Buzz Lightyear - A trip to the future

15 334
Avatar for Infinity
1 year ago

Oct 5, 2022

The Buzz Lightyear character that appeared in Toy Story (1995) was a toy inspired by the hero of a science fiction movie that the child protagonist, Andy, had seen. What Angus MacLane now offers us is precisely that film. A radiant, light, pleasant adventure is full of nods to the space opera subgenre.

Beware of expectations, because in this case, Pixar does not seek to surprise or steal our hearts, but rather to recreate that type of classic adventure in which epics, spectacular settings, and a sense of humor used to come together.

Where do we start? In addition to an endearing handful of characters, Lightyear brings together all that repertoire that has fascinated us since the days of Flash Gordon: alien insects, star chases, a hostile planet, carnivorous plants, relentless robots, and time travel.

The protagonist is a stubborn astronaut like himself, who keeps going, always going, until a mistake forces him to change his perspective.

Considering which narrative framework you want to move, the truth is that Lightyear gives a lot of joy. It is no secret that Pixar has great writers, and in this case, without having to invent gunpowder, it is clear that they know how to give a good finish to the story.

Visually, the film has a retro aesthetic, with echoes of Star Trek, Lost in Space, and Forbidden Planet. This adds a layer of nostalgia to the film, consistent with that phrase Buzz repeats every time he faces danger: "To infinity and beyond!"

Among the supporting cast, I think audiences will especially remember robot cat Sox (voiced by Peter Sohn) and plucky Izzy Hawthorne (Keke Palmer). As for Lightyear (Chris Evans) himself, he exhibits here as much bravery and arrogance as he does kindness and gentleness.

The nuance that the film brings may seem simple, but it is relevant: in a cinematographic landscape dominated by franchises (and this one is), it is still possible to look back and learn from the classics. In this case, Lightyear is presented as an old-style family show, very dignified and impeccably executed.

Synopsis

The film tells the origin story of Buzz Lightyear, the hero who inspired the toy, and introduces us to the legendary Space Ranger who would end up with generations of fans.

"The world of Buzz has always fascinated me," said director Angus MacLane. β€œIn Toy Story, the history of this Space Ranger was barely glimpsed and I always wanted to explore that world further.” 'What movie did Andy see to want a Buzz Lightyear toy?'This is the question I asked when presenting the project of Lightyear and I wanted to see that movie. And I've been lucky enough to make it happen."

Chris Evans lends his voice to Buzz in the original version of the film along with Keke Palmer, Dale Soules, and Taika Waititi who make up a group of excellent recruits. Peter Sohn is the voice of Sox, Buzz's robot sidekick and the cast also features the voices of Uzo Aduba, James Brolin, Mary McDonald-Lewis, Efren Ramirez, and Isiah Whitlock Jr.

Have you already watched the movie?

See you tomorrow.

Follow me in:

Publish0x, Noise App, Twitter

12
$ 2.14
$ 1.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Erickchristianmontajes
$ 0.06 from @Unity
+ 9
Sponsors of Infinity
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Infinity
1 year ago

Comments

To infinity and beyond those words are part of my childhood memories . I had buzz light year robot when I am 7 years old until now I had it in my toy cabinet. I am so glad pixar created the story about buzz. I haven't watched it yet and thank you for this article now I am excited to watch it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nice! πŸ˜ƒ I wish I could have that toy. Here in my country I couldn't buy one, don't exist :(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't watched this yet but I do remember how fun watching the first Toy Story was.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Toy story has 4 movies. The last one was release a few years ago.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Can't say I haven't watched some parts of toy story but fir some reason, I do not seem to remember it clearly. It was nice to have watched it as a kid though.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You can download and see it now, you won't regret for sure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Loved Toy Story as a kid :P

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I've seen all the parts, I've been a fan of that movie since I was a child. I saw it dozens of times and I knew it by heart. Recently the 4th and final part came out. Cry like a child.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love how sox was a blessing in disguise to him solving the missing piece to achieve the perfect formula to achieve hyperloop

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed. And to think that in many countries they did not show the movie because it has 1 second that is a kiss between the two women. 1 Second defined a complete movie so that it would not be published in theaters. Amazing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You mean those countries are sensitive to that kind of matter I guess, well lets just respects their culture and belief, we cant do nothing about that .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

OMG! Your a fan of toy story lol. I'm not watching this one and you enjoy a lot.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm really a big fan of Toy Story. I love each one of these films.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was once a fan of Toy Story.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm still a fan of Toy Story :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago