If you were President, what would you change?

1 22
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago
Unsplash image

Few days ago I wrote an article on what I would improve if I were the president of my country for just a day. Although the article I wrote wasn't shared here, there were a few shortcomings to the topic which I of course addressed in the post I wrote.

One of which was that being a president for just one single day wasn't really enough to make a reasonable change. Then the fact that so there were just so many economic problems facing the nation that one day couldn't fix, so I had to list a few of them and then pick one ( I actually talked about feeding, which I believe is a big problem for majority of the population).

So someone who read the article apparently decided to write their own article but instead write about what they would do if they were the President of their country. This topic I believe covers more range and I can equally expand on the problems I would love to solve.

This article is hence directed at what I would do if I were the President of my country.

Many of the problems I highlighted which included food, education, security, electricity supply, healthcare and good roads are peculiar to my country so I wouldn't know what citizens in other countries would be desperately in need of. All of what I highlighted are just the basic needs of citizens for at least an attempt at stable life. There are still problems of complex nature's like the gross disparity in the percentage of women who are in political positions, funding for grassroots sports development and the likes.

Unsplash image

Presently I believe most of the issues we have with security is very much tied to the poverty level in the country hence food and security go hand in hand, hence to solve the issue of food and level of unemployment is going to greatly reduce the level of criminal activities that is currently plaguing the nation.

This can be done by investing largely in our agricultural sector, and a happy population means less tendency to commit crimes.

Also there has been a great disconnect between the youths of this generation and education. Numerous and countless strikes have made many of our bright minds to begin to find ways to other nations. We have one of the smartest young population in my opinion, but there are no enabling environment and opportunities to nurture this bright minds. This I believe is why you see many young individuals turning to scams to make better living.

Unsplash image

If all was well, our public officials would see the need for constant medical checkups in foreign nations. Providing better healthcare is actually a basic right of the citizens, and I believe in a future where the ordinary citizen doesn't loose their life over some of the most silly sicknesses that could have been avoided if there was provision for state of the art facilities. This will greatly reduce the amount we're wasting developing the economy of other nations instead of ours.

There's literally quite a lot that needs to change, but if most of the basic needs I highlighted are met, I think I would've served my country in a very great way. What would you like to see change if you were President of your country?

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of HazMatQdEe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago

Comments

To answer that straightforwardly, I would foster unity among my people and make them see themselves not through the lens of the tribe but by seeing themselves as humans first.

$ 0.00
1 year ago