Empty Cup

1 9
Avatar for Jento
Written by
2 years ago

While I wrote about being exhausted yesterday, I thought of reflecting on it more. Then messaged my (dying) friend and learned she was again in the hospital, and still is.

Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty

Slowly, the disease is slowly eating her up or already in the process of swallowing her? Well her panel of doctors cannot exactly tell her so since her case is very volatile. Doctors say prognosis is “die anytime” with conditions pertaining to her bleeding, other than that if she remains healthy enough to go through chemo, perhaps. “Geng, I don’t feel like I’m dying!”, this is despite all the excruciating pain and bleeding episodes she had had.

The Cure

I have to admit I was taken aback with her attitude when she proudly told me she was in good hands. Taking into account that the medical advancement in Australia in taking care of their cancer patients, and that she is enjoying free treatment being a permanent residence there. I take her attitude as arrogance which saddens me because she is “paying the price of that arrogance”. If only…

I no longer post photos of us on Facebook, me and my boys, since we left home. 2021 has been a lot of changes in our lives as I finally moved out from my parents’ house after a decade living with them and mama’s death really propelled the changes and like kuya said “no turning back” mom! Of course, now I’m mostly hiding because I no longer have to fill in the gap. So, I make it to a point to post God’s word on “my day” that my friend could read and with a little hope of extending. If only… If only I could show with her what hidden powers prayer has. How prayer is gift? How prayer helps. If I could only help her see what prayer can do, most especially when people are in fellowship, powerfully shown in “Acts 12:5 Peter therefore was kept in prison: but prayer was made without ceasing of the church unto God for him.,” where Peter escaped. For healing to commence, one has to hear the word of God. It’s a long process that’s why everyday, reading the Gospel, not reading but the speaking of the Gospel really helps and healing takes place as it goes. You have to speak the Word of God to get the desired effect. My schedule is tight which is why I make use of an audio book of the Bible so I can have it played while I’m doing chores and the boys sleeping, especially on weekends. Shared it with her but I don’t think she sees the point. It does its purpose. For the body to heal, the spirit needs to feed. To be filled in with spirit that nourishes the soul. Jesus says “ “I am the way and the truth and the life.”  (John 14:6) Where else shall we get the unlimited source of energy? Our body could really hold up to a point, while it contains the soul and needs this source to be nourish, then the body heals. I could only wish to explain it this way.

Journey

Our journey. Everyday is a struggle. Every day is an opportunity to learn, we could only grow in humility knowing that life it too short to learn everything, for there is just so much to learn in too little time. We have prayer as gift, supposed to help us navigate our way. What use is that gift if not used? We often get lost because we are too arrogant to use the gift and instead tried navigating on our own. I too, sometimes too tired and often forget, that’s why I was too exhausted and also needed reminder. It's still a long way ahead, better fill those empty cups, else we thirst.

 

Thank u.  Love the comments on my article “Exhausted…”  and love to tell my readers, thank u so much and the prayer truly is something I am very grateful off! May you and your family be blest with good health and fortune in this lifetime.

Nov 13, 2021
Image from Unsplash

3
$ 0.86
$ 0.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Winx1988
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jento
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Gods word really help us each day whatever struggles we may have to endure,and never stop praying.

$ 0.01
2 years ago