You're so pretty, you really meant to marry a foreign guy with blue eyes and have a very pretty baby and live a happy family life." Every time she said these words to me, I would just laugh. And sometimes I asked her, "Why do I have to marry a blue-eyed guy?". She will answer me with something like, "you have to marry a blue-eyed guy so that we can have a foreign grandchild, just like your aunt, who married an Australian, but sadly, they still do not have a child. Maybe you'll be the first one to bring us a baby foreign child. " All I did was laugh at her. I thought to myself, I don't even like having a kid. I hate kids, how much more having one? LMAO. 

But maybe in the future, when I am old enough, I'll find someone that I truly like and end up getting married and having kids. We wouldn't know and we couldn't predict what the future would be like. 

Why do most old folks think this way? I mean, not just the oldies, but most of our other Filipino relatives too. I hate the thought that they always say that marrying a foreign guy can take you out of poverty. Such a toxic mindset. Like, what the heck? If you work hard enough, then you will get yourself out of poverty and can't just depend on someone else.

Why is it that most Filipinos think that way? It is too sad to think that most of our fellow Filipino people would also be the ones to talk sht about other filipino people marrying non-Filipino people. Hays.

Lead Image


Jini's Note:

Heeeya! Thank you for stopping by and spending a bit of your time reading this article of mine. I truly appreciate your presence here.

You can always hit the Like and Subscribe buttons if you want to

Arigathankyougozaimuch :>

0701202021

16
$ 5.03
$ 4.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 11
Sponsors of Jinifer
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

Comments

Well I am glad your parents are not the norm inday Jini. However, anyone marrying you better be perfect and treat you like the Pinay Goddess you are, or they shall have me to deal with 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the mindset I don't like about Filipinos. The elderly put a mindset to the childrens to rely on the rich aged peoples that's why Filipinos becoming lazier because of that mindset. Instead of saying that one, why don't hey just encourage the youth to strive for life and learn to live for themselves

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg, I can hear my lola's words. "Mag-asawa ka ng porenger, masasayang ganda mo apo." Jusko Naman hahaha... I never considered that before, then when I had a long-distance relationship with an Aussie, I was like, probably my grandma was praying too hard for me to get married to a foreigner, but then we broke up.

My aunt would always say, you should become rich on your own and get married to someone worth every piece of you. It's still better to move on in New York or in France when the relationship gets bad not only in bed crying. Which makes sense haha so why not 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh I love your aunt mare. And true, we can be rich on our own without depending on someone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Every typical Filipino parents be like (except my parents): " You are our precious gem and you will marry a foreign guy and live a better life."

I think "EVERY" or "MOST" is quite strong, Maryel. Or maybe our parents here in the highlands are not typical because I've never heard anyone here say such nor joke about marrying foreign guy to have a better life :D

But your lola is interesting :) She wants you to have a blue-eyed husband. Halla ka, dapat yon ang hanapin mo, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's the concept of money and easy way out. Also, what's wrong with being a lesbian? Not that I'm saying you are. What works for others do not work with everyone. Don't mind what people say. Choose happiness :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And not only Filipinos, we have the same "problem with suitors"🤣 There is also this :How does your young man earn (and most importantly!!!!!)how much????Either way be polite and keep yourself in check. I went through these "questions"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yooo the meme at the end hahahahah. I died

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May mga ganyang magulang talaga, yung iba naiintindihan ko oo, pero it's our choice talaga kung ani ang pipiliin ko it's my life I'll choose wo i will marry, ganerrnnnn hehhe diko maintindihan din iba e heheheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi magiging pala desisyon ang Lola mo Vebs hahahaha! But really, other Filipinos standard of beauty is being a mixed nationality. Kind of guilty with that before hahahaha. I find my Aunt who is an austrian-filipina so beautiful which she really is. And I think they want you to marry a foreign guy para mas gumanda pa lahi niyo mare hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I laughed a good one minute seeing the meme. Here in Bangladesh, people don't like to get married/see others getting married to foreigners. But who lives abroad, they are a gem, they are the pricy groom in the market. I totally got you sis. Society, your relatives will always talk back. Don't stress about it, take your time; you will find the perfect one for yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ugali na nga mga pinoy yta tlga Yan. Hirap Kaya mag asawa ng foreigner haha. Puro English 🤣

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Nosebleed palagi hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ng mga relatives nyo na mahaluan kayo ng dugong porenger beh, haahha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo parang ganon na nga ate HAHAHHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most relatives are just concerned about us marrying a foreigner,we should be the one to choose and not them choosing since it's our life to live,if there's any problem along the line they would blame us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, we're the one who's in control of our life and it's up to us on who we wanna marry with

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, it's kind of common over here, old people will want to know when you are getting married and if you are above 25 and still not yet married, they will be putting pressure on you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah it's too common, especially people at their 30's and still not married. They're the most pressured one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That meme you posted at the end came from a popular TV series; the umbrella academy, I can't stop laughing coz of it 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAH yes, it's Vanya and five

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naa juy mga ing-ana nga mga relatives sis. Mao na nuon ang magbuot kung kinsay atung minyuan.haha I remember naa sad koy ante nga nagsige ug ingon nako nga mangita daw ko ug penpal nga foreigner. Nindot kuno ng foreigner kay ensured na kuno imong kinabuhi.hahaha Baw ba uroy uy. Angayan pud kuno ko maminyo ug foreigner kay gamay'ng baye, which is mao kunoy ganahan nila.🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHHA giahak parehas gyud kaayo ta ani te, labi na kanang line nga "gamayng Baye" hahah ambot ani nila oy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with this Langga. There are relatives that they will say regarding that things about you. I experience also. I smiled at them that's what I've response since we don't know our future.

I will marry the guy who God gave me. God only knows who will be that be. We don't know our part. Yes Langga, why we need to be marry a foreigner to get out with the poverty. Yes you are right we are going to success with our own hardwork.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao gyud ate, we can be successful with our own hard work

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Langga. No need ta mag depend sa others. We work hard with our own best and efforts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago