2 Online Shopping Platforms Review (Lazada vs. Shopee)

17 74
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

I am an avid fan of shopping online. Why? Because of the convenience. To me, walking in the mall for long hours sucks the energy out of me. I might also spend my money on things that I do not need.

I do not have control if I am shopping in malls because of the advertising. lol. I do love going to the mall when we are eating out.

Image from Unsplash

I have been doing online shopping since 2013. In my best memory, the first thing I bought online is a phone. I bought it through sulit.com. It was the biggest online shopping platform before. Sadly, they did not evolve and are now part of Carousell.

To date, the biggest online shopping platforms in the Philippines are Lazada and Shopee. The first time I used these platforms was way back in 2016. I bought a charging cord for my phone.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, sponsors! Big time!

As a first-time online buyer. I was skeptical and that is expected. My sister is the one that introduces me to Lazada. In the back of my head, I am thinking that they might send me a defective item or the item will never arrive at all.

After 2 days, the item arrived and I was surprised that the physical item is right at our gate. Wow, this online shopping is really convenient. Since then I am using online shopping platforms, and going to the mall less.

Screenshot of the logo from Lazada and Shopee

I will base it on 5 categories: visual, promos, navigation, payment, customer service.

All of my thoughts and reviews are solely based on my experience as a shopper!

Shopee

Visual - Their main color is orange which really gives a zesty, refreshing color for me. The contrasting colors of orange and red complement each other. The color does not hurt my eyes. Overall, I like the visuals.

Image from Shopee

Promos- The promos can be in a form of a free shipping fee, cashback, coins, or discounts. I use the cashback a lot and free shipping fee since I always use Shopee pay. This is to prevent getting germs from the money. They also have promos every month such as 1.1, 2.2, 3.3, basically when the month number is the same as the day number.

Screen grabbed image from Shopee

Navigation- The Shopee navigation is easy to use because the items are categorized already. You can easily see the different groups of items.

Screen grabbed from Shopee

Payment - The payments range from COD, credit/debit cards, online payment, etc. The payment method I always use is ShopeePay. I transfer money from Gcash which is very conevnient to me. I do not need to wait for a minute for it to transfer. Easy to use!

Screen grabbed from Shopee

Customer Service- There is an option from Shopee that you to talk with a live customer service representative. I experience this already and I need to wait for 3 minutes. The representative is nice in which you have the option to communicate in Tagalog. I always give good feedback even if they cannot resolve the problem. It is a gesture of saying thank you. They also have an option of a telephone number.

Screen grabbed from Shopee

Lazada

Visual - I like the vibrant color. For me, it is very millennial. It is a mixture of pink and orange. The contrasting colors are like candies haha! It is so bagets! (young-looking).

Screen grabbed from Lazada

Promos- They have flash deals, free shipping vouchers, etc. same as Shopee. Until this day, I have no idea how to use my coins to earn. I cannot use it to be a cashback. I just let my coins expire because I do not know how to use them. It is different to Shopee that a coin is equivalent to 1 peso.

Screen grabbed from Lazada

Navigation- The navigation is also easy to use. The same item and category are grouped into one tab. But sometimes, I am confused with the layout. Maybe it is just me because there is too much text on it.

Screen grabbed from Lazada

Payment- I have no problem with the payments. It is easy breezy lemon squeezy. You do not have to input OTP from phones, which makes it an instant deposit to your Lazada wallet. Though it might have risk because there are no security pins.

Screen grabbed from Lazada

Customer Service- For the customer service, they have an option below your account called "Chat with Customer Care". You will be directed to a live agent to help you with your questions.

Final thoughts

Visual- Winner: Lazada. The colors are fun and very millennial. I like the pink and orange combination

Promos: Winner: Shopee. I can use my earned coins to deduct from the price. On Lazada, coins can only be used on certain products.

Navigation- Winner: Shopee. I am more comfortable with the layouts and navigation of Shopee. The text is not that crowded. Works well when I am scanning products

Payment: Winner Lazada. I am able to deposit money from Gcash to my Lazada wallet compared to Shopee's ShopeePay. Though it has no security pins and codes, I make sure that I only put money when I have to buy something.

Customer Service: Winner: It's a tie! I am grateful for the people who represent the two online shopping platforms. Even if they did not have answers, I still rate them good. Just a good gesture can make their day.

β€οΈπŸ§‘πŸ’›πŸ’šπŸ’™πŸ’œπŸ€ŽπŸ–€πŸ€Twitter/noise.cash/Opensea:@Jijisaur

You can read my other articles here:

11
$ 7.12
$ 6.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kingofreview
$ 0.03 from @MizLhaine
+ 4
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Comments

I'm most likely utilizing Shopee every time I have an order. I prefer it due to their free shipping vouchers, and I can literally save a lot if I'll use it. Less hassle, simple design, etc. Medyo wala po akong tiwala sa Lazada kasi raw may nagkakawalaan raw na items

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saakin naman po pag gadgets, sa Lazada ako bumibili subok ko na rin kasi hehe. I ordered 3 phones and laptop po. Ok naman po hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Working for Amazon's customer service made me become adamant about not purchasing anything online since I know how a pain it is when something goes wrong about your order, specially when it's coming from a third party seller. However, when the pandemic happened, there is no way to buy specific things aside from online shopping platforms. That's when I started to become an online shopper.

$ 0.05
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Wow. I want to work with Amazon too! Sadly, I think in the Philippines they are not accepting applicants.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung wala pang shopee, sa lazada ako lagi and yung pinipili kong seller is ung may LazExpress, kasi mas mabilis magdeliver and mas handled with care. Regarding cs I didnt like Lazada's cs maybe because I also worked in the same line of business or nagkataon lang na walang alam ung nakausap ko hahahahaha. Sa shopee never pa kong nagcontact sa cs, which is a good thing. SHOPEE all the way na si akuuuu

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nice! Ako parang pantay lang hehe. Minsan pa nga nagcocompare ako ng same product sa 2 companies kung saan ang mas best deals.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree to some of your points, sa visual, sa promo. Sa shipping shopee ako . Minsan kasi mas may maraming branded sa Lazada compared sa shopee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko pa natry sa Lazada sis. More on Shopee ako. Hehee pero minsan lang din nag oorder pag kailagan ko talaga.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, sis. Bili lang din ako pag kailangan talaga. Minsan nagaantay ako ng sale para tipid hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis yung sale talaga din inaabangan ko..☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ako fan talaga ng lazada.. Kasi karamihan sa binili kong items sa lazada nagamit ko once ot twice lang tapos sira na agad..kaya more of shopee ako

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, i see. Ako naman pag electronics sa Lazda ako mas kampante hehe 3 phones and 1 laptop ok naman po sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see.. Baka pag sa electronics gadgets okay ang mga sellers dun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the comparison there. I prefer shopee when it comes to delivery because it is fast. But in Payment, it is Lazada

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good review! And I like that it is based on personal experience. Thanks!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmm, that was interesting. Well, I prefer online shopping over offline because, in malls, I don't like to go and beg, etc.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, sometimes I am shy to approach a salesman haha I am an introvert.

$ 0.00
2 years ago