What Could Happen When You Get Distracted?

Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

October 27

This is a Game of Focus

Hello, dear readers. Have you seen that movie of Will Smith? The title is Focus. But the focus of this article is not about the whole movie, but only on that scene. Have you learned anything about that scene? And I don't mean learning how to steal things. Well... maybe a little... But not that I want you to become a pickpocket or a snatcher or anything...

Watch it again if you need to. But focus on the trick he applied to steal. I know it looks far-fetched to happen in real-life. But I assure you, from my experience, the principle applied to this scene is true. And what is that? One word

DISTRACTION!

Take note of the part where Smith emphasizes touching on one side of the woman and stealing something from the other side. Distraction! And that happened to me many years ago.

Created using Pixteller

I was riding a jeepney (a form of public transportation here in the Philippines) on my way to work. Some men came up. One sat on my left. I can't remember if the man on my right was with them as well. But the man on my left kept moving... as if he was not comfortable in his seat. He was pressing me towards the man to my right. After a few minutes, they got off the jeepney. I felt something was off. My wallet was halfway out of my pocket. I checked it. I found out that all the cash was gone. The passenger in front of me asked me how much I lost. A few minutes after telling him, he got off the jeepney. That's when I realized how they worked.

The man on my left was the distraction. If I am right, the one on my right was a cover. The pickpocket was the second man to my right. I would also assume that the passenger who asked me how much I lost was part of their crew. I was amazed that he was able to put my wallet halfway back into my pocket without me feeling it.

This is what happens or what could happen when you get distracted. You lose something. Yes, when you get distracted you could lose something. It could be, like in my case, cash... or something intangible like time.

Lost Time

This morning, I planned to jog. I was up already at 4:30 in the morning. After my morning prayer, and reviewing my goals. I wanted to create another image quote. I made it a point that my first post in noise dot cash is a motivational/inspirational quote on an image.

Image Source Unsplash

While doing that, I accidentally swiped my screen to the right. It opened the news page on my phone. One of the headlines caught my attention so I opened it. I started reading the news. Then another.

I was distracted. By the time I looked at the time (yeah, that's another repetition), it was already 5:20 in the morning. I haven't made my image quote yet and I haven't prepared for my planned morning jog yet. I decided to cancel my plan.

The lesson was, I got distracted and I lost time.

These are just two examples of what we can lose when we got distracted.

Have you ever experienced that when you were composing an article and you got distracted? After which your train of thoughts got derailed and you can no longer remember what you were supposed to write? Frustrating isn't it.

How about you? What do you think could happen when you get distracted?

In Closing

This is my entry for the Writing prompt No 17: Distraction.

I long wanted to write this but, I could not get anything in my mind for this prompt until now. Good thing there is no deadline on any writing prompts.

If you want to join, here are the rules.

  1. Write anything about distraction

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Join and submit to the community PromptlyJonica

  4. Tag @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun!

Thanks for reading


Check out my other content at:


6
$ 5.91
$ 5.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
+ 4
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I easily get distracted haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are not alone. hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is no how we won't be distracted in life, we just need to be at alert and focus on what we want to do on time. Many times, I have found myself being distracted too and I ended up missing the important thing for the day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Been there so many times distracted by some sort of things and happenings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Distraction's would come,we just have to focus and don't get distracted easily,if the man on the left didn't distract you they wouldn't have been able to steal... let's be mindful and time cautious.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah. And I now don't keep my money in one wallet. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a good idea,if I may suggest you shouldn't take big money while entering any public transport, it's dangerous

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. For the time being, I rarely take any public transport.
But ever since that happened, I only carry a small amount in my pocket or wallet. It helps me save also.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's good,we just need to carry little amount of money in case if anything happens

$ 0.00
2 years ago