Who moved my cheese?

23 73
Avatar for Infinity
2 years ago

October 18, 2021. No. 39

In life, when we settle in a place or with specific stability, it is very difficult for us to move from there. Is it logical no? Why move, if we have everything we already have with us. Well, you are in error. The moment you lose stability for any reason, if you are not prepared to face the change, your life will fall into an abyss.

The title of this article is the name of a wonderful book, by Spencer Johnson, which was published on September 8, 2009. It barely has 106 pages, but in them, you will see how to face change in both your private and professional life. A motivational book, which will make you learn how to face your life in a different way. A fictional parable, that will make you look a little beyond your nose.

It tells the story of 2 mice and 2 very small people. They lived together in a maze. Every day in the morning the 4 of them went out in search of cheese throughout the maze. The mice, with a small and not so complex brain, and the little people with a complex mind and full of emotions. One day they found a room in the maze with a good amount of cheese. Every day they went to the same room to enjoy the same cheese. Until one day, evidently, the cheese could not last forever and when we got to the room, the cheese was gone. That's when everything changed. Obviously, there was nothing to do there anymore, and the mice quickly understood and began searching for cheese throughout the maze again.

Instead, the little people were perplexed at the post. Waiting for the cheese to show up. So they would return to the same place every day, hoping that the result would be different. Obviously, it was not, in that room there was only emptiness. For days the same result, until one of them got tired and started searching the whole maze again. The other did not want to accompany her and waited day after day. Whoever started the movement, it was not easy to find new cheese. Days passed, and he kept moving through the maze, trying to find cheese again. He was gaining experience and even wrote on the walls of the labyrinth everything related to his new advances. Until one day, he found a room full of cheese, and there were the 2 mice, enjoying it.

This story leads us to an impressive moral. The labyrinth is life itself, through which we go every day. We face in it all the constant changes that living represents. Those who keep moving will achieve a better development in it. Examples to apply it, we have many.

Change partner

Sometimes we cling to relationships that are called toxic. We do not want to leave the relationship, for fear of loneliness. For fear of not finding anyone else and insecurity takes hold of you. That's when you start living in hell, and you cling to something meaningless because you don't want to move from that position, which for better or worse, you already have. If you feel that the relationship does not favor you at all, you can close that door and open another. Let life do the rest, go find another cheese.

Change job

This is one of the best known and difficult to deal with. When you have a previous dismissal you are forced to change jobs. The world is coming your way. You think you will not be able to find another job, you have not made an effort to learn how to live in the jungle. You have forgotten to be competitive and to learn the necessary tools for when this moment arrives. You have simply spent your life in the comfort zone and now a change does not make sense, since you do not know how to deal with it. Friend, move on, spend a little of your time looking at the market, studying your opportunities. You may discover that you are not the navel of the world and that there is so much more cheese out there. Thus, when the time comes, either by dismissal or by choice, you will be completely at ease in that new labyrinth.

Moving to a new city

Perhaps we have all been through this example. In my particular case, I had to face it very early in my life. It only remains to say that the fear of moving to a new home should not prevent you from doing so. Do not fear, think positive. Imagine your new life in another city, with new neighbors, and new friends to discover. Don't freeze, thinking that everything will go wrong. As long as you think positive, everything will be fine. Many even live their entire lives in the same place, fearing change. Don't let that happen to you. It evolves.

Think of the cheese as the goal to be reached and the labyrinth as life itself. Who does not advance and remains stagnant will not see the beauty of life itself. Applying this moral is essential in every moment of our lives. Do not allow fear to take hold of you, to immobilize you. When you understand that the faster you go out to find new cheese, the faster you will succeed, because the maze is long and difficult, but it is certainly not impossible to navigate.

Even in our field, in the crypto world, I am happy to know that many around here, no matter how new or experienced they are, are always trying to learn new methods of generating income. Looking for tokens, trading, even if it is very basic at times, but with a huge desire to learn. No road to success is easy. They will be able to say that I am wrong, that I am having a hard time doing it, but they will never be able to tell me not to try.

I read this book when I was just a 15-year-old teenager. From that moment something changed in my life. I am filled with strength and strategies to trace in my life. Little by little I forged my destiny through constant and hard work. I surround myself with good friends, with whom I had common goals. So advance in my personal growth, despite being in full adolescence. From that moment on, I lost my fear of change, and I always welcomed it if it came at some point. I adapted. Since then, I consider myself someone who adapts quickly to any situation, mixes and manages in a certain way, to succeed in what I propose. You will say: "Ugh, how self-sufficient is Infinity." Ahah, I am not telling you this for that purpose. I say this in a constructive way. I have also been afraid of change, but the difference is that I face it quickly, and with all the enthusiasm in the world.

I have told some of my friends about read.cash, noise.cash and even BitYard. It turns out that they already have their own projects, their own platforms, and they don't want to move towards them, for fear of change, of the unknown. I don't judge them, as this crypto world is complex on its own, but they just don't want to get out of their comfort zone. Some stay their lives regretting a platform in which they lost their income and thus do not advance or evolve towards possible horizons. They spend their entire lives in the same room, waiting for the cheese to magically appear again when we all know that it will never happen.

What will you do? Will you go out and find a new cheese or will you wait?

Is all for today. I hope that what you have just read transmits some teaching and that you gain experiences, surely more than one has had to go through this type of situation.

You can download the book in pdf through this link if you wish. I highly recommend it, you will not regret reading it. It is a reading that will definitely change their lives and the way they see the world.

Thanks for reading me. To my sponsors, thank you as always, for your unconditional support.

Credits

Related to the book "Who moved my cheese" by Spencer Johnson.

The image of the protagonists is taken from this link.

All other designs are made on Canvas.

YouTube video from MasteryinMotion channel.

16
$ 12.32
$ 11.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pichi28
$ 0.10 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 15
Sponsors of Infinity
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Infinity
2 years ago

Comments

This is so true. Change can be overwhelming, that's why a lot hate it. But, faith will change all that. Faith will change our perspective about things. It's okay to let go, make some choices and keep moving. Love this book.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is the key. Don't stagnate and stay on the move. If you stagnate you will stop improving yourself. That book is indeed a classic! Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The truth is that humans are afraid of change if everything is going well for them. Take for example the room of cheese in your story, will the mice and little people go out to look for cheese if the room is still full of cheese? They wouldn't, and that's also how most people are. As long as they keep getting benefits from something, they won't see the need for a change

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is true that it is a detail to take into account. They weren't going to look for new goals, but when the time to go after them came, the mice didn't think twice. Although you are absolutely right. Good observation my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my case, i will do the both i can wait and also I will try to find my cheese from another city. Patience is also key and I hope you heard that fruit of patience is very sweet. I learnt a great lesson from this that, we should always keep moving on. I will try to read that book if I get some time. Thank you for the recommendation and story was amazing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is how it should be. Staying where you can as long as you can but moving to explore other options. So you are not outdated. Good luck!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hola Infinity! I read the book as well as recommended by one of my project managers in my former team. He used it as an ecouragement for us to see changes as opportunities rather than enemy. I think I needed this reminder and sort of areas to look into - career wise. Lols.. I only need to battle with one more aside from fear : lazinesss. Sometimes, too much comfort deprives us of greater blessings, yeah?

Thank you for sharing!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That good friend! You are the only one who has commented that he had already read the book. I'm glad that he brings back memories and that you can take up some of his advice. This is something that we always have to keep in mind. Thank you very much my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a great article for realization my friend. You were right, sometimes we make our life miserable because we keep on staying in one stage, we we're afraid to move forward because we think that we won't find a better one and we're afraid of being alone.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm so glad you liked it. The objective was that, that you know that the world exists and to be left without exploring its possibilities is a waste. Always keep moving. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first i thought it will be some lessons on how to play chess though cheese was written in the title. I didn't read it well. You're right, we need to leave our comfort zone in order to achieve certain things in life. Staying in one place will only lead to stagnacy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahah, so chess right? Ahah. I should do an article on chess some day. That's how it is my friend, whoever does not move in search of a better future or exploring new scenarios, does very little in life. Thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article is so related to me. I changed partners (not many times), I changed jobs and I moved cities even to another country. I was never so long in a comfort zone. I always tried to seek better opportunities and find out what's the best for me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, good friend. We all go through several couples ahah (not everyone finds the love of their life the first time :() but even changing countries is already a huge step. I congratulate you for so much determination. Indeed, we must always improve and seek new opportunities. Thank you !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This book is one of the best books that anyone should read, I totally agree with you about who don't want to get out their comfort zone...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the story and the examples you have given, indeed those who doesn't like changes will be stagnant so we should embrace changes as the world continuesly evolving, just like crypto world. Like you I posted way back on my Facebook how to earn at read and noise but they never had any interest, they don't think it's an opportunity to get in with the evolving technology.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Some people are lazy by nature, but not only that, it is worse when it comes to looking for new opportunities and even more so when you tell them that it is real. But they still don't believe it. I suppose they have been through so much that it is hard for them to believe in these issues.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love books like these, they just change lives one book at a time... there is a quote that changed my life too, it is from a novel and it says "If you want to win the game, you have to be the master of the game" .. since then, I try harder to learn and read a lot of random things in life... good post

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Excellent. I loved the phrase. Download the book. Trust me, it's worth the read. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a good book to read. You did a good inspirational story this time. I've been through those mazes many times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The important thing is to move in the maze. If we don't move, we fall behind in life. Don't be afraid of the unknown. Try to always look for the positive part and move forward. Cheese doesn't taste the same everywhere, but it's still cheese. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is as you say. In my somewhat long life already, thank God I went through many labyrinths and ate many types of cheese. Now I write about my experiences in the labyrinths where I have been. I was always daring in my life. My parents used to tell me why I didn't stand still with what I already had. And they didn't understand my reasons. Now they are other labyrinths because my boldness does not end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago