One Principle you need to adopt

20 64
Avatar for Jehoshaphat
2 years ago
1st of January,2022
My first write-up in the year 2022
#21st article overall
10:00PM WAT

Everyone around the globe has witnessed the new year and even at the time of the publication of this article some of my fellow read cash colleagues living in countries in the eastern part of the world like Philippines, Malaysia etc, are already in the second day of the new year.

A lot of things happened in the year 2021 that were so remarkable. I think I would find time to write about it later.

But let me reminisce one; on the 19th of January last year an inferno happened in my community as a result of an explosion of a petrol laden pipeline. A lot of houses were burnt even houses that were far from the incident site and a lot of lives were lost in the inferno. Thankfully the fire didn't spread to the section where my house was situated.

Sometimes when I look back I remember I realize all the hazards that the Almighty made me and my family scale through. I begin to sing song of praises and I am deeply grateful for what He has done in my life in 2021.

Today's topic

Every year the new year comes with a list of resolutions. It is a time for us to reflect on what we have done in the past year and make changes for the future. Unfortunately, most people that write down these resolutions will have broken them within a week.

According to research made, one of the reasons they won’t achieve their goals is because they lie too much. We all lie. From the little white lies in relationships to the lies that some companies tell to make a sale, we all fib (fib means a lie, typically an unimportant one) when we don’t think the truth will get us in trouble or benefit us in some way.

Honesty is something that cannot be replaced. Honesty is something that cannot be replaced no matter how hard you try. It always shine through, no matter how hard you try to conceal it. Honesty can be brutal. It can be hard to accept. It can force you to face the truth that you have been trying to hide from in front of yourself, but you will never regret a moment of honesty because there is nothing as honourable as being honest.

Honesty will always make you a better person, in every aspect of your life. There's always a reason to tell the truth. No matter what the reason is. Whether it's because it's the only option left or because it's the best option available or just because it's the right thing to do. No matter what the reason is, honesty is always the option that you should take in any situation especially in this new year.

Honesty is a good trait to possess. In a day and age where so many people play fake. Let take a look at social media where a lot of people are living fake lives portraying themselves as people who they are not. While it nice to have the best pictures or videos of ourselves and look good when people view our profiles a lot of individuals go to the extra miles filled with deceit.

It is always worthy and nice to see people who are just true to themselves.

Everyone knows that trust is an important component of any relationship. Building trust between individuals is a challenge and really takes time. Honesty is the foundation that builds it up. Without being honest you can't earn the trust of people be it in a relationship, friendship or workplace.

As we proceed in counting days in this year let us resolve to take trait of honesty with seriousness.

I want to make a special shout-out to everyone who made my 2021 worthwhile. Thank you @HappyBoy I know I still have more to learn under your tutelage.

Special thanks to my amazing readers who painstakingly took their time to always read my write-ups and to my sponsors @Ling01 @Talecharm @ErdoV @CandyBoy @Deeepensiverse @foryoubtc09 @GarrethGrey07 @Ayna-22 @Abubakar450 who thought me worth of their sponsorship.

17
$ 2.50
$ 2.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.05 from @Giddyboy
+ 15
Sponsors of Jehoshaphat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jehoshaphat
2 years ago

Comments

The truth is, you do your best, to be honest with people but most of them don't reciprocate or they take advantage of you. Happy news year!

$ 0.01
User's avatar xus
2 years ago

That's is true, but that doesn't mean we should be doing what is wrong or choose to tell lies

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I easily give trust to someone but once it's broken I never give the trust the same way, just that easy. Btw, you're welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said, trust can be liken to a paper once crumbled it is hard to straighten.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True... If you are always honest, you don't have to be afraid of rememver anything. But a liar would might forgot that he told a particular lie at one point which wpukd be used in shaming him

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Liar use lies to cover up lies they have told and when their lies are discovered they fall into shame and are never trusted again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly is the best policy, but sometimes people forget and make a lie,and that will start to ruin the life

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And lies can be very addictive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First time I read one of your writings, and I am struck by the way you start it, using the programming option (that's what I call it). And you are absolutely right, honesty is very important. Many of us default, but it is also good to make a list of things to do. It's up to determination to achieve what we set out to do. That's why I believe that if someone sets his mind to it, he will achieve it. I don't see it as a lack of honesty, but of determination. There is also another factor, and that is to set real goals. Many of us only set illusory goals that we are not going to achieve, that we only think about seeing them in a dream, but we do not work for them. Greetings! And good article, it gives debate, and I like that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the more reason honesty ranks among the top virtues to possess

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There a lot of reasons, Honeyflex I only manage to write some, thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool thought... lovely piece

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I appreciate the acknowledgement sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes, truth is bitter even for the teller too. It takes a lot to always be truthful. That's one of the things I strive to always be.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We can only continue to strive to be honest and truthful because there are times saying the truth is so bitter that we just opt to tell lies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honesty Can go as long as possible in making someone very important in the future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honesty matters a lot in the life of humans. When we are honest, every aspect of our lives will grow with ease.

Hi @Jehoshaphat, I'm new here. I like to make friends, I hope I'm welcomed

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome champion. I was once a newbie here too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Soon I'll become a staylite 😆😆. I was told it's always difficult for newbies to get use to this platform. But I won't give up

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes it is quite difficult but if you can exercise patience you will smile at the end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago