Which gender should be older?

44 66
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Age is just a number is a common catchphrase we all use but not in actual practice. Things are not as they used to be years ago. The way relationships are taken years back is not the way it is. In ancient Africa, the lady is chosen for the guy by the parent. In fact, I’ve heard of some cultures where the lady will be kidnapped and taken to a guys house, who will then become her husband. This culture has long been abolished because of the various things most ladies are exposed to.

The impact of parents on the choice of a partner has been reduced to the barest minimum. They only advise the kids when it’s time to choose a partner. Though some parents still do. Since we all have the liberty to choose whosoever we want, we tend to be careful when picking. Afraid of making the wrong choice which might lead to having an everlasting scar.

The big questions I’ve been asking and also waiting for a day when it will become a norm in society.

- What is the ideal age gap when dating?

- Which gender should be older?

What is the Ideal age gap when dating?

The word “Ideal” itself has a different meaning to different people. Some will say it means “ it is the perfect or right thing to do” while others will say “It is the next to perfect thing to do”. To put it straight the word ideal is Subjective. What you take as the standard might not be standard to others. Everyone has their opinion.

That being said, I won’t say there’s is an ideal age gap, instead, I will personalize it. I feel an age gap of 7 maximum is okay for me. I can be the older one or she can be. 3 years ,4 years is okay or even age mates.

Age shouldn’t be an obstacle when it comes to matters of the heart. You should marry someone far older than you that will give you peace of mind than to marry an age mate that will turn your life upside down.

Which gender should be older?

This has been an age-long debate. It’s surprising to know that even the ladies (most) prefer dating someone older than them. It’s an unwritten rule, I don’t think there is a school where people are taught this. Likewise, most guys, prefer going for ladies younger than them. I once asked a friend why and he is “Don’t you know ladies age more quickly than guys?. If you marry an older lady, feel years down the lane she’ll be looking like your mother”

The belief that the guy must be the other one has made so many people reject the advances of so many guys. Some say, even if they’ve started dating a guy and they get to know that he is younger after some time, it’s a big turn off for them.

I can understand the reason why most ladies don’t like this, no one wants to date a baby or be a mother to a grown-up. They want guys that know what they want and have a direction. However, maturity, being responsible, having a sense of direction or knowing what one wants doesn’t work with age. A man that is 30 years old might not have all these attributes mentioned as much as a younger guy. Maturity isn’t by age.

Earlier today I asked on noisecash and got a mixed reaction. Though I still got some positive answers and even people in such relationships gave examples. You can check out the post and replies here

Screenshot from my noisecash page

On a final note, I’m not against the Lady being the older one in a relationship. In fact, I love older ladies to younger ladies.

Thanks for Reading!🥰💚🤗

Dear readers what do you have to say?. What do you think the ideal Age gap should be? Also as a lady can you date someone you're older than?. The guys- can you date/marry a lady older than you?. Let me know in the comment section.

27
$ 7.74
$ 7.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 18
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

I think as you say ideal is different for everyone. In the end it's your life and your partner and as long as you both feel comfortable with it...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes of cause I can date a woman that’s older than me though the age gap shouldn’t be much. Personally I can date a woman older than me with maximum age of 5/6 years because it’s also depends on the time I want to get married maybe I’m at 30-year do you think I can date a woman of 36 years. Base on my thought the age gaps depends on Time and age of the two gender

$ 0.02
2 years ago

For me, age has never been an impediment. Despite never having experienced being with someone significantly older or younger than me, I have seen cases. When you have love, age doesn't matter.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have chosen a very interesting topic, my dear friend, I am one year older than my husband, while we are both very satisfied with this issue and we have no problem with that, I think everything goes back to the ideals of both parties. It is important to be on the same path, to have the same opinion, and to complement each other...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

For me, I will support that the guy is older than the lady, I like it when I am older than the lady with just 3 to 5 years, ladies age quickly and their body might not charge up when the guy need it when they are getting old🙈🙈

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmmm, that's another angle

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kidnap ke😂 Omo things has changed o Its just preference basically some guys don't mind marrying a woman older, it just depends, although some people might be like its sugar mummy and stuffs.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It happens o😂. The worst part is, after having sex with the lady, if she isn't a lady she will be sent back to her parent's house

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How will it look like for me dating a guy younger than I? Lol

I believe dating a guy older than you as a lady is still better than the other way round. Though saying maturity isn't by age can be accepted but I can't date someone younger than me🧐

$ 0.02
2 years ago

To some extent, age doesn't matter but it counts in some cases, it all depends on the people involved. As a guy, I prefer going for agemate(say same age or older than her with 1 or 2years), because most of these younger ones are too concerned about socials and fancy living. Just like you said, the elderly ones are more reasonable(still depends on the individual but mostly). I've seen notable People where the wife is older, living well with bunch of love and no significant difference in physical maturity

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Probably has something to do with our biology. Women tend to get more attracted to guys older than them, and a very large number of women get attracted to guys who are like 10 years older than them. Due to their experience perhaps compared to those who are way younger... Perhaps. Women falling in love with younger guys happens but isn't that common. But really... Age isn't a factor to me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think it's better if we put a guy a way older than a woman. Its like you got a boyfriend and a brother and which that man could understand you more. But here in my place it is also okay when a girl is older than the boy, it's up to them both how they understand each other. But foe !e i prefer a boy should be older.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Here in Pakistan we are also bound. Mostly, parents don't allow offspring to find partner on their behalf. Girls are bound to their houses. Actually, this is good thing according to me. Because, ladies should remain in lashes. Islam allow women to chose partner of their interest. But she can't find it lonely. Parents look for a boy than asked from girl whether she likes him or not than marriage fixed.

Here custom is that male should be older than a women. One of my friend she was 23 and her husband was 27. So this age gap. But not necessarily at all. Both should be comfortable with eachother.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well what matters most is understanding, just like you say, the majority of ladies lobe going off guys who are older than them while the guys love going for ladies younger than them. That has been the believe of many people till date.

But love is beyond age, there's are some cases where a guy will fall in love with ladies who are older than them, likewise ladies too, and by that time you'll not even think about age, since you're getting the things you should have to build a strong relationship, then you're good to go..if you think about age, you might end up being with wrong person, the important thing is being with someone who always ready by stand by you and will understand you .

Like me , I don't care about age, as far as I'm getting staying fine with the person, forget about the remaining one, we are good to go.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're absolutely right Maryjacy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me, I always prefer dating a guy 2 or 3 years older than me and I'm not into guys younger than me or even the same age as me haha because I feel like I'm too old for him even though we're just at the same age lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Personally, I'd date someone older than me. I have heard that boys mature later than girls do. Anyway, as you said maturity does not always relate to age, so in the end, age does not matter.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am 6 years older than my partner. But age isn't a hindrance for us to love each other. What's important to us is we get along and we have mutual feelings to each other. I also personally believe that when love strikes , it knows no age and no boundaries.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If I were to give my personal opinion, I would say that age does not really matter. When people get along, then a relationship develops between them. Age is not a fact here. But yes, the two of them here are older than me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Im a firm believer that age doesn't not matter in relationship. Just like height, weight, complexion, tribe, etc. To me, Only a narrow-minded person will consider all these in a relationship. If you really love the person, then none of these would matter to you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well for me, all my life I've always been attracted to either older ladies or my mates. And the funny thing is that they don't know I'm younger until after a long while because of the way I relate with them. For me, I think it's my destiny to marry either an older lady or my age mate

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I prefer dating those ladies older than me for too many personal reasons known to me alone

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I prefer guys that is older than me, 5 to 9 years age gap is okay. Although I've dated younger guys before. But i think, age should not matter at all. I mean there are younger guys but very matured in terns of way of thinking and there are older guys that act like a child.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I prefer younger women, I can't be dating my elder sister or mum 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah! that's rude😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer guys that are very much older than me. Let's say twelve years difference I just like it that way It's not like younger ones don't have sense but I want someone that will talk to me and I'll listen cos I be goat😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah! 12 years no too much?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer older guys, I think most ladies love this because older guys have some sort if stability and reassurance

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Some young guys can have that too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have seen a couple who got married first because they fell in love. The woman is older than the man but yet she is submissive. They work at the same place. While the wife lectures, the husband is an admin staff yet their marriage is a typical example of what marriages of today ought to be. Society has lost credence and respect for the marriage institution. Unless love rule, age factor may still hold waters in determining what becomes of a marriage

$ 0.03
2 years ago

God bless you sir for this contribution. It's so painful to see what our society is turning into.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the way it is going now I prefer to date older women because they are more matured and they know what they want but when it’s time for marriage I gats calm down check wella

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wait! why are you dating if you have no intention of marriage?😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer older guy than me, 5 yrs is enough gap.. I don't want to be the older one, people might think I am his aunt 😂 but my man right now is older than me for 2 yrs only haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aunt!😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nooooooo! 😈😈😈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's ideal for the guy to date a girl younger than her since he is the head of the family, if they were to be age mates,they wouldn't respect theirselves and there would always be quarrel.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Anyone is okay for me but she must not be older than me with 4 and above Sha. It's love we're talking about here na 😂😂 anything can happen. But that doesn't mean I should be in a relationship with someone that's age mate with my mum 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You don't want a sugar mummy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think love is all that matters no matter the age gap... As long as you have a lot of chemistry,,, age is barely worth considering...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think 5 years gap is ok. No matter which gender but I prefer that one. Wow, mate! You are social thinker too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well for me it doesn't matter if he's older than me. I mean love doesn't measure through that. If my heart beats for him then that's it, age is just a number. But in my case, we're on the same age. heheh

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There was a couple in my grandmother's village. The wife was a teacher at school and taught her husband, and she was 15 years older than she was! They had 5 children, and they were adults of course.No one judged them. In my opinion, 4-5 years, older or younger, does not mean anything. Another example: my aunt is 6 years older than my uncle. They've been living together for over 30 years. "All ages are in love, but not always true hearts.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly!

$ 0.00
2 years ago