My Journey To The Cryptocurrency World

19 84
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

My Journey To The Cryptocurrency World

December 2017.

The record shows that the first time I joined the cryptocurrency world was on December 20, 2017. I bought worth Php 1,500 of Bitcoin. And the next day, I got some extra cash and bought another Php 1,000 worth of Bitcoin. The price was close to the All-Time High (ATH) during that time (around $18,000). The noise at the time was it will continue to rise up to $30,000. I joined out of fear of missing out (FOMO) the chance.

Then boom! The price started to drop a few days after! Some of my friends who also have just started buying Bitcoins started selling. I did not. I left my money to sit in my wallet. Still hoping that the price will bounce back, I kept looking at the price until February of 2018. I think the price settled at around $11,000 at the time. I stopped looking at the price and considered my investment as a total loss.

I did not open my coins.ph app for about two years after that.

That was the start of my short journey to the cryptocurrency world. and I thought that was the end of it also.

Created using Pixteller by JLoberiza

Today: September 10, 2021

Hello, dear readers! This is John once again. In this post, I will share with you my experience in returning to the cryptocurrency world and continued my journey. And how timely it was because I was looking for ways to augment my source of income during the time of the prolonged crisis.


Looking Back.

I had little knowledge about Bitcoin and cryptocurrency. From what I understood at the time, Bitcoin started as a secure payment protocol or something. Instead of sending FIAT money over the internet through a payment platform like PayPal (but without the third party), you buy a token and send that token instead. But since a lot of users started buying and holding the tokens, the prices skyrocketed.

However, it did not seem to have captured my interest, even when the prices started to rise. Some people I knew started buying new computers for mining purposes. Still, I ignored a potential source of high income. At the time I was focusing on my small investment in the stock market.

Then a group of people started a "multi-level networking" using bitcoin as the product. To me, it was more of a pyramiding scheme. I will share more about this group next time. That was sometime between 2011-2017. I also had a few friends who tried to "recruit" me into joining the network using different alt-coins including the fraudulent OneCoin. I'm glad that I did join any of them.

Then a friend of mine started talking about bitcoin in 2017. Let's say, I was following his lead since he made at least a million (Philippine) Pesos from his stock market investments. Then I did my first, but a short journey to the cryptocurrency world.

Image by Tumisu from Pixabay 

Moving Forward

Though I did not touch my coinsph app since February of 2018, my interest in cryptocurrency did not die. I read some articles and some "free" ways to earn cryptocurrency. Then I found Freebitcoin faucet. I started earning a few satoshis a day. But I got hooked on their Hi-Lo game. I kept on winning at first, but one day, I lost more than half of my earnings. In frustration, I stopped visiting the site for a while.

When the pandemic hit, I temporarily lost my source income. I was teaching only part-time. So, no school, no salary for me. I can't also get new clients for my freelancing job as an IT consultant. My savings was slowly draining. I need some cash for my Internet connection. I remembered that I had some money in my coins.ph wallet. I slowly used some amount to buy pre-paid load for my Internet, but I made sure I would leave at least Php 1,000 worth of BTC.

Image Source: Unsplash

Then, in December 2020, I read about Read.cash in an article in another content-sharing social platform Tsu. If I remember it right, it was written by @Bloghound. But I'm not sure if I used her referral link in joining because I did not join right away. And this is my second account. I forgot where I saved the seed phrase of my first account. (Sorry @bloghound). That's when I also encountered BCH again. From what I knew, BCH was the reason why the BTC dropped in 2017. I'm not sure if it was true or not.

It was already nine months since the community quarantine started, and I had no job. Then again, I did not start writing here until February of 2021.

But at the time I joined read.cash and heard about BCH again, I got interested again and opened my coins.ph. I was excited to see that the Php 1,000 worth of BTC that I left had become Php 3,000 worth. And seeing that the coins.ph app now has Ethereum, BCH, and XRP. I sold some of my BTC and bought a bit of each alt-coin.

Then I joined and started earning BCH from noise.cash and became active as well here in read.cash. I wasn't monitoring my earnings at the time. What matter was, I was earning cryptocurrency at a time when I had no stable source of income.

I also joined Publish0x, so I can earn Ethereum as well. And once I get my bearings up, I plan to go and try earning other cryptos also. As I continue to earn BCH, from read.cash and noise.cash, I continue to learn more about cryptocurrency and other ways to earn them.

Screenshot of my Publish0x dashboard

My Gratitude

At this point, I will take this space to say my gratitude to authors who have been considering newbies to cryptocurrency in their articles. There are several good authors here when it comes to cryptocurrency. But some authors consider the newbies when they wrote their articles about cryptocurrency. And I would like to name a few. These are @CryptoMax, @Pantera, @scottcbusiness, and lately @MoreGainStrategies, these authors have always tried to simplify a rather complicated subject in their articles. @jane and other writers who continuously share their achievements in earning cryptocurrency and how they did it.

Final Thoughts

I am still a newbie in cryptocurrency, and my journey had just barely started. One of my goals, aside from earning, is to spread awareness of BCH here in our city. I'm not sure if how many are already into BCH here. But I know that Bitcoin in general has a negative impact here to many people because of what happened in the past. I will share that story next time.

Thanks For Reading.

The content of this article is all mine unless otherwise indicated.

7
$ 7.88
$ 7.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 5
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

I have dabbled in crypto for a few years, but as it is ever-evolving I am still a newbie, I mean now there are NFTs and so much more than straightforward BTC hehe. Good luck with your continued journey.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks. Yeah. The more I learn, the more I realize that there more things that I need to learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, good thing you still have your coins ph acct. I just leave a small amount in there as well. Who knows when BTC will go sky high again. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still have a very small amount there. When I have some extra cash, I might add more little by little

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The road to success takes determination. I know you have the zeal for it. I've seen your articles and comments and j know you will achieve your peak. Rome was not built in a day. That's my mantra. I learn at my own pace and do the little j can do. Cheers to more success.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for your words of motivation. Yeah, Rome was not built in one day. Patience and perseverance... that's what we need... that's what I need.

Thanks again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The journey of success is not always smooth, you'll come across tough moment, but if we don't give up on what we want , we will always smile . An adage goes thus...." There's always a light at the end of every tunnel"

And I believe you've achieve somethings with the time you've been persistence here and other crypto platform....

Execuse me , I don't see you as a learner, you're an experience blogger and crypto enthusiastic..Hehehehe 😆😃

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I have along way to go. Thanks. There is so much to learn in this sphere so I will always be a learner.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right in a way, we keep on learning new things everyday . Know one is the fountain of knowledge, we keep on learning .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

congrats sir.. i had bitcoin left in my xapo acct from bitlanders and it was 2021 when I got the chance to get access to the wallet. the amount was worth 24k PHP.. it was just sitting there all years.. i did withdraw it and used it as an investment in trading in binance

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wow! Laki nunnah. Sayang kang at hndi na crypto ang binbigay ng Bitlanders nung magjoin ako nun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laki nunnah. Sayang kang at hndi na crypto ang binbigay ng Bitlanders nung magjoi

ahh ganun ba.di na pala btc..nako eto ung regret ko talaga.. mga more than 5btc ata natanggap ko kay bitlanders..withdraw lahat un eh..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Millinaire ka na pala sana pag ganun. Anyways at least na enjoy mo na rin yun. Difo na tayo magipon ng BCH. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes nakapag enjoy din naman... it funded most of our travels..hehe

kaya dito tinatry kong isave ug bch.. nagtry n din sa trading para makapag experience.. i hope to accumulate more bch...we will never know baka magboom

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo nga. I will soon spend sometime learning more about SmartBCH. I hope I can do it this weekend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I started learning and using crypto in 2014, but up to now I am still learning :) Congrats on your journey, kuya!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I guess you're not a newbie anymore since you learned this in 2017 😅 maybe a noob in crypto stuff.. Same with most of us here 🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

yup, that's what I am referring to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago