Our time at the pier

3 20
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

For a change of mood and maybe a change of mood in how I would approach the image.

Wrote on MS word and did not edit, again, except for some typos.

Start!

Piers were something I could count as places that held many secrets. From the whines of teens and drunks to the sobs and hopelessness of people who were close to giving up on life and were willing to offer themselves to the waters that surrounded the piers. I had only been to the pier once, As a child and I remembered so many people filling the place. It ranged from couples to people who simply wanted to be alone. Now I wondered though. For what purpose did they go there? For the peace? For an escape? Maybe just to gaze at the waters and hope that it swallowed them whole? As for me? I return here now to watch. Maybe to listen to the many stories passersby have to offer if I get lucky. To see the couples hand in hand. To simply enjoy what stories this pier has to offer. Maybe one day I'll return here with my beloved in tow, as the numerous couples do. Or maybe I'll return here on a rainy night, bottle in my hand and the willingness to jump of the pier's edges as many have done before. But for now, I just sit and observe how these people go about their day.

For now, I'll think about what other stories this place holds for many people and hopefully I could share that with someone over a warm cup of coffee.

9
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I never saw a drunk at the only Pier our country has. I think it's not the place to be for a drunk. Partly way to windy plus since it's renovated there are expensive shops and restaurants. Drunks are not allowed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The piers there must look nice, here it's just by the city's coastal area so a variety of people are there. Though I've only been there twice really ,but there's still people who drink there

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We have one. It is on Scheveningen beach. Scheveningen was once a fishery village plus they build a huge "house" the Kurhaus. It's where our main beach is, expensive restaurants, there's Sealife, an expensive mall plus it's a part of the city of The Hague by now. The city expanded, swallowed the city. It's the exclusive outgoing center by now. The drunks you find in the Hague our government city. Train station, etc.

$ 0.00
3 years ago