Do You Spend Time In Writing a Better Headline?

9 81
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

January 20

 Sometimes I experiment with my blog titles or headlines. Does it really matter? I think it does. In my last two articles, I admit I got lazy and did not put much effort in formulating those headlines. In fact, my last article "Sometimes We Need To Go Through More Pain To Get Rid of Pain" was originally titled "Have you experienced painful pleasure?" I did not like the sound of it. I think Rusty did not like it also since he ignored it in the first 12 hours. Only after changing its title, did he drop $0.50.Nothing more.

 I think the second version is quite too long though. Now I changed it to:" We Need To Experience More Pain To Relieve Pain".  I don't know what will happen. I rarely change the title of my articles after I publish them.


 Hello again, dearest readers and writers. Do you spend some time in formulating your titles? Or do you simply use what comes first to your mind? Do you know how important an engaging title is for your article? 


Thanks To My New Sponsors

Before I continue let me take this space to thank my new sponsors

From the bottom of my heart, thank you.


How Important Are Your Headlines?

Your headline or your article title is the gateway to your content. It's what will attract potential readers to your content, or it will be the one to push them away. In my experience, if don't put so much time and effort in making a better title, the article would surely become a failure. Like it will have less than 10 readers.  

 On the other hand, if I spend some time thinking of several variations of a title, that article will surely get a frequent visit from Rusty and other readers. I think this is apparent in my last three articles

The article: The Vaccine is Not a Guaranteed Protection Against Covid 19 is still receiving some tips from the bot, while the latter two do not.

How Much Time Should Spend in Formulating a Better Headline?

Lately, I give myself about twenty minutes in formulating my headline. With the help of Monster Insights Headline Analyzer, I will try several variations, until I am satisfied with the score.

 If my headline gets a low score, I will check the suggestions, edit the title and try again.

 Factors in Creating an Engaging Title.

These are the factors that affect the score of a headline

  • Character Count- if your headline is too short, it's going to get a low SEO score. Too long and the excess characters will be cut off and not displayed fully in the search results. As for human reactions, you are more likely to read an article with a descriptive title, right?

  • Word Count. Like the character count, the number of words in your title could affect its effectiveness. The suggested number of words is from six to nine.

  • Sentiment. Positive sentiment is said to be more attractive than a neutral or negative sentiment. Negative sentiment is more attractive than a neutral sentiment.

  • Headline Types. The most attractive headline is a How-To headline. Questions and lists are more attractive than general types.

Personal Tips:

These are some tips based on my experience and from what I learned from various sources.

  • Give your article a descriptive title. A descriptive title will give your readers what to expect from your article. It is more likely to attract readers to open your articles.

  • Make several variations and check its SEO score.

There are other headline analyzers aside from Monster Insights. You can do an Internet search and try them.

Final Thoughts.

Your article headline covers fifty percent of the success factor of your article. It is equally as important as your content. It's the factor that attracts the readers to open and read your articles. The effort you give in creating good content might become naught if you don't give it a good and engaging title.

Thus you must spend time writing a better headline for your article.

Then again, there are other factors that will make your articles attractive. As I mentioned, the title is the gateway or the doorway. If it is attractive, people will open that door and get in. However, what's inside will also affect if they will stay or leave immediately.a

Thanks for Reading

 Check out my other content at:

*All images used are screenshots from my computer

 

9
$ 8.05
$ 7.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @LucyStephanie
+ 2
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

Wow I have learned something nfrom your blog, yes we must also considered the headline coz it is also the bases of our thoughts , our content.thanks for sharing this awesome content.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are most welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I literally have no idea na may site pala na ganyan, ngayon ko palang na laman. Well, thanks for this kuya, I might as well try this hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yup. Meron pang ibang mga sites na tulad nito pero mas gusto ko ang monster insights

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whoa, you're a serious writer. Hehe. Didn't know there's a site like that. Useful tool indeed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe. Minsan seryoso, minsan tamad din. Hehe. Kung sa marketing kasi ang title ay parang front page ng brochure, di ba?. Alangan nmang mamimigay ka ng brochure na pangit ang frontpage? Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, true. Chineck ko ibang titles ko OK naman. Yung iba sablay haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Kung minsan nakakaaliw din mag isip ng magandang title.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow my friend, you raised a very useful topic, I am really grateful for every single point you said, I didn't know any of them. that was perfect... 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago