What I learned Recently About Allergic Rhenitis and Other Common Illness

8 30
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Things I learned Recently About Allergic Rhenitis and Other Common Illness 

September 28
Post number 215

For the past six days, I have been suffering from allergic rhinitis. It started with an itchy throat last Thursday afternoon. Then early in the evening, I started sneezing.  I took cetirizine for my allergies. But late that evening, I felt my sore throat worsen. It felt like burning.

 There was no hot water, nor anything I could take to relieve my sore throat. Not even mouthwash. I decided to brush my teeth with minty toothpaste. I even brushed my tongue and the roof of my mouth. It worked.

 This is not the first time I have gone through this. In the past, this is a warning sign for me that I am about to suffer sinusitis again. More often than not, I would even get the flu.

 In the morning, I got a stuffy nose. It was not bad as I expected, but it was quite uncomfortable.


Greetings, my dear readers. yes, I have been suffering from allergic rhinitis for the past 6 days now. Though I felt a little better, it's still quite annoying. The more annoying thing is, the side effects of the anti-histamine...which is drowsiness. That's why, as much as possible I take it only after dinner. 

However, I would still feel drowsy the following day. That's why there was a day or two that I did not take the antihistamine.

In the past six days though, I learned something new about allergies and colds. That's what I want to share with you here.


Neozep Affects The Heart.

Last Friday, I went to the school clinic to ask for some decongestants. I mentioned Neozep to the school nurse. She said, there are some Neozeps, but she advised me against it. Apparently, there were recent studies that show that this medicine affects the heart.

Lessons From Doc. Willie Ong.

Last Tuesday, I asked my wife about the medicine she took when she was coughing to her allergies a few months ago. She forgot the name of the medicine but she got it from Doc. Willie Ong's YouTube videos.

As I listened to some of his videos I learned something else.

There is no medicine for common colds.

The medicines we take for common colds are not to cure the colds but to relieve the symptoms. Even for cough. They are merely therapeutic medications. Carbocisteine, even the generic type, can help relieve cough.

Image by Mojca from Pixabay  

Allergies or Infection? The Mucous Will Say.

 I have already learned this from my personal doctor and from my dad (who was a doctor).  

If the mucous is clear or white it's just allergies. That's when you take antihistamines. If it's yellowish or even greenish, it indicates an infection. It could be bacterial or viral. In either case, you need to see a doctor get the proper antibiotic prescriptions.

NEVER, EVER self-medicate using antibiotics.

 About Anti-histamines.

 Let me share this video before I share my thoughts.

 


In the Philippines, one can easily buy a generic cetirizine tablet. You can buy one from a drug store between P1 - P2 each. ($0.05 - $0.10). Or from a neighborhood store at about P3 each.

Image by Pexels from Pixabay 

As shown in the video, cetirizine belongs to the 2nd generation anti-histamine, which is supposed to be less sedative. Probably that's why there are some drugs that induce only mild drowsiness or sleepiness.

The generic kinds, however... I can hardly keep my eyes open.

Home Remedies That Work

Some of these home remedies are already well known in the Philippines

  •  Steam Inhalation - I rarely do this. The other day, I did this before I took a bath. It's just hot water on a bowl and you inhale the steam from the water. I did put a towel over my head to trap most of the steam. After a few minutes of steam inhalation, I felt the mucous soften in my chest and when I coughed, I coughed them out quickly.

  •  Gargle Warm water with salt. This is a proven home remedy for stuffy noses and sore throats. And it seems that when I gargled when I brushed my teeth worked as well.

  •  Drink Lots of Water- I guess everybody knows this already. As to how much? 8-12 glasses. That's about 2-3 liters of water.

Image by Anja-#pray for ukraine# #helping hands# stop the war from Pixabay  

Along with these home remedies, I also took Lagundi syrup. The menthol flavor alone helped relieve the sore throat. Last night I switched to Belastine. It's a 2nd-degree antihistamine that my wife learned about this medicine also from one of Doc. Ong's videos from a few months ago.


Disclaimer.

I am not a doctor and these are not medical advice. These are just based on what I experienced and learned from the links I shared above. I shared these for educational puroses only.

If you have persistent allergic rhinitis, it is best to see your doctor. What worked for me may or may not work for you.


In Closing.

Still, the best medicine for allergies is to stay away from allergens. I believe what triggered my allergies last Thursday is the dust from the chalk when I had my class that day. Therefore, I must never forget to bring my whiteboard marker.

Stay healthy and stay safe.

Thanks for reading.


Check out also my other earning sites. (Note: Contains referral Links)

|Read.cash | Noise.cash | Hive (Via Ecency)| Forum Coin |

|Publish0x | https://cointiply.mobi/8yiK |

Or Checkout my LinkTree for updated links.


 

 

 

 

 

6
$ 0.96
$ 0.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 2
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

I always warn my partner and others against the use of antibiotics but they seem to fall on deaf ears.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is nothing u can do for common cold but remedies work great . firstly they don't be like harsh on your health then also its natural i try ginger cough drops for this try that. Cause apparently im immune or allergic to some medicines even in a weird weird way.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

ooooh thanks for sharing this. Bilang isang new mom this is very helpful. Yung bestfriend ko minsan ginagawa nyang pampatulog yung antihistamine eh. Pero sa throat or ubo lagi kami may Pei Pa Koa na candy or syrup.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ang dami kong natutunan sa article mo sir. Ngayon ko lang nalaman nakaka affect pala sa Heart yung Neozep sir. Now aware na ako. Kumusta kana ngayon sir?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

kumakati pa rin ang lalamunan. pero mas ok na. Me baon lang akong Fisherman's Friend hehehe.

Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad na it's better na sir. Pawala na yan sir.

Welcome sir.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nagka rhinitis din ako for three days Lang, hindi ako talaga uminom ng mga neozep or any tablet kasi di rin naman nakaktulong sa akin, Kaya oregano Lang kadalasan iniinom ko, nag steam ako nyan sa cup habang mainit PA tapos iinumin ko na Pagkatapos.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi ko pa nasubukan ang oregano. Ginger tea lang... yung gawa ko... :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago