Health Realizations

33 87
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

August 10, 2022

We all are, at some points feeling like resting is not in our system due to unending responsibilities and goals we want to achieve. It's been a week since my health hasn't fully recovered yet, and it's the first time this has happened. Probably due to overworking my body as I often push myself to the limit to the point that my health is being compromised. I've been too harsh on myself and often disregard its wellness due to understandably, yet irrational reasons, when in fact, I can balance both health and work.

Photo mine

It's always been a battle between mind and body when dealing with overwhelming stuff on my plate. One would demand rest, but the other is inexorable that would just want to extend the working hours regardless of the health condition and continue hustling in sickness and in health, as its goal is to accomplish things in hand before the day ends. But sometimes when the body wants more rest, the mind is unstoppable and it seems to process a lot of thoughts that would make me awake even in resting hours. So I sometimes just want to separate my body and soul for a moment, if possible, to find at least some peace.

Contemplating what I have done in the past days, months, and years, that put me into this condition, I have no one to blame, but myself alone. This isn't the first sickness I encountered since I engaged in this online side hustle and stuffed more things on my plate. My eyes were the ones that were compromised first due to over-radiation exposure. Then it was followed by carpal tunnel syndrome in my arms due to prolonged usage of my phone, especially when writing articles.

Image from Unsplash by Kelly Sikkema

Although the cause of my current sickness is some climate factors, the long period of recovery made me reflect on myself and contemplate the mistakes I have done, or if I did something better not to repeat history as it seems sequentially appearing. Thus, there is no full recovery at all. One, two, or a few days of resting isn't enough, as recuperating needs to be done religiously to regain the wellness that has been compromised until fully recovered.

During the past two years that I've been working both offline and online, I often missed my old life where all I did in my break time was entertain myself by watching my favorite shows or listening to music. Despite the toxic and exhausting job, I never had more complicated health issues and I easily recover when getting sick in just a short period. My life has a lack of stress and distractions, no pensive sadness when getting knock-backs, no carpers and critics to mind, and only a few pain and discomforts.

Sometimes when I am sick, I get no desire to strive at all, both online and offline. That's probably because my body took over my mind and just wanted to slack on my bed. I rendered less time online to spend it resting during my spare time. But the consequences of it were something I don't want to bare. I got no desire and motivation to write something sensible and all my mind produced was purely nonsensical and random content. My thoughts seemed scattered so I couldn't get hold of them to put them into words. They are overwhelming, but the desire to put them in content sensibly, just faded.

And that's when I questioned myself again, what happened to the quality content I was implying before? What happened to the community engagement I was pushing before? I felt shameful and unmotivated to the point that I don't want to go online anymore, that I just want to disappear, or perhaps, start anew anonymously.

Undeniably, being productive is indeed a positive trait, however, we can't deny the fact that it has cons as well. Taking health for granted is one of those. Something most vital that becomes disregarded by many of us for the sake of achieving goals, for the sake of earnings. The money that is also vital becomes the root of sickness.

Oftentimes, I would ask myself if my productivity is getting a fruitful harvest or just more setbacks. Those earned figures are indeed worth grinding and spending time with, yet, in the real world, am I truly getting the real reward? It's always a question to myself that is unanswerable. Although I know the answer, I often defy the fact because my mind is superior to my body, and my body would just act by whatever it dictates.

If there is one thing I want to work harder on, it is to develop better self-discipline to avoid compromising an important aspect of life. I have said this nth times and tried to make things right a million times, but I always end up failing to acquire strong self-discipline. Why? Evidently, because I always think and do what I truly want, without thinking about the consequences. Because I always think I am productive and a risk taker, to the degree that I am jeopardizing my own peace and health. Because I lack self-discipline.

Image from Unsplash by Jared Rice

This health realization just reminded me that, there can't only be work and work, or life and life, there must be a work-life balance to maintain wellness and live harmoniously. And there must be self-discipline to attain this fully. Without it, everything is pointless as I'll just go back to the square root of one and history will repeat itself again and again until I stumble over and regret things and decisions again.

Again, SELF-DISCIPLINE!!!

Now that I am getting better, my other self would probably say, "hey yow, you're fine again. What now? Push yourself to the limit again? Screw you."

Life really sucks! Yeah it is.


Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

29
$ 6.51
$ 5.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 15
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Sumakit nga din eyes ko sis nung subrang haba na screen times ko, it started nung nag umpisa ako sa hive hehehe... peru now i am trying to control myself. I put a time limit kung hanggang kailan lang ako mag cp hehehe. Di la nga ako nakapagsulat today kasi masakit mata ko kanina after crying... Hopefully makasulat ako dito sa read and bukas naman sa hive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can totally relate to you, ate. Abusado din ako sa self ko talaga kaya ngayon naniningil na sya. Have more rest, ate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just rest sis so you gonna be okay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Have more time sa sleep ate as much as possible

$ 0.00
1 year ago

life is all about balancing .... I know how challenging this can be . there was a time I was battling with the same thing, I try hard to balance up it , but it seems nothing is working out....I was affected physically and mentally and everything end up to sickness that lasted for days, I could not even carry me my phone to do anything online ... but when I recovered, I just try my possible best to balance it everything. I give myself brake when when I'm exhausted and work again when my body is fine.

Though we need to work, but our health is very important and I could see that you're trying to balance up everything , hopefully after everything , you'll gain back your normal self....

you'll be fine, much love ❤️

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thank you..yes, I will 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Never overwork or overload your body. Always try to relax and take some rest for good health. Everyone should work on developing a better self-discipline.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was absent for a week. Didn’t know that you hit the 2K milestone. Congratulations dear ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really schedule a time to relax ate... Parang once every two weeks mag me time ka...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kailangan talaga balance lang miss Jane lalo na pag health pag usapan kailangan talaga i-prioritize kasi yan ang main investment natin sa lahat.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Truely the body needs rest, there is a saying that what we can't leave will leave us one day, no matter what we are doing, we should find some time to rest, please rest well and recover fast, health is wealth.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aigooo ate, I think you have to limit na ung mga online activities din. Actually ako ate nililimit ko na pati ung sa noise para magkaroon naman ako recreational activity outside the virtual world. Simula din kasi ng dumami ung platforms na ginagamit ko eh medyo nagiging sakitin na din ako.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Limit na rn ako dun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I often missed my old life where all I did in my break time was entertain myself by watching my favorite shows or listening to music.

Minsan gawin mo padin to madam for yourself kahit paminsan minsan.

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Oo naman. Kaso..iba tlga yung dati

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aigooo, kahit naman mindan gusto natin erest ang isip at katawan natin di taalga kaya no. Lalo na ig kelang patulog kana sala napupuno ng ideas and isipin ang utak mo. Aigoooo. Pero ako kapag ganyan tinatabi ko nalang cp ko. Laayo ko muna sa kamay ko oara mapahinga utak ko. Okay naman sya kaso yung sa maga naman mabilis na din mapagod aigoo. Need na talaga nating mag lagay ng limit.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Kaya nga. Hirap dn kc pagsabayin lahat

$ 0.00
1 year ago

minsan talaga katawan na natin ang nagpapaalala satin na wag push ang push

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's what I've learned over the years talaga madam. Never compromise our health kase scary talaga maningil ang katawan natin eh.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nsa huli lage pagsisisi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes kailangan po talaga balance ang lahat, hindi po pwedeng puro work lang and wala na pong pahinga. Hindi po dapat isinasantabi ang health dahil our health is our wealth po. And I agree po, Self Discipline is the only key po talaga.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I know the feeling 😕 Sometimes I think that one day I will just collapse or my brain will stop working

$ 0.02
1 year ago

See.. Even the most productive one feel the same too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The toxic productivity we already talked about

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I admire you for still finding the strength and resolve to write despite your sickness, I was sick a few weeks ago and I couldn't even come online for some days. I'm glad to hear you're feeling better.

S.B: I tried adding you on discord but it didn't work. I need your complete username (including the 4 digit tag at the end)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I'll DM you on TG instead I can't stock the preoccupied thoughts in my mind for long.. This mind works more when I am sick.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These is still a quality content because some people take their conditions for granted and this article points out awareness that life is hell unfair but choices are ours at the end of the day. This shows that our health is also a priority, sometimes grinding a bit while being mindfull of own health is not a sin. Too much setbacks however, are also hardcore regret cages that if you won't let yourself bounce back, you'll drown.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It'll really let you drown. Sometimes too tough to get back to the surface.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You'll get through it, I'm sure of it. You're born a fighter😊.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naniningil talaga mga katawan natin. Its just a matter of time kung kailan

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We really don't appreciate the importance of good health until we have been hit. You are so right, Janey, being productive has its downsides and it's majorly telling on our health. I've been reading your update on your health daily and I have to say that it reminded me of what I need to do as well. It's easier to forget to take a deserved break when everything is going fine and our body still accommodates that stretch. It's good to give our body the rest it deserves before our body demands for it and when it demands, it's not always pleasant.

This was what I did yesterday... I've always been sleeping around 3 am and sometimes 4 am. I decided to sleep early, turn everything off and sleep early at least. I slept around 12:30 am and I woke up around 9 am. I prayed, made my Read Cash post since I drafted it already and I slept again. I woke up around 11 am. I feel good and would repeat it today. I just have to do a lot today to be productive and then sleep.

I wish you quick and good health, Janey. You will be fine. Please stay strong. Love you.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

12.30 am is too late for me.. I sleep usually at 10:30-11:30.. Seldom at 12am.. Wake up at 6:20 am...still not enough.. I guess the workload is too much already.. .canot scrape others off either. Balancing them all is necessary.. But toxic.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You sleep early and that's fine but as you have said, I think it's the workload that's stressing you. Balance is not easy sometimes as you are torn between resting and being productive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago