Back to edgy, back to pens

13 38
Avatar for Hanzell
1 year ago

Goodness, I missed being here! And I missed reading and writing, but hibernating and catching up on rest has been my biggest priority these days. Now I feel fully rested (and somewhat hungry), but definitely alive!

just a quick update on my life: Last week I resigned from my job at the laboratory because I was used as collateral damage to appease one big client. It's sad, yes, because my team and company didn't bother to defend me. It might be for the better, but I'll never know unless I try applying somewhere else.

And on that note, I have been applying again, but I gave up on Quality Assurance and I've been dying to try going into Research and Development/ Product formulation, etc. Anything aside from quality assurance because that area in chemistry is one of my major stressors in life. As of writing this, I've already emailed 5 companies all within my city. I'm just waiting for an email from this one company. Hopefully they take me because it's just 20 minutes away from my house ;;w;;

The other companies are pretty close too since none of the travel time to those places exceed 1 hour of travel time, and that's honestly a luxury to me already.


Going back to the main topic. I've been making time for drawing since the last week of May. I think that was the time I kind of stopped writing for a bit, because that was the time I consistently had to do overtime. Like every single day, I had to go home at 8 because I was given longer analysis to do. That was also the time that I decided that I needed to destress again through art because my depression was acting up again. That's why I bought a small journal and a few pens to start things off.

I was pretty happy with the thickness of the pad and I thought the paper would hold out with pens. I was pretty wrong about that though, because apparently, 180 gsm paper isn't strong enough to handle my hands.

My first drawing is "the very image of edgy" as my sister said. And I kind of agree with her on that one.

Just for reference, edgy here refers to daring, provocative and trend-setting. It's that fine line between acceptable and full on vulgar. And idk but my drawing style has always been like this. And I think it's getting more defined with the amount of stress I handle these days.

This one, I called blind obedience. And I made it around the time the election results came out. I was extremely stressed during that time. I was just happy I could use red again, because it's my favorite color when it comes to drawing XD

Next piece was also red. But this one had a cool feel to it for some reason. And again, I just really wanted to draw with red because it was so fitting with my mood. Rage. Frustration (in multiple aspects XD). I told myself that I'd take a break from red after that one though because I needed to try out the other pens too.

This one, I made during 1 week of rain. When I think of the rain, I can only think of blue and grays. I wanted to try out my blue ink with this one but it just didn't fit that strong, independent woman vibes to it. Also, for one week, I was hung up on a song called "tomboy" so I really had to do something about this vibes I wanted to pull off XD

the next one was blue and green. A parody of the mona lisa made into edgy pop art, then a green lady which was requested by @baoxian23

The parody of the mona lisa was actually an artpark activity that I missed. I really wanted to go r-18 with that one, but that was when my stylus broke and I couldn't find a stylus that responded with my tablet. It took me forever to find the right stylus tbh ;;-;;

This is the finished green lady I was going for. I had 2 different shades of green pen there. And if I had a yellow pen, I do think I would have blended it more with that. I didn't have a yellow pen then XD. I only acquired a yellow pen recently and I feel bad that I still haven't used it yet.

After all the colors, I went back to black and white because I was really dying to use ink, plus I had a Victorian era aesthetic going for me in the week that I started those drawings. Like this one, I think she was heartbroken in the way I made her. Or maybe it's just my perception because I'n constantly sad XD

Then I imagined that the lady above lived somewhere gloomy and dark so I made this one to go with the space I taped the drawing in. I'm not really proud of this sketch though. It just shows how much I'm lacking when it comes to drawing sceneries and buildings. And I have no idea when I'll try improving that side of art

This was my most recent. Sadly, I gave it to my supervisor as a souvenir XD

I finished this on my last day in the lab and gave it to him as soon as I finished it. He was surprised at first because he thinks of it as vulgar. I just said that it's edgy, not vulgar. there's a difference. And I have no idea if he accepted that explanation, but he was just happy to receive a remembrance from me.

So far, I'm trying to get back to digital because I finally found a compatible stylus. And all my pieces for the next few weeks will be dedicated to spice because I asked if I could join the next launch of the spice NFT launch. My personal theme for this one: Power.

Since Chili spiciness is powerful, I thought it would be a good basis.

So far, I have 2 sketches I want to use. I have no idea how many I can submit, but I'll just keep those other sketches as reserves in the case that there would be more NFTs

This one' spower is based on royal powers. and idk, I just wanted to make an elegant looking piece for some reason.

Then I'm currently working on this one because I couldn't figure out where to put the lighting for the other one. No lighting makes the flow harder for me so it stays as a work in progress until I can think about where I want to take that.

That's all from me for today!

I shall be back when I can!

7
$ 1.67
$ 1.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.04 from @Jane
+ 2
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
1 year ago

Comments

Galing mo tlga Hanz

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you ate! Balik sipag na uli ako dito UwU

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are an amazing artist. Keep it up

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much! I hope you see me as a writer one of these days too!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good to see you again. Good to see your drawings here and your progress. Sorry to hear about your job.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

what happened with my job was unfortunate but I still am waiting for other companies to reply to my job application

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohh, that's sad, but at the same time, a breather. Kasi pansin ko nonstop overtime mo. That's exhausting. Hopefully, you'll find a company that values its employees. And your sketches, by the way, are always lit! 🤩🤩

$ 0.02
1 year ago

kaya nga ehhhh super nakakaburnout dun, promise! parang bawal magpahinga! This new one U'm waiting on is so chill and I really hope i get hired there para more drawing time for me tbh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang galing galing mo talaga ate. Sana all talaga marunong mag-draw huhu. Sana magkaroon ka ng ano ba tawag doon, yung event na isho-showcase mo lahat ng piece na gawa mo.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

exhibit ba? di ko na ata kaya mag exhibit pero back in highschool kaya pa eh. ewan ko lang while working

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang gaganda always lalo na yung fact na pens yung gamit like ang hiraaaap. Welcome back na daw sa digi ahaha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

you already know I mostly use pens though XD parang dati ko pang signature yon. Wel come back talaga yung july!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opoo pero naamaze parin ako everytime haha. Automatic meant to mint na ba ang mga digi arts this July? Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago