DAA - Fernando / Shammah

0 35
Avatar for Iwazaru
3 years ago

Fernando,

Ufff DAA, terrible implementation

Fernando,

https://read.cash/@Fernando/on-daa-implementation-algorithms-and-specifications-b739e631

Shammah,

[In reply to Fernando]

Why didn't you review it then?

Shammah,

You were being paid to participate

Shammah,

I guess you just rather post years later and bitch about it

Shammah,

Worthless

Fernando,

Oh yes? Where is the money?

Shammah,

bitPrim wasn't paying you to help?

Fernando,

I was Bitprim employee

Shammah,

I would think a node developer would be interested in what was going in, before it went in.

Fernando,

I was doing too many things

Shammah,

You're late to the party, and your criticism is trivial.

Shammah,

"too many things" I've heard this story before.

Shammah,

Lazy ass, I was working 80 hours a week or more.

Shammah,

Having an explicit algorithm for block selection is arguably better than letting the language details determine if you're getting a stable sort or not. What matters is staying in consensus, not ideological purity.

Fernando,

I am almost sure Bitprim negotiated with ABC to vote in favor of the current algorithm.

I will confirm this..

no one asked for my review. I only implemented it when everything was already decided

Shammah,

Negotiated with ABC to vote in favor of the current algorithm? What does that mean?

Shammah,

Are you implying there was some kind of quid pro quo to get a "vote?" Were things even being done by vote? What did BitPrim get in return? ABC had nothing to offer.

Fernando,

Exactly. In your article you put an image with a kind of vote. What did Bitprim get? I don't know, but I know we were the dictator's lapdog.

Shammah,

[In reply to Fernando]

Which image? And, so Amaury dictates what goes into Bitcoin Cash?

Fernando,

I think the first image

Fernando,

Screenshot

Shammah,

First image has no mention of vote

Shammah,

BitPrim and nChain tested the algorithm, which had already been tested in two different simulators, using real mining hardware and gave feedback.

Fernando,

Bitprim did not test anything...

Bitprim's conclusion was agreed by friendship.

Shammah,

[In reply to Fernando]

So you're saying that Bitprim, your employer, lied and you didn't say anything?

Shammah,

I seem to recall there being spreadsheets from both Bitprim and nChain on performance data. I could be wrong though. I didn't keep them given that the performance is very clearly public and matches both simulators.

Shammah,

[Forwarded from checksum0 | DigitalOwls]

Yeah, I agree with that statement. I disagreed with the statement saying "we cannot prevent all gaming".

Here's my worry here, as a solo miner: Gaming EDA was easy for everyone, gaming DAA was very hard and required ton of hashrate, thus only pools could do it. I'm worried the next iteration of an adjustement algo that could be gamed would make it so hard to game that only one organisation (poolin) could do it, thus pushing everyone else out of mining BCH.

Shammah,

Here is a miner talking about the complexity of the problem to him.

Shammah,

"gaming DAA was very hard and required ton of hashrate"

Fernando,

Bitpim and ABC lied. Yes, I think I made the complaint at the police station in my neighborhood, but it didn't help...

Shammah,

[In reply to Fernando]

What did ABC lie about?

Shammah,

https://www.bitcoinabc.org/2017-11-01-DAA/

We acknowledge that D601 (proposal from Amaury Sechet) may not necessarily have the highest performance, but since all 3 had similar performance, D601 was selected because it appears to have *the least risk*.

Emphasis mine.

Fernando,

Bitpim and ABC arranged behind the scenes, as usual. But you're right, they didn't lie..

Shammah,

[In reply to Fernando]

Arranged behind the scenes to do *what* exactly? And for *what* purpose?

Shammah,

Do you hear yourself? All this clandestine backroom deals so that Amaury can be stuck with the criticism for his DAA for all eternity?

Shammah,

Was the DAA going to put him on the map and make him famous?

Fernando,

To discard other implementations/people of the map

Fernando,

What happened with Kyupichan (or whatever) after DAA?

Shammah,

[In reply to Fernando]

You think this was my motivation?

Shammah,

[In reply to Fernando]

You tell me, you seem to know.

Shammah,

As far as I know, the next thing he did after that was help me get CashAddr implemented in Electron Cash (aside from his public complaints of unfairness about the DAA)

Fernando,

[In reply to Shammah]

Were you responsible for making the decisions on ABC?

Shammah,

[In reply to Fernando]

I was the one who signed off on the patch Amaury merged, and I also was the one reviewing both Tom's and Neil's proposals.

Shammah,

The feedback was given by me, but you'd understand that if you read my entire article. And what was the reason for not including *my* proposal?

Shammah,

[ Photo ]

Fernando,

We are talking about different things. ABC began a process of monopolization of BCH, perhaps it was planned, perhaps it was only gaining more enemies every day, inadvertently. I don't think you had anything to do with it.

Shammah,

[In reply to Fernando]

Mind reading, and failing to assume good intent. How does merging a particular DAA with known problems help monopolize things?

Fernando,

What were the known problems?

Shammah,

[In reply to Fernando]

The resonances at 144 block windows?

Fernando,

[In reply to Shammah]

Not accepting anything from teams other than ABC.

Shammah,

[In reply to Fernando]

That's easy to say when you define ABC as anyone who gets a patch accepted.

rob,

[In reply to Fernando]

hi im just an observer here but id really like it if you would address shay's question here:

rob,

[In reply to Shammah]

here

Fernando,

Again: "Not accepting anything from teams other than ABC."

Shammah,

And that helps how?

rob,

[In reply to Fernando]

if the solutions are ultimately merged into ABC anyway, how does that aid in monopolization?

Fernando,

Evidently it did not help. Many have drifted away from ABC and BCH.

Shammah,

[In reply to Fernando]

So it didn't help, but you think that ABC believed it would help, and therefor did it?

Shammah,

Reread my account more slowly, since you previously admitted YOU WEREN'T PAYING ATTENTION at the time.

Fernando,

I'm not sure. I do not know what to think. Perhaps it was planned or perhaps it was driven by some unsolved pathology

Fernando,

[In reply to Shammah]

No, I did not say that.

Bitprim was not 100% focused on BCH, we had many different projects. Back then I was not interacting with the community, but doing the work indoors. Guillermo was perhaps the one who interacted with ABC.

I found out about DAA late, when I had to review a PR with a horrible code, copied from ABC.

Shammah,

[In reply to Fernando]

So by your own admission you did not participate in the process, but instead give outward facing feedback 2.5 years later?

Shammah,

It's so easy to be you. I'm glad that Knuth has amazing code.

Fernando,

10 days late or 2.5 years late is the same

Fernando,

It is just late

Shammah,

[In reply to Fernando]

Absolutely right, and 2.5 years later you still haven't finished a better solution.

Fernando,

I have a decent implementation.

Shammah,

I see. Would you like me to review your code and post publicly about my findings?

Fernando,

Swapping for selecting? Come on

Shammah,

I didn't write the thing, and I'm not defending it. I do think it should be *well specified* which it wasn't because I fucked up the spec. It was later fixed, by me, also.

Fernando,

Great

Shammah,

The point being is that, it didn't get enough reviews -- not even from you who are now complaining. Two, that it worked, and it solved the problem at the time. Three, it was better than the other two proposals people are deifying.

Shammah,

Now you write an article 4 months ago, well after the thing was written, making accusations of bad intent.

Shammah,

Get a grip on yourself dude.

Shammah,

@fpelliccioni Weren't you working on some code for ABC involving excessive blocks?

Fernando,

Yes ma, sorry. I will write when you authorize me and I will control myself.

Shammah,

[In reply to Shammah]

@fpelliccioni is this true?

Fernando,

[In reply to Shammah]

No, other guys I think were on it. Which took 2 resources from us for some months. Money that the company lost.

Fernando,

Why?

Shammah,

What did you work on with ABC?

Fernando,

When?

Shammah,

At any point

Fernando,

Backporting

Shammah,

And so in this time you were mistreated?

Fernando,

Is something else done on ABC?

Shammah,

[In reply to Fernando]

What do you mean?

Fernando,

[In reply to Shammah]

Ma, is that you? Again?

Fernando,

Good night @micropresident

Shammah,

Goodnight mr Fernando

Shammah,

Please respond publicly to my article.

Shammah,

Read.cash being the preferable platform. I will even tip you $5

7
$ 0.00
Avatar for Iwazaru
3 years ago

Comments