What If I Talked To Him Nicely?

74 108
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

September 24, 2021

Time of writing: 3 pm 09/23/22

"Miss, why are you afraid of me?"

The first words he uttered when he suddenly appeared beside me.


Do you still remember the story of Bella and John? Where I shared a photo of the building's rooftop next to us and where John spent his vacation in my fiction story.

There’s a story I haven’t shared here before because I feel like it doesn’t make any sense. But after the encounter with this guy this morning, I feel like it would be better to share this story that is based on my real-life experience so I can read your words about it.


It was September 2017 when I first set foot here in Hong Kong. I was in innocent bliss and had no idea of what to do once I stepped out of home alone on my day off. I was lucky in the first two weeks because the former Pinay worker was still with me and she taught me about how to ride the MTR, bus, etcetera. Unfortunately, in the third week, I was left alone and all I knew was to go to Saint Theresa Church, a walking distance away from our house.

St. Theresa Church

One beautiful day, the sun shone so brightly and I tried to feel positive despite the worries hidden within about the consequences that I might encounter later that day for walking on the street alone.

I passed by the front of the next building. There I saw a man standing outside the building and I knew from my first impression that he's Filipino because of his physique. He's muscular in his 30's, I guess, and only a few inches taller than me. He's quite dark, not as handsome as James Reid, yet not as ugly as the pervert addict on the street, just a decent simple ordinary guy. If I'm not mistaken, he's working as a family driver and a gardener. Don't dare to underestimate the Filipino drivers here, because their salaries are twice bigger than ours. And some even have high professions in the Philippines but opted to work here for higher salaries, and HK is a stepping stone to Canada.

As I walked in front of him, it seemed like his eyes were focused on me because I could see him from my peripheral vision. I got intimidated by his sights and I looked at him and our eyes met. I thought he would cut his eyes off me, but no, he didn't, and it was me who averted my eyes.

Maybe he was thinking, "Who is this new girl in town and my new neighbor?" And since I am not friendly with men, I just ignored him and continued walking.

Days went by and I always passed by their building whenever I went to the bus station. Most of the time, he isn't around, probably doing some errands, and I feel glad about his absence. But every time he is around, it seems that he can't take his eyes off me. The longer he stares at me, the more I feel intimidated and irritated.


One thing I hate the most is when someone is looking at me intently, and even at work if my boss is supervising my work because I feel like I am not reliable enough. Moreover, I easily get distracted when other people gaze at me as it can ruin my mood and concentration. Who doesn't get irritated when there are eyes focused on you? I guess you don't like it either.

So whenever I saw him outside their building, I would always walk on the other side. Perhaps he noticed me being distant. And oftentimes, I would look at him harshly with raising eyebrows or frown at him to cut his eyes off me. He seems like a mute who can't speak when I am near him and opt to only stare.


Months and years have passed, it becomes the scene whenever our eyes meet.

One sunny Sunday, was a happy day for me because I could walk under the bright weather. I opted to visit the nearby city where my favorite park is located. Unexpectedly, I spotted him standing outside the building. He seemed to be waiting for me outside the gate just so we could be together. When I crossed the road, he crossed as well and we walked together on the small path.

Since I was ill at ease while walking inches away from him, I slowed my pace down so he could walk ahead of me. He probably noticed my slow pace and he slowed down as well. I got irritated so I raised my umbrella to look daggers at him and then I walked fast so I could get ahead of him.


Another unexpected event happened when I was hanging out in the park. I got busy playing with my phone after taking my lunch. I was watching a funny movie and apathetically laughing on the bench with my headset on. Suddenly, my homing instinct snapped at me and urged me to look around as if some eyes were gazing at me.

I scanned the place and on the bench adjacent to me, there I saw him staring in my direction. I lost my mood and hastily packed my stuff and left because it was time to eat dinner as well. 

Then I suddenly thought, "Is he a stalker?"

But why can't I look straight at him? An answerable question that suddenly formed in my mind.

But it could be more embarrassing if he saw me laughing out loud carelessly.


I went out the gate one day to do my usual routine. I saw him talking with the Chinese driver outside the garage. He just suddenly ruined my morning and I hurriedly crossed the road and he shouted at me, "Miss!" But I just ignored his call and I continued my pace.

The next day I passed by the building and I was glad to see no trace of him outside the garage. As I stepped foot in front of their garage, I was startled to see him standing inside the open garage right beside his boss' car with his arms crossed in front of his chest.

I acted normally because he might think of malicious reasons why I was hostile towards him. I seemed to be waiting for him to speak because he called me the other day. But he said nothing. He's like a mute lamb when I am close to him, but he would shout when I am far from him. 

I just said in my mind, "Hey Kuya (older brother), if you want to get my number, then speak up. Stop staring there because it's intimidating." I was so full of myself, my hair was even short back then, haha.


In four years of being neighbors, we always met on the road but we never talked to each other, even casually, just like what we normally did to co-Filipinos abroad as part of being hospitable.

Just this morning, I was on my way home from the nearby city when all of a sudden, raindrops profusely fall like cats and dogs. I was using my phone so I lowered my umbrella so it won't get wet. When I got to the intersection road, it seemed like a pair of eyes were staring at me, my instinct is positive most of the time. I tilted my umbrella a bit and looked at the building on my left. And there I saw him standing and our eyes met again. I even thought that he might ask me to share my umbrella with him, d*mn, I won't gonna do that. 

Image from: https://www.stormpreppers.com/best-umbrellas-for-heavy-rains-and-gusty-winds/

I lowered forthwith the umbrella and cut my eyes at him. But the rain got heavier, so I opted to stay at the other building connected to where he stayed and waited for the rain to recede a bit. I lowered the umbrella even more so that he could not see me. A few minutes later, I was startled by a manly voice from someone standing next to me.

"Miss."

I lifted my umbrella and unexpectedly saw his eyes but I hastily averted my eyes and cursed him in my mind. "D*mn, does he want me to share my umbrella with him?" And it was like I really wanted to curse him badly.

Then he asked.

Him: Miss, why are you afraid of me?

I didn't seem to be able to answer right away and slowly processed the question in my mind. There was a short pause.

Me: Why should I be afraid of you?

And I try to cover myself with my umbrella just to avoid his eyes. But he happily peeked and spoke again like a child who couldn't stand up properly when he saw his crush. He would swing his leg in the rain not worried that his shoe might get wet.

Him: Because every time you see me, it's like you're afraid of me.

My mind: I'm not afraid of you, I just don't like you staring at me. Leave now, please.

I became adamant in his nonsensical questions and I intentionally released a hostile tone of voice. He might think that I like him because I'm always avoiding his eyes. But I also thought he likes me because he keeps on staring at me every time I pass by him.

My mouth: I just don’t like talking to others!

He took a pause and said...

Him: Sorry ha.

Then he left without uttering any words again. I waited for the rain to subside and had a last glance at his location before I left the place, but he was gone.

I only saw this scene in a TV series, but I experienced it, lol. He was so full of himself and even had the audacity to confront me, conversely on my part, I didn't have the guts to ask him why he kept on staring at me as I was caught off guard.

The place where he approached me, I took this photo this morning. See the distance?

I suddenly felt a pinch in my chest about what I had done and it seemed like I was so harsh to him. That is perhaps the reason why I don't have male friends, (except in college) because I'm talking harshly to them. Probably because I don't want to fall for them 😅. And one of the male users here can attest to it.

And because of what I did, he probably won't stare nor talk to me again.

What have I done? Am I too harsh? Haha

What if I talked to him nicely? What will happen next? Argg.. I don't want to know, lol.

Just another nonsense article again, sorry for stopping by, haha.

36
$ 15.59
$ 14.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @leejhen
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
+ 27
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

That's how I'm too though , lol..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone has their own way of being. When it is your time you will be able to talk to the one who is destined. Maybe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa totoo lang I would have reacted the same way. Imagine a total stranger always staring at you? Duh, ang creepy kaya non huhuhu. If I were you, i will act normal at babati nang konti sa knya to ease some tension. But that moment where he asked you the question , siguro mapapatalon ako sa takot. Haynaku, sa sobrang dami kasing mga kriminal ngayon, ang hirap na magtiwala no?

Siguro pag daytime, dun nalang kayo makapag usap. There is something creepy pag sa gabi eh, parang laging may takot ganon. Hahaha.

Sa tingin ko if you talked to.him nicely, you'd be friends now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy ang torpe naman nung lalaki 😅 baka naman hindi pa sya nagkaka jowa o nasaktan sa nakaraan niya hahaha hanggang tingin lang baka sinusubukan ka po makuha sa tingin, alam mo po yung kantang kapag tumingin ka akin ka hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have such a beautiful mind sis. So many people have lost out an opportunity to share their feelings only to be too shy and the grace slip away.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayan na nmn si John and Bella sa mga pabebe moves haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Normal lang naman na iba impression mo sa kanya kasi nga palagi siyng nakatingin sayo. pero nung nag sorry xia parang naiba kasi nga nag sorry xia kasi akala mo stalker xia or what hiih

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag ganyan, lalapitan ko at iinterviewhin ko, sis :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga sis. Sayang. Hanapin mo haha! Tas ikaw naman mag approach tulad ng ginawa nia

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"if you want to get my number, then speak up" I'm pretty sure you will blatantly refuse 😂 you were kinda harsh on him, but he didn't have a good manner of approach so I guess that was his fault

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit sino naman siguro ayaw matitigan ng parang malulusaw ka haha. Saka lalo na opposite gender pa ang tumitingin sainyo, meron din hidden meaning yun. Ok na din na nasungitan siya. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It feels so uncomfortable naman kasi pag nakatitig sayo ang isang lalaki ..lalo na at lalaki yun. baka malay mo may something aside from his curiousity na wanr malaman ang name mo ganun.. Naaayon lang po yung ginawa mopo kasi parang stalker eh..dapat naglakas loob ssiyang makipagclose or makipagfriend..😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Mukhang torpe haha. Bhala sya.. Tusukin ko mga mata nya the next time tumitig pa sya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A partial friendly gesture could have made him say his mind to you, he might be very shy to approach you, and the time he had the guts didn't end well for him.

I have done worse than him, I would have followed you around the city just to make you understand what how much I want us to be friends. I am coming to hong kong for you sister.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha.. I'll wait for you..well his effort wasn't enough..he should have done more 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kawawa naman sya sis :D Hurt sya, suplada naman nito sabi siguro haha. Pag kausapin ka ulit, kunwari mabait ka, kasi mabait ka naman talaga :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha.. Itatry ko 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You may not know that I like romantic stories. And I like romantic stories very much. It's more fun. I like the story. I hope I can read it in its entirety.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din po ay naiilang kapag tinititigan ako ng isang tao. Hindi ko din po kayang makipag eye contact lalo na po sa mga hindi ko naman kakilala. Hindi naman po kayo naging harsh, kung gusto nya po kayo talaga ay susubok po ulit yun na kauaapin kayo at makipagclose sa inyo.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaso parang torpe yun so hanggang tingin nlng haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun lang po. Hahhaha. Kailangan nya po ng lakas ng loob . 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag ako din talaga Ms. Jane, mag-iisip din ako ng masama. Hehe.. Pero yung di naman siguro sa paraan na magiging harsh ako sa kanya. Pero di naman kita masisisi din noh, mabuti na yung sigurado din Ms. Jane, db?

Parang, may spark to. May part 2 ba dito??

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Walang part 2 🤣 hndi na yun titingin sakn haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. Natakot na yata yun Ms. Jane.. HAHAHA😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At least you know now that he is not deaf. 😂😂 You are so strict naman kasi, but if it was me I'll do the same unless if type ko sya gora na hahahahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. D nga ako nkasagot agad.. Lol.. Yung nlng nasabi ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi ate Jane I'm starting to read your article coz someone told me your really nice person a friendly one but truly I really admire you ... No your not being harsh ate Jane sometimes ganyan din ako mag salita sa Ibang Tao.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And who is that someone?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Her username is Kim in noise.cash ate jane

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh. Mommykim? Nice meeting you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po si mommyKim...thank you po sa pag welcome ate Jane..I'm so blessed na notice nyo ako hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome😁 at welcome dto sa readcash

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can smell romance. But let's fate decide. If your paths will cross again, still we cannot call it destiny. Because we are the one who will make our own Destiny. The decision is still in the both of you. Kahit hindi ko nakikita na feel ko lang may spark talaga. That moment under the rain. Or maybe I'm wrong. But I think he truly likes you. It's not easy to gather some courage para e approach ang taong gusto mo. Hopefully there is a continuation in this Love story "It's magic under the rain" haha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha.. Hndi ko feel yung spark na sinasabi mo.. But I still don't know why I can't look straight into his eyes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pheeeeew!!!! If he feels hurt, then sorry for him. But why would he keep staring for a long period. I'd have done as much if it were me too. When someone stares at me too much, it makes me uneasy. If it talks to you later just keep it cool with him.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's really uneasy seems like he's undressing me indirectly lol..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. You always burst my brain with your article

Firstly I am aware of the story of Bella and John and it was an interesting one worth reading

And to the main contents of the day. Hehehehe I would like to ask a question first. Do you like him? Like is there something inside of you telling you his should be a good friend of yours?

And to me. Your worlds aren’t too harsh. It’s normal for that to happen when you come across a stranger and you are also a woman. You don’t have to fall so easy to petty words. I love your courage

But when you failed to ask him why he always stare at you is what I am worried about. Maybe some other time you get the opportunity please don’t forget to ask and know his mind.

And you said you don’t have a male friend? Where am I? 😂 😂 😂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣 you're a funny kid.. Just let destiny define the next part of this story. lol. . I was referring to real-world friends, not virtual friends 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oooh. I hope there is a tunnel to migrate from the virtual life to the real life. I would be the first to dive in.. 😂

Anyways can’t wait to read what happens next

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No need to wait..coz there will be no next part 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ooohhh! So sad 😞 😞

Maybe I have to come to HK to see the real drama 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Things would have escalated and turned out differently if you were nicer to him madam which for sure you wouldn't like. Haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You know that it won't happen haha.. And you know someone who failed..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So is he someone I know and am close with? 😬🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha.. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hihi 😬🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're too harsh yes, para kasing sa inaakto mo ee meron syang nakakahawang sakit na gusto mo agad tumakbo palayo sa kanya. If that's me baka ganyan lanh din ang mafeel ko. Pero, if sakin din gagawin ng lalaki un, baka nga ganon lang din gawin ko sa ginawa mo lalo na ayaw ko din na may tumititig sa akin. Nakakailanh nga hahaha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nkakailang tlga. Yung feeling mo kakainin ka ng buhay haha.. Or yung sa pagtalikod mo tititigan ang pwet habang naglalakad.. Nkakairita tlga yun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bwahahaha oiii ganyan ako sa lalaki wahaha nahabol ko ng tingin ang matammbok na pwet UwU wahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They say "Don't talk to stranger" but its intimidating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No No No! I think he was hurt with the way you talk harshly to him. Perhaps you should have acted nicely and possibly he would reveal his intentions to you. I also don't like people staring at me for long because I will be feeling like I am better or something is wrong with me. I can't wait to read the next part perhaps you might give him the chance 😣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I don't think so. It was his first time to talk.. And I guess, he won't gonna do that again. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s not nonsense but a cute story. Lovely dear. And I truly admire those rainy pictures. Perfectly matched with the story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako'y kinikilig hahaha You just want to protect from any possible happen but you can be casual if you can :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

He's not worth my time. I guess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At least he finally approached you and talk that means he his not deaf and dumb. and you were not harsh since you were insecure with the way he stares at you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maybe.. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Janey, you are a good story teller and I enjoyed this. In all honesty, I don't think you were harsh but you were simply uneasy and scared. He knew you were scared and he should either have addressed that the moment you said you don't like people staring at you but it looked like he was shy but only summoned the courage to approach you after 4 years.

You are a lady and he should understand why you should be scared. I think he tried to alleviate that by coming closer but cat cut his tongue too because he was shy.

When you see him again, you can take the bold step and tell him you were sorry if he felt you were harsh but you found his stares creepy that's why you felt off about him

I think you both can be "hello" mates.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

No way.. I won't gonna do that 🤣 doing the first step is not in my vocabulary, lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂😂😂🤣 Janey! At least, when you see him in the morning, greet him, "Kuya, good morning" that's a good step. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not friendly 🤣🤣 he might think I have a crush on him..lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Of course he knows you didn't which was why you gave it to him hot hot hahahaha. I understand your point though...but is he your kind of man?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well he's not bad haha. I don't actually have standards when it comes to chosing a man

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Then let's give him a chance and see how it goes. Hello, Kuya is a great start. 🥰🥰🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol,I remembered that story of you a couple years ago,but always bear in mind that don't talk to strangers as what most of our mother told us..hehe,I'm a victim of talking to strangers before and I should not talk to them on that way anymore...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Couple years ago? 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't worry ate. If he truly likes you he won't back out. Guys don't chicken out with just a little push away. They go back and only step back when it seems they are intruding. Moreover I'm sure he can't resist your spell😉. Again, maybe it isn't even meant to be. He might be one boring guy 😂 I'm already typing nonsense too😂.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣 he's really a boring guy 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought as much😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahhaha baka yun na yung hinihintay mo sis kaso dinedma mo hahahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Feeler kc..kya ayun. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha you are in trouble. You will be more in trouble if you speak to him nicely 💛

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣🤣 for sure

$ 0.00
2 years ago