Don't Set That New Goal

14 31
Avatar for Jerrysavage00
2 years ago

It is never too late to start again or to begin something. It is left for you to determine whether you'll start or not. Time is not really a determinant. You are the main determinant. When you determine, every other thing will follow suit.

From Unsplash

Happy New Month to everyone. I wish you a great month ahead.

Thank God for this new month. It's a privilege to still witness this month, and we trust in God to bring us into the new year in sound health. I will like to use this opportunity to appreciate some people: Special thanks to my sponsors both old and the ones planning to, subscribers both old and those that will subscribe now, also thanks to those who thumbs up and comment on my post, I really appreciate all of you, I do not take it for granted.

Sponsors of Jerrysavage00
empty
empty
empty
Here are my amazing sponsors.
Please check them out now

Around this time last year, motivational talks on setting new goals for the new year began. Apart from setting new goals, other topics like cutting off some people, and others were everywhere. I understand that every new year comes with a kind of new feeling. You only have that feeling because you have the calendar and the clock to tell you when a new year is. Therefore, your emotions have adjusted to that way. We get excited about new months and new years unlike a new day because it has become normal to us, because we're used to waking up to a new day. Have you ever imagined of how it felt when there was no calendar and not everyone could read the times and seasons. You could wake up into a new year without knowing until someone tells you that we're already in a new year.

We're already in the last month of this year and people have begun preparations for next year. People have started setting goals for the coming year. This is not bad actually but not everybody finishes their yearly goals. How then do we go about working with the goals that were not achieved?

This is not discourage you from setting yearly goals. It's actually good but it is very easy to set unrealistic and unfeasible goals most especially when it is long duration goal. What makes a goal or aim achievable is the ability to understand and break it down into smaller units. That is why division of labour is one of the strongest part of labour.

Humans have the tendency to be discouraged. Discouragement is one of our weaknesses as humans. Even successful people have had times they taught of giving up. No matter how strong willed and focused you're. There'll be times that you feel like nothing is working.

When you set goals that are unrealistic, and in addition to that you do not have a breakdown of that goal into smaller units, with a plan on how to achieve it, you'll be discouraged on the long run. You can be motivated at the start but what will keep you going is discipline and progress already made.

Yearly goals can be broken down into smaller units like hours. First, you get the goal for the next year, then you break it down into the months realistically. Don't set targets that you know you cannot achieve. When setting your monthly goals, you have to put into consideration your daily schedule, check for the number of hours you can give to achieving that goal per day. By this, you cannot easily predict what kind of goal you can set per month for yourself.

When you set the monthly goals, you can now move to the daily goals. You also need to be realistic here, because sometimes we like we should be able to achieve this but in reality it's impossible because your daily schedule doesn't allow that. So, you have to be realistic. In working with the daily goals, you can use a to-do-list. Using this to-do-list, it makes things easier for you because you can set the number of hours for different activities which at the end enables you to achieve your goals.

The end of everything is not to discourage you from setting goals, but to help you know that you should set realistic goals and not just write what you know you can't achieve.

Thanks for reading through. Bye for now and have a great month. God bless you.

8
$ 5.06
$ 4.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
+ 2
Avatar for Jerrysavage00
2 years ago

Comments

Good reminders Jerry, thank you. For me when I set daily goals and I don't achieve them today, I'll make sure I get them done tomorrow. For the big goals, when I don't attain them on the set date, I still continue working on them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's a good one too. As long as they are achievable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is true, I had experience this before, I had a list of big things to accomplish but at the end, I succeeded with just little. Sometimes jack of all trades is not it, break it simpler, take it bit by bit by knowing your capacity

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, little drops makes an ocean

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This make sense Bro. Doing is the best than telling.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely correct and true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Read.cash is always in my list, reading 10 articles per day or more. I keep on making a small move until I will be able to reach my monthly goals.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Me too. I've a time separated for readcash

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very important to see goals. However we must be very careful not to bite what we can't chew. Start small then you proceed to greater goals later on. Be realistic.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, so we won't put ourselves on unnecessary pressure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhhh nice writing dear. I respect your opinion and your correct with that. Hmmm me last year I didn't set goals, I just let my life flow without the goals i am wishing to come true. Now that 2021 is coming I guess i needed to set goals but as what you said a realistic goal, and that is a must.

$ 1.00
2 years ago

Why am I always overtipping☹️. My phone screen caused this. Can you please send me back 0.8

$ 0.08
2 years ago

How come this happen?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's nice Faith. Setting goals gives you something to work towards

$ 0.00
2 years ago