Wandering and Lost On Hong Kong's National Day

23 65
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

October 1, 2022

Happy new month, readcashers!

Today, the 1st of October was the National Day of the People's Republic of China. A celebration of the Chinese people commemorating the declaration of the establishment of the People's Republic of China, and winning the civil war. So it was an early weekend rest day for all students and workers, including me.

Beforehand, I planned to bring forward the postponed visit to my agency to get my passport, which has long been staying in the agency. But since it's a holiday, I postponed this plan again because I am certain that the office is closed. Apart from visiting my agency, I planned to do a Tram trip from the city where my agency is located to Central HK. In my entire stay here in HK, I never ride on a tram so I want to experience it. But I might do this the next time I visit my agency.

Since it is National Day, there were supposed to be events. However, due to the endless coronavirus restrictions, the events were canceled and it is annoying. As I searched for more events for this day, even the anticipated fireworks display was canceled. Thus, this is such a boring holiday.

There are probably some events in China, but not here in Hong Kong.

Given that there is no events to watch, I opted to stay in my bed the whole morning until early afternoon. I decided to eat my not-so-lunch consisting of avocado and moon cakes to save some pennies.

Later in the afternoon, around 2 pm, I moved my arse and dressed up. There's one more thing I wanted to do this day and that's to visit a shop selling supplements. I wanted to buy the multivitamins as I felt like I badly need them, especially the ones for my joints and muscles.

I headed to Prince Edward where the shop I found online is located. The weather wasn't fine and there was a rain shower, so it wasn't good to walk farther.

So I was unfamiliar with the location of the shop, I asked for help from the GG map. As shown below it was supposed to be a 3 minutes ride, but since I only walk, it took me longer.

I even got lost on my way because I planned to follow the shortcut on the map, but I only ended up taking the long cut, in the opposite direction, lol. Well, I'm not really good at following the map 😂.

I came across this bakery selling this yummy bread and I felt hungry.

I opted to take a break on a bench nearby, so I could eat the bread.

I was looking for the shop but it was actually a warehouse of imported food supplements located on the 12th floor of a commercial building. The prices of food supplements are reasonably lower compared to those in the stores. I bought two kinds of supplements and they stashed HK$500+ from my wallet. Such a pain in the ass.

I traced my way back to the station and realized that the place is just to near to the street market I know. D*mn. I got lost finding it only to find out that I am familiar with the other route. At least, next time, I wouldn't be lost.

It's already autumn here. This was the underpass I passed through when going back to the station near the street market.


As mentioned above, I wanted to save some pennies for some purposes. One of them was to buy supplements I needed as I felt like my body can't accept some nutrients anymore from the food I am taking, thus, I need some supplements.

Another thing is the number of holidays this month, which has a total of 7, including 5 Sundays and 2 public holidays. Therefore, I would be spending a lot this month since my food during the holidays isn't covered by my boss.

Apart from National Day, the other holiday will be on the 4th of the month which is the Chung Yeung Festival on Tuesday. It's the 9th day of the 9th lunar month so they considered it an auspicious date with the traditional spiritual concept, so all workers and classes are suspended.

People will pay their respects at their loved ones' graves, so this festival is similar to All Souls Day in our country, which occurs every November 1st and 2nd.

And tomorrow, Sunday is another event that we are waiting for. This was supposed to be held last June 22, but for some reason, it was postponed and moved to the 2nd of October. It's the Dragon Boat Festival boat racing competition I wanted to attend and watch. The championship competition will be tomorrow, and I truly wanted to go to the beach where the competition will be held.

Aside from watching the boat racing competition, I also wanted to make a blog about this beach, Stanley, as it is pretty and has a lot of things to do there. Although I am alone since my buddy has some business to do, I don't mind at all. Besides, I have a tripod, lol.

That's all for today. And I hope the boat racing competition won't be canceled as well. If there isn't, then I'll just probably wander around the beach and bask as well.

At the end of the day, my feet brought me here to treat myself a more delicious food.

Happy weekend and let's cheer for better days to come. Hopefully.


**(Check out the new noise.app here and let's be connected. noise.app/Jane1289)**

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Ecency     PeakD Torum •Twitter

17
$ 1.90
$ 1.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 11
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

An excellent way to celebrate the first day of month which is also a national day. The planning and the execution was top notch! To be honest, I am also use Google maps on an unfamiliar places to get the accurate destination place .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy new month, Janey 🤗🤗🤗 you started the month looking all sweet and trendy...

There were times I went out and still got lost with the map here 😂😂🤣. I had to ask people and they pointed me in the right direction. It's the walking sign for the map that confuses me more and not even the driving or the bus one...that compass for walking can be so annoying sometimes 🤣😂🤣😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The direction on the map looks straight and longer, I followed the shortcut in the middle.. Then I got lost 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣🤣😂🤣🤣💪

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To save me the stress, I would just ask for the direction instead of following a map. I don't even know how to go through it 😅😅

I can see you had a nice time and going through the underpass, I hope to go through such since I love seeing it in movies. Happy new month, Janeyyyyy 😘

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Why don't you explore your country now that you aren't a student anymore? Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sarap naman ng food madam😋 feeling ko talaga nakasma adin ako sa paggala ikot mo sa HK. Pero yung food ang dabest. Naku moon cake ba yung kasmaa nung avocado? Sarap naman niyan madam😋

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yup madam

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang ganda dian sissy. Yummy p ng mga food

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't heard of GG map before, it looks a lot like Google map. I also use maps whenever I am going to a place I am not familiar with, and I am very accurate when reading maps, it gets easier with practice

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's Google map 🤣 . i call it GG haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂 Good one Ate Jane, GG map sounds cooler than Google map 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohoooo, maigi na rin na na cancel madamsss. Priority dapat and health UwU. Curious ako sa lasa ng moon cake huehue

$ 0.01
1 year ago

D special. Matamis lang haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This mooncake was all over my media accounts I'm really curious what it tastes like by the way may you feel better soon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I did expect that holidays meant madaming tao hahaha baliktad ata less people on the street natulog ba sila?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha. Normal na lang yan dto 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nako, ate, hilata lang ako all day pag walang work hehe! Ansarap ng mooncake with tea, bet ko talaga yun!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Me too.. Pero matamis haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's quite the experience haaha. Btw I had no idea Hong-Kong has a similar holiday to Nigeria. It's Independence Day today in Nigeria.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Happy independence day..hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ikaw lang mag isa miss Jane? Grabe. Napaka strong mo. Ako siguro mag alala na pero ang ganda ng mga places for sure masarap din yung mga foods. 🥰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Busy friend ko..nsa duty.. Sanay na ako mag isa hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago