I dislike pastel colors pt. 1

38 169
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

I was positive I could resist drawing something for a few days but my sisters drawing in front of me was the biggest temptation of my day. So I took an hour off from my paper to teach her pastels while I tried to make something with it despite how much I dislike this medium so much

Time start: 10:32 pm

Time End: 11:33pm

The thing with working with this medium is that it works the opposite from most mediums wgere you start with light colors. Here, you'll have to start with the darkest shade then work from there until you get to either gray, white or whatever is the lightest shade on your image

Like with here. I started off with black, then blue, then I blended the colors with gray. The ideal coloring style here is that it should be colored in solidly, no gaps because that would show the unblended part of your picture.

Here I purposely left in some gaps because those would be spots where I'll be blending in the colors. The rest is solidly colored in, as seen.

I mostly used gray to blend in the colors, and also to show a sort of soft glow around the light bulbs. I also colored in some stray bulbs off in the distance so that I wouldn't actually color those in too.

So after an hour, this was the most I managed. Working with pastel is faster, sure but I really hate how messy this medium is on both my hands and on the paper. Stay tuned to see if I'll finish this tomorrow πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ (of course I will. My mild OCD won't let me off if I don't) anyways, that's all from me for tonight. It is 15 minutes to midnight and I am sure someone will be mad because I'm still awake

12
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

Adding a little style is really the fun part of it all for me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah but i haven't figured out how to work with pastels that efficiently and with better control

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's okay. I think constant practice and determination to learn that will help you a lot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't enjoy my practice with pastels because of how messy it gets

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Loving what you do makes everything thing you go through to get your masterpiece worth it. Just try loving what you do and accept the struggles you have to go through to achieve what you want

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I fancy the less messier mediums or the wet mediums though. Pastels are sort of a last resort for me, honestly πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay if you say so. I just wish you the best in your Arts experience

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice drawing 😍 I always loved to draw too. But I don't have items to use

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just make do with anything i find at home. Didn't know my sisters had pastels though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll wait for the finish artwork of yours hehw

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hope I can finish it soon though. It's distracting me πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha I know you can

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know you can hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you slept well and your sister is happy with your help and attention. Did you wash your hands?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder about my sister but my hands though... it looked like i touched my dark soul after πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nothing wrong with the hands of an artist or someone who works. πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is nice. I'll be waiting for the finished result. 😊 I do pastel arts too, but I used baby oil to blend them. I can't blend it properly without it. Maybe because I'm using the wrong type of paper? I'm not really sure. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's not about the paper? But maybe you just haven't tried this style yet? I tried it with baby oil before but the color comes off for some reason so i stopped using oil and just blended with the pastel itself

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm πŸ€”πŸ€” I see. Maybe I'll try this style if I have I feel like using pastels. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I honestly just use pastels when I'm in a rush, else i avoid it like the plague

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wanna see you draw :<

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I shared some of it here. I hope you can check them. And maybe give me some tips too. πŸ˜…πŸ˜Š

https://read.cash/@Gwenie/detective-conan-99d2d97b https://read.cash/@Gwenie/my-arts-2-41fe0c93 https://read.cash/@Gwenie/my-arts-e3162a0b

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Too bad i don't have color pencils anymore, else i could do that the next time. Maybe I'll check if my sisters have

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its really nice I can't wait to see it completedπŸ˜€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hopefully later i can finish it up. I'm still trying to squeeze out all the energy my brain has for my papers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good luck with that too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think I can guess who is that will be mad. I thought it was only makeup that needs to colour blending but it seems that what the other says is true. 'Makeup is also artistic' Your drawing shows me that.

I always have a problem with colour pencils. It is hard to blend in the colour. I do not know how to blend them smoothly.

I do not like the messy either but I like the result of it. The only mess that can create beauty is art.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Shhh those pastels are mine now. My sister doesn't even use them so i may have used up all the black and white sticks

Umm... I'm still looking for color pencils here so maybe when i can find those then I'll try making something. If anything, i think color pencils would have been easier to use for this drawing but i make do with what i have

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜†πŸ˜† I won't be able to tell your sister.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nooo that would be bad, i won't have a slave any more :"( i can't live without one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What do you mean by slave?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Someone i can order around or ask to do stuff for me when I'm busy or lazy. That's what my sister does for me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Sounds like my little sister too a long time ago.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So you had a slave too πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Once.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

OnO feels like i struck a wrong chord- i hug you virtually

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ she is still around taking care of our parents. I move out after I got married.

$ 0.00
3 years ago