The Disadvantages of Huawei's HarmonyOS

11 403
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

December 4

During the reign of former President Donald Trump, Huawei phones were suspected as used to spy on their users. Trump then ordered a ban on Huawei phones in the US. In compliance with this ban, Google denied the new Huawei phones and other devices access to Google Play. Not only that, the official Android OS will no longer be available for the upcoming Huawei phones and other devices.

Source

Hello dear readers. Are using a Huawei phone? I had been a Huawei phone user since 2015 (I think). My first Huawei phone was a Y5 III. I had if for four years. Then I got a post-paid plan with Globe Telecoms and I got a Huawei P30-Lite. The P30-lite was more durable than I expected. It's still working right now.

When I renewed my post-paid plan, I got the Nova 7 SE. A phone with 64 MegaPixel camera. However, it is now running Huawei's own operating system HarmonyOS- an emulation of Google's Android 10.

In this post, I will share with you why I love my Huawei phone and also some disadvantages of Huawei's Harmony OS.

DISCLAIMER

The information in this post is all based on my experience in using my Huawei Phones. This is more like my opinion rather than a review of the Huawei Nova 7 SE which I have been using for several months now.

Durability.

I noticed how durable the Huawei phones are with my P30 lite. It flew several times across the room several times, courtesy of my mad little troll. The screen had no scratch at all. Once, it fell from my jacket's pocket while I was riding my motorcycle.

The Nova 7 SE also displayed the same durability.

High-Resolution Camera

Before I renewed my plan with Globe Telecoms, I was already doing some research on their available phones. When I go to their store, I was first offered an Oppo phone. The maximum resolution of the Oppo phone was only 48 Megapixels. A far cry compared to Nova 7 SE's 64 Megapixel.

The phone is also capable of 10X zoom. It's a good feature, but lately, I prefer to use the high-resolution and just zoom in later.

Taken using Huawei Nova 7 SE set at High Res (64MP)

The phone's camera AI works well as well. I rarely use filters or adjustment tools on my photos taken using the Nova 7 SE.

See the world upside down

Disadvantages of the HarmonyOS

The new releases of Huawei phones and other devices come with HarmonyOS. It is an emulation of Android 10 and up. It's a good operating system. Most Android applications, including some games, would run smoothly on the HarmonyOS.

However, the main disadvantage is, it has no access to Google Playstore and Google Services. Although Huawei has its own App Store, there are a lot of apps that are not yet available.

No Access to Google Service

Some Android apps can be installed from third-party app stores, or the APK can be copied and installed. However, without access to Google Services, a number of apps will not run properly, especially if it requires access to your Google Account.

Without access to Google Services, I can not use Google Photos. Which I use a lot to automatically back up my photos.

Screenshot of my Google Photos

Cryptocurrency Wallet Apps Will Not Run

This is the biggest disadvantage of HarmonyOs. All of the cryptocurrency wallet apps that I have tried will not run on HarmonyOS. Coins.PH, bitcoin, Metamask, and other crypto-related apps will not run properly.

There could be some way around it, but I have not discovered them yet.

Final Thoughts.

The new Huawei phones running on HarmonyOS are good. The overall performance may exceed a user's expectations. If you are looking for a good phone camera, Huawei is one of the best out there and without spending so much. However, if you are into cryptocurrency then, you might need to think again.

Thanks For Reading

Check out my other content at:


All content is mine unless otherwise indicated

5
$ 3.28
$ 3.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 1
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

I am a Huawei user since 2019. The model that I have still runs Google. But next year I will changing phone because I noticed that I charge it often now. Also, Huawei is being inclusive now. Maybe I will be switching to Apple.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Then I will have to let this pass for I need crypto wallets although I don't use the ones I have installed in my phone right now since I always use my laptop :D :D but who know when the need arises so I have those apps as back up in my phone. I do like the camera of Huawei P30 lite which is what I am using right now but since I smashed the phone, it didn't work right ever since but still can perform well and amazingly the phone is working well too so I can attest to its durability.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My son accidentally fell with my P30 lite in hand. The screen finally cracked but fully working. Go to the nearest authorized Huawei service center. Me promo sila sa lahat ng parts ng P30 lite. I got my screen replaced for only 1,300. that includes labor na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't like Chinese made phones hahaha sorry :-D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Some parts and pieces of phones were most probably Chinese made :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Probably the hardware but not the software at least. :-D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The thing is, even iPhones are made in China. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll just go back to Nokia made in India :-D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hmm. yeah. Japanese and most European brands ang walang factory sa mainland China. hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

According to battery and touch system they are proven better. They have fine display. But that is true and hacker can hack our cellphone and stole information. This was not only with humawi. All android phone have same problems. Just keep yourself away from unwanted and strange links. Security is first priority of every user.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

they say Huawei phones have a backdoor for hackers. But no proof was found. I agree with you. The security of any device depends primarily on the users.

$ 0.00
2 years ago