Thank God For Another Year of Life.

15 44
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Today is a special day for me. Today, I thank God for another year of my life.

Hello again, readers. Let me take this moment to think back and reflect on all my years of existence. 

Story of My Birth

image Source: Unsplash

This is something I have not shared with anyone before. 

My Mom always told us this story.

On June 24, the feast day of St. John the Baptist, my Mom already felt the pain and thought her water would break already. So Dad rushed her to the hospital.

But when they were in the hospital, I did not come out. Probably, if it happened during this decade, they could have decided on a c-section right away. But they did not.

So, Mom stayed in the hospital. They were expecting to have me out of her womb that day. 

But the night came and gone and she did not feel any pain. And she did not feel the pain until the 26th.

And guess what, if I remember it right,  the delivery was made by my father. Yup, he was a surgeon.

I suppose you already have an idea how I got my name.

A Happy Go Lucky Life

I admit I did not live an exemplary life. I'm just an average guy, happy to live day by day. 

We were not rich. We were not poor either. We were just happy to live in comfort.

I grew up with no grand ambition. Taking a look back now,  I was just a happy drifter. Just letting the waves of life take me anywhere and I was content, and never counted the years.

I was happy wherever I was.

image source: unsplash

Not that I did not have any problems. Who doesn't? Some are easily solved, some are still lingering. 

I can't say, I am where I wanted to be. But I got here because I let the tides of circumstances being me here.

Financial Status.

It was a wrong decision to jump out of my full-time job to become a freelancer without enough financial backup. I realize that now.

And just as when I was recovering financially, the pandemic struck. My savings was drained in a few months.

Things Than I am Grateful For

As I have mentioned, I'm not living the life that I dream of.  I was hoping that by this day, I am already living off my passive income. But I'm not.

Still, there are lots of things that I should be grateful for.

  • My wife and kids are healthy.

  • I could spend as much time as I could with my kids.

  • I am at the dawn of my golden age. Yup, that's my age now. But I am in good health. Not in great shape but I have no chronic diseases that require any maintenance.

  • I now found some means to solve my financial problems. And that is by doing the things that I love to do.

What I need to do.

What I need to do is focus on those things that I love to do where I can earn. These are writing, photography and illustration.

Screenshot of my work in Medibang Pain

I need to develop my marketing skills though.

The Celebration.

In the past, I don't spend so much on my birthdays. I would rather spend some time with my close friends and family.

But my wife had other plans for my birthday today. She's been preparing something since this morning. And I'm grateful for it.

If I had my way, dinner with my family would suffice.

This is it for now. 

Thanks for reading 

6
$ 0.81
$ 0.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 2
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

Ayiiieee. Late na ako sa bati ko Kuya ArtBytes pero belated happy, happy, haply birthday. 🥳🥳 ngayon na lang ulit ako nagbabasa-basa. Natabunan na ako sa dami ng babasahin. June 25 naman birthday ng gallstones ko. Hahaha. Kwento ko sa birthday ko na lang yung about din sa akin. Nabanggit ko na kanina kay Ellehcim sa comment ko sa kanya slight about the day I was born. Inonote ko nga yan para di ko malimutan. Hehe. Again, belated happy birthday Kuya ArtBytes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat. Ok. Dami ko rin palang commens na hindi nababasa, at nareplyan. Better late than never. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happiest birthday, kuya John! 🎂🎉 Hahah! Tama ba hula ko?

All the best for the next year, hopefully BCH will reach another ATH para ma materialize na ung dream laptop mo soon..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yup. Thanks. Yeah sana nga. Sumasakit na ang mga daliri (trigger finger,) at mata ko sa katatype sa cp. Nasira pa Bluetooth keyboard ko. Kahit pambili lang ng tablet ok na. Me 0.5 bch na ako eh. Kung nasa ATH ang price, kayang kaya na sana. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uu kayang2x na talaga pag mag ATH, sana soon, ang baba ng BCH ngaun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga eh. Me nabasa ako baka hangang next week pa to. Pero, kapit lang talaga. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday, po! More blessings to come and wish you the best in life. Next Saturday na rin birthday ko :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday sir. Wishing you all the best in life. And please how do we get our own share of the cake? Bless your wife for celebrating you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll have food panda deliver you a slice?

Hehe he.

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. You welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday!!! I hope you enjoyed what your wife had prepared

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I did. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you all the best and all the love you deserve today on your special day, kuya!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago