Are You A Bibliophile?

62 105
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

November 25, 2021

How's your humpday (Wednesday) readcashers?

I was busy like a beaver. I had limited time to write an article yesterday because I had a lot on my plate. Early in the morning we went out with my boss and ran different errands, and only went back home after taking our lunch outside. Then the job continued and I indeed slammed with a plethora of work yesterday.

Then I came across with @CoquiCoin's article I'm A Reader And You? that inspired me to write this content and opted to make this my entry to Hive Book Club's contest entitled All About Readers.

Back to the question of CoquiCoin, am I a reader? Of course, YES! And it is an undeniable fact that you're a reader as well. We all are readers. However, not all are book lovers and it is another undeniable fact. Not all are bibliophiles or bookworms.

Bibliophile or bookworm or book lover. Whatever it is, whether you are or not, you can't deny the fact that our knowledge begins in reading. And reading becomes part of our daily lives. From waking up in the morning, until the sun dawns in the afternoon, and before we hit the sack at night.

And being a member of the read. cash community with the name read on its name. We are certified "readers" beyond a shadow of a doubt. Since we open the platform until we exit. And even when conversing with other users and shifting to other platforms. Because reading is part of our job inside this digital world. What would you do then before and once you converged into this world? πŸ˜… Of course, read first before diving into this sphere. And read again to start the blogging journey.


Back on track...

Taking down the memory lane. I loved to read fantasy stories when I was a kid. And of course, the most famous books way back were about the Disney Princesses stories - Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Beauty and the Beast, Snow White and 7 Dwarfs, Rapunzel, and whatever Disney Princess story you have in mind.

Unfortunately, we don't have a lot of books at home. So every free time when I was in the mood to read, I would go to the library and look for something beautiful to read. Whatever book it is. In secondary school, our English teacher encouraged us to read books. And after reading a certain book, he would require us to play the story on the stage in groups. And that was part of our grading examination. The memorable play I had was about the 10 dancing princesses wherein I was one of the princesses and I wore a gown that time and danced with my male classmate. It was awkward as students watched us play on the stage and my heart truly pounded so fast.


Back to reading...

I loved reading fantasy stories and comics when I was younger. As I grew up, I liked reading nonfiction/fiction, as well as suspense, thriller, adventure, horror, mysteries, and who doesn't like reading Romance novel series? It was my hobby when I was in secondary school, especially when my teachers were out. I was actually influenced by my classmates as they love reading novels as well. We even rented some novels just to have something to read during break time. And once we're done reading our novel, we would exchange it with our classmate's novel.

When I started working. My reading hobby declined as I became busier at work and had less spare time to read books. But I do read random ebooks and articles if I have time. And there's a popular app called Wattpad in our country where we can read different stories wherever we go using our phone. I became addicted to it way back in 2017 until I flew abroad and stopped reading stories on Wattpad.

just cover the Chinese posters πŸ˜…

But when I stepped into my boss's house here abroad, one of the things that caught my attention was the bookshelf. It's full of books, both Chinese and English. And that's how my hobby in reading came back. It became my hobby every time I'm taking a breather. And even though I have watched the movies of those English books, I still read them, especially when I'm bored staying online and have no Kdramas to watch.

And one of the novel series I liked is Alex Rider written by a British writer named Anthony Horowitz. I like spy stories and Alex Rider is a teen spy which I admired the most. At a young age, he became part of MI6 or Special Intelligence Service in the United Kingdom. And his curiosity towards his uncle's death made him turn himself into doing spy things even it's against his will, and more stories started to unfold, including the case of his own father's death.

The Book 1 series entitled Stormbreaker had a spy film in 2006. But I was a bit disappointed when I watched the movie as it was out of my expectations. Indeed, books are better than movies. And I found out that there is another movie Alex Rider in 2020. I wasn't aware of this until yesterday when I searched the 2006 movie again. You can check the trailer here, and I might watch it on the weekend. I was like watching a real movie while reading the book series. Alex's cleverness and natural spy skills are truly commendable. And I finished the 13 book series within a week.

Reading in a silent place is what I prefer, as I am easily distracted by noises, and I like indoors, not outdoors. I can't enjoy the story if it's noisy around me. So if I want to read a book, I would stay in the corner of my room, put on my headset, and play soft instrumental music while reading. But I do want to experience reading in a cafe while sipping a hot tea or coffee. I especially want to try sitting in a famous Starbucks coffee shop while reading a book. I might do that one of these days.

The soft music and the story of the book are what make my reading moment enjoyable. The ambiance of the place is what makes me divert into the setting of the story and feel like I am part of it. Especially if the characters are intriguing with an unexpected twist in the plot. But have you ever felt like you want to change the plot to make the story better and for you to be satisfied with it? Or go into the story and pull the hair of the antagonist? πŸ˜… I felt that many times, lol.

At the end of the reading, what we can get are lessons and thoughtful messages. That's the most important part of it. Because reading without a purpose is useless. And the story would eventually fade in your memory once you just take reading for granted, and do not absorb the lessons learned in the story.


However, when I started blogging, I stopped reading books as my spare time at work goes to writing articles, and of course, reading articles. And here's a book of my Chinese friend that she wants me to read, the Shakespeare stories by Leon Garfield.

I like Shakespeare as an author. His words are romantic, yet, so complicated to fathom, lol.

Β "Death, that hath sucked the honey of thy breath, Hath had no power yet upon thy beauty."

It's from Romeo.

"My bounty is as boundless as the sea, My love as deep. The more I give to thee, The more I have, for both are infinite."

And of course, from Juliet.

His words are wondrous. Thou who is reading this. Oh, tissue, please! 🀣

Back to the title, am I a Bibliophile? I love reading but not to the same extent as those bookworms or Bibliophiles that they like to collect piles of books, have a great love of books, and they frequently read books. So no, I'm not. I'm just an ordinary reader who loves to read when she wants to, haha.

That's all folks. What about you? Do you like reading?

Btw, some details here were from my submitted article on Hive. You can check it here Though Read And Love It (Contest #3 All About Readers). Busy bee since yesterday, sigh.

Thanks for your time.

Β©read.cash@Jane (All Rights Reserved 2021)

Time of writing: 11/25/21 @3pm 

41
$ 19.23
$ 17.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bmjc98
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 28
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Spy stories sounds like my Archie!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not a Bibliophile din po pero I love reading din po. Hindi nga lang din po nakakapagcollect ng mga books lalo na po kung medyo pricey ang isnag book po hahha. Pero tama po marami po tayong natutunan tuwing nagbabasa po tayo, always po na madadagdagan ang knowledge mo everytime na nakakapagbasa ka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My favorite thing to read back then was the bible story. I think it was a bible from a different religion (not quite so sure), but I really loved it. I would lay in my bed and read the stories for hours. When I was in high school, I also tried novels. Just like, I got influenced by my friends but not that addicted by them though. Now, obviously, I'm sure you can tell, that I barely reads here. I wish I was a reader like you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love reading a lot and still doing that.. there are so many things I could get off reading and it makes me happy too… although I dislike some certain genres but it wouldn’t stop me from reading through when I have the time to… lovely write up dear πŸ’›

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How sweet of you my dearest friend on read.cash it's just because you are book reading lover and I'm one of them I really like to reading a book but unfortunately I have no more to read book . I really appreciate you dear friend about reading and learning process carry on it will give you a Sweet day sweet smile on you're face

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really wish I could sit down and read books, the importance of reading is very crucial, you can easily relate with what you're reading because it slowly draws an image in your mind

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course! I'm all about Books and reading and imagination! Books are wonderful because the images comes from you. Thus, you project your fears, your fantasies into what is described...

A very nice article Jane, and book suggestions that I will surely follow in the future.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

5 years ago I was a complete book worm guy. Spy-thriller & mysterious genre books were found in my room a lot. Nowadays I rarely have time to read. Missing that inner peace.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hindi po talaga ako bookworm ate pero mahilig ako mag basa ng mga ebook noon. Lalo na yung mga wattpad stories hihi. Pero natigil din kasi naging busy na. sa books naman, madali talaga akong ma bored eh. So far, isang book palang ata yung natapos ko talagang basahin.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mas binasa na article now hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As an English major we do study Shakespeare and I love him as well as an author. I am a hopeless romantic back then but not now. Hehe I love to read book as well and like you nowadays I don't spend time with books but here on read.cash writing and reading as well.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nkakaka dugo ng ilong stories nya 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo talaga minsan Hindi Lang ilong pati brain πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also passionate reading, πŸ€—

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right here we are certified "readers" ;)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Certified reader here. I am currently reading the Immortal Series but I had it on hold at book two for I was kinda busy. I am still reading manga's but the books can wait until my next rest days

$ 0.02
2 years ago

D ako mahlg sa manga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love to read too just dont have much time for it. Last year was the best year of my reading habit and like you, when I started to work, my reading time also was lessen.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Article reader na tyo ngayon lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sist. Yung iba bookworm ang bio sa fb haha sanaol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to read about fighting and romantic stories. My uncle was a lawyer. He used to read novels and having good story library. When i was in three grade i started reading stories in our national language. Later novels become my favourite . I stole a lot of book from uncle library and after reading put them on their own place.

So, from my childhood i like to read like you sister. Now i habbit to read when i get tired from cellphone.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We are more using cellphones now than books

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eversince na bata ako eh hilig ko tlaga magbasa. Kahit mga clips sa dyaryo basta nacurious ako eh binabasa ko tlaga. Pero di ako mahilig sa mga english novels. Gusto ko about mga ancient history, mga myth ganern.. Saka hilig ko mga tagalog novels din, hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayokp history te.. Nabobored ako jan. Yung mystery, sci fic, adventure, mala harry potter, twilight ganun. Bet ko haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are so many knowledge we gained from reading Novels and I believe that no knowledge is a waste, it will be useful in one way or the other.

I love reading stories , most especially a romantic one, hehehehe πŸ˜†, I will see myself smiling in the process of reading to show how interesting the Novel can be..... Me too not a bibliophile, but I read when I feel like reading.. or see an a novel that will seem interesting. I still manage to read my books at school as well because I don't want to fail....🀣🀣🀣 I don't have a choice for that...lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha...you are a frequent reader. The books in school 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel like leaving it sometimes, errrrrrrrrr, I can't, my school book can be so boring...lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung college ako nagbabasa ako ng books pero Dina din naulit haha. Mahilig nako nun sa Wattpad πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

2017 lng ako nahilg sa wattpad.. Pro nung lumipad na dto. Stop na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love reading romantic novel Because it gives more explanation about love And book explain better than movies because movie can't go for ever but books can

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. It is more detailed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah very true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Chronicles of Narnia 😍 hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Complete yan 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naging wattpadian ka din pala ate akala ko hindi hahaha. I am bibliophile depende sa mood ate pero surely bibliophile ako pag novels na hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wattpaders dati wala pa ko sa abroad. Stop ako jan nung nagwork na dto.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stop nadin ako ate kas busy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I started reading novels at a very young age. Most of it was harlequin and silhouette series. My parents were against it, they said reading erotic novels will corrupt my young mind. The toilet became my favourite place,i would hide there and read and when i hear footsteps i will pretend to flush. I even have a way of hiding the novels. Looking back now i understand why my parents where against it, but i feel they could have done it better. Maybe take me to a store and help me pick the right novels. Adventure novels are there and other interesting ones, but instead ,i was scolded, beaten and i resorted to hiding it . I take it to school sometimes too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Erotic novels aren't really recommendable for young people 🀣 .. I was once caught by my teacher for reading a novel in our class.. I hide it in my book, but my teacher suddenly appear at my back and he saw it 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What was his reaction?πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't say I am a bibliophile today, but I once was. My story really kind of align with yours. As we grow older, we have less time for things like reading, but we have to find time to do a little, right? And yes, I don't do romantic novels, too mushy

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha... Too mushy. It was before. When I was younger lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

halaaaaaa inggit ako ate, sa totoo lang HUHUHU yung kay Rick Riordan, The House of Hades palang meron ako haha tas nabili lang nong big bad wolf sale haha. Ang ganda tignan ng mga books mo ateee, pagka uuwi mo ba sa pinsa dadalhin mo lahat yan? hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's not mine.. Sa anak ng boss ko 🀣 binasa ko lng. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have so many years reading. But I don't know what I am anymore. I read the advances in medical science. I read about the effects of drugs. I read about the pathologies of my patients. I read on three platforms. I guess I can call myself an online reader.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Me too hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love reading too, but no time anymore for now.. cannot spend time reading books anymore, although i have some books too before.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same.. More on reading articles na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not a bibliophile but I love to read, special fairy tales, comedies, love stories and I love those books the most which contains tragy - comedy stories Books helps me to conquer against my fears and sorrows.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm a pocketbook lover basta piling writer lang From PHR pa hahaha. I'm not really into English msakit sila minsan sa ilong huehuebels

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. Phr...nung high school ako dami namn nakolekta na novels lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We definitely are readers :) Hilig mo din sa mga novels hehe. Tagal na ako d nagbasa ng novels kaya d nadagdagan yung dati :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ako sobra tagal 🀣 2017 pa yun last basa ko 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have two books here at home that I haven't finish reading yet. Haha. Nasa kalahati pa lang ako talaga.

And about sa movies that came from books, super nagiging different talaga ng plot.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ganyan minsan ako. Sa simula lng mahilig. After several weeks. Hndi na tatapusin 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahahahha true. Grabeng katamaran ko na. Nakakatulog pako minsan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did you see the series YOU? it's from Netflix. The protagonist is a librarian and an inveterate reader. Look it up. You will like.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nope. Have you read the book, David? It's a story of a kid who escape from confinement then travel to look for her parents on the other side of the world. . it moved me to tears

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love reading books, so much that I prefer reading the book to a movie than actually seeing the movie. There is the bonus that comes with the fact that you can paint your own characters and scenes to suit your idea of perfection, it's a gift most people don't realize. If you read a book before seeing the movie, you would realize that movies don't quite do enough justice.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Not quite enough justice. Totally injustice 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago