Short Story Challenge - Day 21

1 20
Avatar for H3ruvim78
1 year ago
Topics: Art, Loneliness, Book, Adoption, Poetry, ...

As I promised, this month I will do another writing challenge, this time the focus will be on storytelling, and I will try to immortalize a fragment of life, a short story about something that made me wonder, being that an idea or a peek into a stranger's life. This is how it started. And here we are, on the last day. Enjoy!

Happy birthday, Mister G. (27.11.2022)

Negligible senescence. This is the skill that I acquired in this life, and it worked for a while. Let me explain. I AM OLD. Very old, as I realized that I could mix the knowledge from my last few lives, in order to live much longer than the average Joe. You don't need to be immortal. This is against the natural law. But, as long as I can regenerate and heal faster than the damage that my body suffers, I will live, and I will be healthy. This is why we age. At some moment, the damage that you sustain, from the environment and/or from your own actions, will be more significant than your cells' ability to heal. That is the moment when you start to get old. Good luck with that!

In theory, you can extend your life, but time waits for no man, and sooner (or later), your body will slow down the catch-up game. What the common people know is that extremes can boost you temporarily (think of the cold shower, ice bath, or sauna kind of extremes). Fasting and a decent calorie reduction diet (up to 20% less will do fine) can also boost your body's reaction and fight well against inflammation and oxidative stress (oxidation - damage to your cell). Acidity and acidosis are bad, an alkaline diet or water is good. There are good remedies, natural or not (plants, extracts, NAD+, some of the nootropics, and so on).

And that takes me back to the lessons of the past. Magic is always good, but then isn't magic just science that is too advanced for us? My past life as a druid was a well-spent time. Amazonian forest shaman - learning about plants and how they work - really useful right now. 19th-century millionaire. Learning how to make money. We need that in order to buy expensive healthy alternatives to mainstream food. But long before that, Pitagora's teachings - this is how everything happened. Awakening my third eye, and remembering all my past lives. This was the start of my quest. and here we are - 2178, going past 3 pandemics, a zombie virus, and reaching 200. I am getting there. Next life I will be definitely closer to my target. Science is advancing much faster now than in the Middle Ages. I feel I will get it, sooner than I expect. But for now, my strength is fading away, and I feel the Dark Lady calling me.

Do not fear. Going from one life to another is like jumping in a cold lake, and coming back to the surface, once more. After a while, you get used to it.

Zero width embed

I hope you enjoyed all of them, my writing exercises. Stay close for the next challenge in December.

2
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
Sponsors of H3ruvim78
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for H3ruvim78
1 year ago
Topics: Art, Loneliness, Book, Adoption, Poetry, ...

Comments

Let's go with an Elf in the Shelf challenge!

$ 0.00
1 year ago