Fate, why me? - Part 2

0 22
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction

Harry has just found a letter with the answer to what he had always wondered

Who his parents were

Harry's POV

This day seems longer than usual, do I want to know who my birth parents are? I have been doing well without them? Who was the mystery person who left that letter for me? Do I tell Mom what just happened? How would she react?

Harry, can you summarize what I just explained - Miss Audrey called my attention

"The, Uhm, the" - I stammer, I hadn't been paying attention due to obvious reasons.

I catch Rose smiling, she probably felt like a victor already.

"Okay, anyone else?"

Her hands are immediately up.

"you were showing us what effect heat has on the length of a metal, you defined Linear expansivity as the change in length per unit length per each degree rise in temperature" - Rose answered without pausing even for a second while answering, her eyes brimming with joy, a full-blown nerd, not like I was any different though.

"Harry, see me after class"

"Yes Ma'am" - I replied

I check the clock, it was only noon.

I tried to pay attention to what was being taught, all effort failed.

The class has ended, everyone exits but I remain to see Miss Audrey

Miss Audrey had been married once, they got a divorce and now she had made it mandatory to be called Miss instead of Mrs. I don't understand why though.

"Harry, I noticed you were distant during the class, is anything the problem?" - she said

"No Ma'am, I just haven't had enough sleep working on my college application" - I lied

"Oh, about that, did you get the letter?"

Huh, how did she know, is she the mystery person? For a moment my body froze in shock at this new revelation.

What was I to say, how should I react?

"I tried to give it to you yesterday but you had taken the bus home so I snuck it in your locker, have you seen it?"

Again, what?? My thoughts were burning with a lot of questions.

After taken a few seconds to process these thoughts

"How..."

"Harry, take your time, you don't have to make any decision yet" - I was immediately interrupted

"It's a big decision, I know how you feel about going somewhere far from home, from your brother, Micheal"

I tried to speak again.

"Harvard is a great place to study, they have offered you a scholarship"

Wait, what???

I must have skipped it after seeing that letter -the one letter

I feel like my whole world had just been laid down on me and I was a stranger looking in. Completely overwhelmed I started laughing.

The laughter of joy, of worries, of anxiety, all at once.

"Okay Ma'am, I will consider it, thank you, "

I turn around to try to escape, as I walk out of the classroom trying to find some privacy to take this all in, I see Rose.

It hadn't always been this way, Rose and I. Once upon a time, we were close friends, that was until the day I composed a love letter to her to tell her how I truly feel about her.

Dear beloved,

Roses are red, diamonds are blue.

As attractive as they may seem, they have nothing on you.

This is new to me, I assume it is to you too.

Give me this chance, let me love you.

H.S.

This was in Junior year and probably the best and the most innocent love letter I had written in my entire life, well, not that the word "entire" would mean much at 13.

This would have been beautiful if it hadn't gotten to Amy first, apparently, Amy thought it was for her. Rose must have felt betrayed, I'm not so sure about how she felt but over time we progressively descended towards being strangers, then the rivalry for the best student award began. I couldn't care less about the award but I was more interested in getting good praises and gifts from Mom and Dad as a reward for my good result, besides I was also setting a good example for Micheal.

Yes, Micheal, I can't possibly leave him to ride the bus home alone.

"Hello, earth to you Harry "

I had forgotten for a moment she was talking me, I'm still amazed that she's even talking to me.

"So, I heard we both got a scholarship to study at Havard, looks like this rivalry will have to continue"

"Congratulations" - I said as I walked away

Huh, wait, no insult, today just continues to get weirder and weirder.

I went to the library, not to read but to get some peace.

School closes by 3 pm, which leaves me with exactly 1 hour to meet this mystery person.

Finally, school is over, we hitch a ride with the Jacksons, Brad, their eldest son was a classmate of Micheal. Having good neighbors can't be appreciated enough, I left Micheal at their house as I hurried out to make it in time, I told them I had an errand to run and they offered to babysit Micheal while he and Brad work on their homework together. Michael gives the look that says "I don't want to stay here, let's go home". He wouldn't understand why I had to go, " I will be back soon" I assured him without uttering a word, amazing how close we were to be able to share telepathic messages.

No sooner than later, at exactly 4 pm I arrived at Jake and love Cafe, the only Cafe in our humble community. They had chased off all competitors.

As I walked him, I saw a man sitting at a table, I assumed the sender was a man, so I approached him. My heart raising as I did.

"Hi" - I said

"Can I help you?"

"Oh sorry, it was a mistake"

Just then a hand touched me, I turned to see who it was.

It was a woman

"Harry? My dear Harry?"


Hahaha, I'll have to stop here for today.

The most interesting thing about writing this article is that I also don't know what happens next, as one of my favorite Movie producer would say, "we are all pencils in the hand of the creator".

So, a lady huh? From the way she called him, could this be his mother? I guess we would have to wait for the third part to find out for sure.

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
You need to check out my amazing sponsors

7
$ 3.20
$ 3.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 3
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction

Comments