Quick sketches

Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

For today, due to a lack of ideas, I'd like to show how I usually sketch hair.

Sketching hair requires a lot of attention towards the texture of the strands, the direction of your strokes and at the same time, the lighting. I think mastering how to draw hair is one of the best ways to improve shading and understanding how lighting works. Plus it's easier to draw since it has fewer elements than the typical frontal portrait

I'm at the point where i just pen things down right away. So here, you can see for the outlines, the braids themselves are in a teardrop shape plus there's this curved zigzag that should be followed in braids

I'd like to indicate that the lighting here is pointed at the back, thus the way I shaded it. Protruding parts of the braid will, of course, get more light so there would be little need to shade those parts

Then I made another sketch for colored hair. For colored hair, I usually go for 2 to 5 different colors, depending on the hair shade, texture, the light and if it has color then highlights, I guess? If they have. I did this with pink. That's the base color but as seen, the supposedly shaded parts aren't that noticeable, thus why I needed to add another shade of color that complimented it

The purple adds in more details too, making the hair look more realistic. More colors actually make objects look closer to the real item when blended properly

That's it for today. My motivation to draw people again is kind of hiding from me right now so please don't mind the quick sketches

Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty

17
$ 0.10
$ 0.06 from @Telesfor
$ 0.01 from @heartbeat1515
$ 0.01 from @Baij
+ 2
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

You're so good. I love this. I haven't tried using pen as medium, maybe I should practice it sometimes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh thank you ^^ but trying it with a pen is like trying it with charcoal. Pen just doesn't smudge as much as charcoal so it's neater and more pleasing to me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see! It's good for scribbling and other similar art styles. I would definitely give it a try!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Go with your style, it's already good. But then again... it would change when you use different mediums toi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There you go again. See, you can do it. A bit spelling needs to be corrected but this is good. I can follow through the tutorial.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wouldn't call it a tutorial? More of giving tips, i guesd? I'm not that good with tutoring XD and i think? I fixed the typos already?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. Tips work for the community. It will still help others to draw. I tried drawing but I failed. Need a little bit more practices I guess.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope so, it would be nice if people learned from what i like doing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That will be the reason to motivate yourself to continue writing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe not writing but giving out tips for sketching? Because i write about the most random things

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As long as you are happy and comfortable, anything will do, I think.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So you are also an artist, may be u can channel like da Vinci 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What, nooo. Da vinci is like a God to me ❀ i can just be that someone that has good brain functionality

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We all have Good brain functionality but maybe we just have to discover it. Your drawing are wonderful. Channel some of it into drawing futurist art that you imagine in your mind.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My futuristic ideas are way too shiny and filled with AIs and androids. It doesn't much how i draw XD my style is too dark

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just sketch them, have you not see the sketches of da Vinci before..well if you are on Twitter maybe you can chat me there, my twitter handle is on my profile

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've seen the blueprints and they are amazing. Great innovation for his time, i swear. I don't use Twitter much though πŸ˜… i just use it to look at gundam customs

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. You're talented. I wish I have that kind of talent too πŸ˜…What other subjects do you like to sketch aside from this?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm... plants? A lot of portraits? I change mediums when i sketch landscapes since doing landscapes with pens take me hours

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How long did it take you to finish this sketch hair?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For these two.. thirty minutes or so? I didn't time them but I'm sure i didn't go over an hour

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. Have you tried selling your portraits? πŸ˜πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I take it you've seen my other sketches? I did back in highschool. Just secretly though, i had too many foods i wanted to eat

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is lovely I really love drawing but I'm not so good 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well you can always learn from the internet

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really ?? I think I wilk give it a try

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, that's how i learned ^^ plus a few artist groups in my local community

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's great I'll share my sketches and then wat I do best which is music.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh! You should, I'd love to see those

$ 0.00
3 years ago