Life without television

18 49
Avatar for JenThoughts
1 year ago
Date: May 20, 2022

In Philippines, television during 1990's is important and plays a vital role in people's life. It is a source of news and entertainment.


It's a hot afternoon here in our side. My son is already asleep giving me an ample time to be here, to read and to write.

How are you my dear virtual friends? I hope you're doing well and great.

Today's article is a continuation of my recent article about knowing a part of me. It seems that I love to continue sharing my life experience with you here. I am hoping that you won't be tired of reading it.

Let's continue.

Childhood routine

I grew up in a simple and indigent family. My life as a child mostly evolve in going to the creek as our farm, go to school and go to church. That is my usual life back then.

When I came home from school, my mother prepare "Tinoghong" an old rice, boiled for a while and put some salt on it to have taste. After eating it, I will go straight to the creek where my father was there so I could help him in doing the errands here. One of my favorite tasks to do there is to clean the banana tree, remove its old leaves and skin leaving it clean and bright.

My father will decide to go home if the sun will about to set and that's why we will reached home at dark already.

Life without a television

As a child you also want to do what the children in your age do. Playing is number one. I can also play before in a limited time. Watching TV is one among the children's past time before because cellphones is not yet available.

Since we don't have television, I and my younger sister and brother will go to our neighbor to watch some movie particularly anime.

I can't forget how some of the kids or children of our neighbor treat us. When we look at their TV we are watching through their window if the door is close. Sadly, they will close the window leaving us watching each other and decide to go home. Sometimes when we go there, we are so happy because the door is open, but then one of them will sit in the chair in front of the TV and we can't see anything except their back.

Sometimes we will go home crying to our mother, telling how bad they were.

First television

We don't have television until I have my first job in 2009. I was hired in August and have my first Christmas bonus on December 2009. I decided to buy a SURPLUS television or we also know it as second hand. That is the only thing I can afford. I informed my brother to prepare because we will go together in the city to buy a television. All of them were so excited.

Finally, we have a television though it is just a surplus but then we can watch the same movies and the same news.

My parents and most especially my siblings were so happy. I am happy too giving one history in the family -- our first television.

Closing thoughts

Being indigent will give you a very low level in the society. Some people will look down at you that sometimes you can ask why we are poor? But even though we were thankful for the life that we have before giving us a courage to strive more.

May we share our blessings to the people who is more in need than us. May we won't add to the burden that they have in their lives.

Be blessed and be a blessing.

Thank you so much for reading this
life story of mine. God bless. See
you in my next article.
Sponsors of JenThoughts
empty
empty
empty

Thank you my dear sponsors.

If you like this, don't forget to hit like and subscribe.

If you want to read more, you may click HERE.

9
$ 1.68
$ 1.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
$ 0.02 from @Cogamedia
+ 3
Sponsors of JenThoughts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JenThoughts
1 year ago

Comments

I do not watch television,
because I do not want to allow broadcasters to poison my brain.
Not for some religious or other 'cut-and-paste' reason.
For some reason I can see clearly exactly how broadcast media works.
And I will have none of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Television have advantage and disadvantages too. It will depend on us how we will use it. But we dont have television now.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

My dad still have the old black and white tv in his room, I guess the new generation won’t know much about it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow really? Is it still functioning? He must have take care of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, it's so great seeing you bought the very first TV for the family. How nice of you. Stay Blessed too

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We're so happy about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Noong mga bta pa ako sissy naranasan ko ding makipanood sa kapitbahay, parang noong una kase hirap pa bumili ng tv. Black and white p noon an tv. Hahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Korek ka dyan sis peru that time colored na din.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kalami sa tinoghong sis ay. Ingon Anaon sa akong nanay ang bahaw matag buntag sa kadtong Gagmay pa mi...Pareha d i ta sis, wala Sab mi tv sauna, karon lang nga dagko na mi nagkatv... Sauna kung ganahan Mi mutan aw ug TV adto lang mi sa akong lola bahala ug gabee na mi manguli

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lami na bitaw na sauna sis noh makawala na sa kagutom.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tinuod jud sis. Humutan ug lamian kaayo ko pag ingon anaon ang bahaw sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang dukot ang nakapahumot hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Relate kayu kp sa tinoghong sis,pare parehas tag kinabuhi sauna ,pobre pero peaceful og malipayon.Naka tv me sis 2010,akong tinigum kay naka trabaho nako as a saleslady ,150 ray sahod per day. Gitiguman jud nako og 4-5months para naa nay tv sa amo,malooy ko sa ako mga manghud manumbay para motanaw og tv.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Naah same jud diay ta sis.. nakapalit kay nakawork na.. Makaingon ta nga pait jud sauna oi peru blessed japon ta kay naa pud tay improvement.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naranasan ko din makinuod sa kapitbahay sis, pero kahit papano mababait kapitbahay namin. Pero un na nga nakakalungkot ung ibang ganun ano, simpleng bagay pinagdadamot.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Di naman lahat sis, meron namang mabait, meron ding madamot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga eh, mabuti nga ngayon marami nang mabibiling murang tv noon kasi mahal kaya iilan lang ang nakakaafford

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ou nga sis.. Ngayon may flat screen tv na sa bahay namin.. Yung kapatid ko naman ang nag sponsor hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago