Is there more to life than this?

14 32
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Perception

Today I'm going to do something different, writing is so easy when it comes from within, not forced (as I have learned from my friends here on read cash). I have no idea where this is going but I will let my fingers do the magic of expressing my heart with letters.

This is just me sharing my mind, thoughts, and perceptions as a writer, it may differ from yours.


Introduction

Something is stirring from within and I can't quite put my finger on it. The lingering question remains "what is my purpose in life". I read an article recently that has made me want to discover the answer to this question.

Most people have figured this out already, so why not me? I guess in other for me to do this I need to take a step back and look at the big picture.

This should be perceptive enough, even for me, as I write this article the image comes to mind.


Friends, as you proceed further please note that I do not mean to insult anyone, this is just me expressing my mind, thoughts, and perception, I might be wrong but please keep an open mind.

Phases

As Foetus, do we wonder " Where am I? Who am I? What am I?", do you realize how difficult it is to have a definite answer to those questions? Be honest. I won't be surprised if I am not the only one who is searching for answers, but my questions stem from something deeper. Is there more? Where did we come from? Why can't we remember? Have we walked this earth in a past life? Why have we returned? Who was I? more importantly, how did I die?.

Call me weird for having these thoughts but as I said, this is no longer coming from me, it is coming from the far reach of my mind's consciousness, somewhere even I can't control and my fingers are doing the work of trying to keep up.

As babies, we are born into the world, crying (why?), full of ignorance, yet we know that the mouth and the breast need to meet to feed, we derive satisfaction from these acts despite being ignorant of almost everything around us, call it instinct.

As Toddlers, our first set of teeth begins to appear, we are so excited to experience new things, we try biting mom's nipples to try to get more milk without knowing of the pain we inflict. We mess up our diapers without realizing what we just did. Mom tries to teach us how to take a shit or a pee, the learning process begins. We begin to learn what is bad and good, we are praised for doing something good and punished for doing bad. We learn fire is hot, ice is cold. Somehow we never learn that not all things need to go into our mouth so mom has to be extra cautious for our safety. Not to mention, our first words "mama" "dada" and the day we finally stop crawling and start walking, oh the joy on our parent's faces.

As preschoolers, we are forced to leave the shelter of our parents, the need to interact with kids our age is important for proper growth and development. We make our first set of friends who aren't related to us by blood, the learning process continues. We are forced to improve our brain's creative ability, the intellect continues to develop and grow.

As a Primary Schoolboy, those who focused more on developing the intellect get picked upon by the less smart kids, you begin to make friends and enemies, you make memories, you laugh, you cry. You start to break some rules, after all, rules are for breaking. At this stage, we have no real plans, only what mom and dad want us to be, the idea is planted. We are convinced the idea is ours so we work towards it.

As Adolescents or Teenagers, we begin to notice changes in our body, puberty sets in, we experience the idea of what "heartbreak" feels like. We get the first feel of what adulthood might feel like, a lot of peer pressure, the only goal in mind is to survive this stage to adulthood. It starts to feel as though your entire life depends on High School. Popularity contests, we start to develop skills within us that will later forge our journey into adulthood. Being a Teenager is arguably one of the most important phases of growth as humans. The need to acquire freedom is great and now Mom and Dad are no longer able to control us, we have wings now and we just want to fly away.

Now we are Adults, we finally have the freedom we so desired. The pressure to settle down and start a family sets in, trying to get a good job to sustain the family, trying to take care of your parents, start to question life choices, we develop a more serious and responsible outlook on life, finally what Mom and Dad tried to do makes a lot of sense, we start to wish we were kids again. If only pigs could fly.

We get older, we begin to experience what our parents experienced when they raised us, we see ourselves in our kids, Love turns into responsibility, a difficult stage in the life of a married couple, argument and insult, you try to prevent the kids from seeing this and start to wonder if your parents ever fought.

As you get older, you start to experience loss, death is a necessary end, it is inevitable, you try to watch your health as you try to offer guidance to your children as they set off into life just as you did.

You keep getting older, any day now, you'll be grandparents, you show so much love to the newborns as they remind you of what you once had, the innocence.

You keep getting older, any day now it will be time, you begin to transform from an adult back to a baby, your body starts to lose strength, memory loss, you start to lose your teeth, inability to work. You become a big baby (with all due respect).

Eventually, Death. You pass on but your memory and legacy live on. It is often said that at the last moment we often have regrets, not of things we have done but things we never got to do.

Conclusion

Death can sometimes be a gift at such an age.

Where do we go when we die? Do we wonder for a while as ghosts? Is there a white light? Is it the start of a new journey? Or do we just begin the cycle again as Foetus in a lady's womb waiting to come into the world?

A lot of questions to be answered, it begs the question

"Is there more to life"

What exactly is our purpose here on earth.

Okay, I've said enough. My hands have done it's task, I'm even shocked as to how much information my mind had to share. I will have to read this again before I publish it.

I don't know much but this I do, we are all destined for great things and we have the power to channel our life towards it. Life is beautiful, even as we try to grow up real fast or live fast, try to take a break to take in the beauty this world has to offer, we won't be here forever, show love and live well.

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Feel free to check out my beautiful sponsor's page

Lead image source

13
$ 4.71
$ 4.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Perception

Comments

This is indeed the reality of man. We cannot skip death where all of us are going there. For now, we should prepare ourselves, accept Jesus, and be good to one another. For me, thats my purpose.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Death sometimes can be a gift. That's a really deep yet accurate statement. I've met some people whose condition isn't really 'suitable' for living and they are living in pain every day. Ah... how grateful I am for this life granted to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great write up my dear friend

Life is nothing but vanity. We came to life naked without anything and no we would leave

We never knew who was there to birth us from our mother and so we never know who would be there for us on our death day.

You gave great example to life and humans existence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right, all vanity

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is there more to life?

-yes, definitely. Lufe is beautiful and we should learn how to cherished every stages that we have and will encounter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, life is beautiful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am totally agree with your thoughts, this life is like a cycle in which everyone passes from the same life cycle as a baby,toddler,child,adolescent,adulthood and finally as a old person who headed towards his death.No one can understand what life is going to be but we should try to spend it well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, we should try to just treasure life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's definitely more to life, at least that's what I believe. And I like to think that we live each day finding bits of it and fulfilling more of it too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Living things know most things by instinct. In my belief, instinct is given by the creator.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I like to classify it as another mystery of life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember when my grandpa was still alive, he knew death was inevitable and he was getting closer to it, he make an effort to watch his health to avoid sudden one I know a time would come when I would start thinking about that too but definitely not now

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmmm... you have certainly given me a lot to think about with this article which isn't necessarily a bad thing. Thanks

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, its inevitable....reading this article again I was beginning to doubt I wrote, I never knew I had all these thoughts to begin with, What comes next after death, that fear of the unknown

$ 0.00
2 years ago