The History of Money

0 20
Avatar for HattyHats
2 years ago

I know you might be wondering why I am posting this to Crypto sites, but I believe that anyone who wants to get into a new form of payment should understand the past payments used. There is a lot of history to go over so I am going to shorten it up as much as I can. I think that if you have a better understanding of how money has changed over time you will be more inclined to dive deeper into the Crypto world!

The history of money predates humans records. We have an idea but we do not know an exact time.

Any story stating they know when money actually was created then they are not getting their information from a trusted source. The history of money that we know of starts around here.....

Bartering

This seems to be a universal form of payment, not only used by humans but also a lot of animals and who knows maybe ET's. We can only hope. They do say that the government trades humans for technology so I guess that could be considered a form of bartering.

The beginning of money that is recorded in written history is bartering.

Bartering - To change or accept a commodity for payment. So if you were to come up to me and want to buy my iPhone 7, instead of asking you to pay with cash, I could ask you to trade something of less, equal, or greater value. Back in the day though this was the only form of payment. So back then a trade that would be more likely would be something like a chicken egg for some cow milk. Something along those lines. I am not sure but I would guess that would be something that would happen.

Livestock

The next form of payment that came around was the trade of cattle which sounds a little crazy to me. I would think as a growing and evolving race we would pick something a little more indestructible but I guess it was still a long time ago and I think I am thinking we were more sophisticated than we actually were. I think this dates back around 6000 B.C.! Crazy time to be alive. I bet it was pretty hard back in those days. I am sure they used other forms of payment but I guess cattle were the main form of payment.

I am going to be skipping over a lot of years at a time only because I want to get the major parts of the history of money and I want to be able to kind of explain without you having to sit at your computer or on your phone reading forever. If you would prefer the long drawn out boring version please let me know in the comments and I will do my best to add in some more information.

Leather Money

I think this is interesting because it is one of the original if not the original form of paper money. This was around 118B.C. and was in China!

PaperMoney

Paper money first was introduced in China in 806 A.D.

This is a picture of the worlds very first form of paper money.

GOLD

It was not until 1816 when gold was first introduced as a form of currency. This first started in England. This was when The IOUs they were using (Paper Money) was actually being able to link to gold. Paper money was used long before this but was never tied to anything. Now your Pieces of paper actually have "value".

Gold Ends

The gold standard ended around the 1930s during the Great Depression that was happening.

In the united states, Gold was revised and the price decreased. Slowly gold is being taken out.

Gold is an asset not a form of payment.

Present Day

Gold is used today as a form of value that can be traded for present-day money. Money has evolved over the years. I skipped over some info that I thought did not need to be added, but if you would like to know more search the history of money in Google, or you can check out this site!

Electronic money is being used more and more in present times. I think that Crypto is never going to go away. I think it is the next step in the evolutionary chain of money. We have a long way to go but one day Bitcoin will be the new gold and Litecoin will be the new silver.

Open your eyes.

Paper money has just as much value as digital money. As our species evolves ( which can only be done by coexisting with computers and using them to enhance our species) and sees the value in 1's and 0's we will see how much Crypto really is worth. The Sky is the limit!

Lead image by This Place

1
$ 0.74
$ 0.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of HattyHats
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HattyHats
2 years ago

Comments