About the skies

25 42
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: About the sky
Date:Saturday, 4th of December,2021
Day 9 prompt:About the sky
Published by: Greatwolfman

Do you ever look up to the sky and see the clouds forming, thinking to yourself that it is in fact telling you a story? For the most time of my childhood, I would spend hours doing this, so much that it started to affect my eyesight so I had to stop, but now and then, I would find myself doing it again, subconsciously.

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Check out my amazing sponsors

The sky is the heavens

How many of you thought the sky was the heavens? I always believed that the clouds forming were images of people who have passed away and are now in heaven, it was so nice to see that heaven was just up in the sky and if I was Superman, I could fly to the sky whenever I wanted to dine with the Angels.

Rain are tears from Angels

When it rained, it meant the Angels were crying to me, I would stare at the sky to see where the rain was coming from, but my eyes weren't strong enough to see the heavens in all its divinity, "what could make the angels cry this much" - I would wonder.

Sango, the god of lightning

Africa is rich with a lot of cultural beliefs, one of which is the god Sango. Thor is the god of thunder in Norse Mythology as Sango is the god of thunder in the popular Yoruba Culture in Nigeria. Our parents would often tell us about these people who once lived as men before they transcended as gods, when it rains and we see the lightning, I would believe Sango was the one making the thunder.

Science almost ruined it all for me

Basic science ruined my imaginations when I learned how cloud formation works as well as what causes lightning to strike, for a moment at least but not for long because even though my initial thoughts of the cloud had been corrupted, it still holds memories, some sad, some happy but all beautiful.

I can relate some of my most familiar memories with the weather of the sky at the time, if you look inward, I'm sure you can too.

The early morning cold sky's memories

How early would you say you leave home on a daily basis? 5 am? 6 am? How about 3 am. It was not by choice really. I was in my final year in high school and the school principal was determined to make sure we had very good results especially in Mathematics.

An early morning lesson was organized specifically for this purpose, since I lived at quite a distance from school, I would have to wake up quite early to leave for school. At the time I had a huge crush on this girl and was always looking forward to seeing her. In case you are wondering, I did ask her to be my girlfriend, there is a whole article on that story. When I think of this type of sky, that is the beautiful memory that comes to mind.

The dark cloudy sky's memories

This one feels lonely to me. It reminds me of all the times I would stay at home alone, looking out the window while Mom slept after locking the doors because she knew we would go out to play in the rain and end up catching a cold.

I would watch as the drop of rain hits the ground and would start storing my wild imaginations, it was good that I could escape mentally but it still felt lonely.

The clear blue sky's memories

This one feels like hope, it is my idea of a brighter day. Not so sunny or dark, just nice. You could even see the birds in the skies flying in beautiful patterns. When it gets hard and I look up to the clear blue skies, I just feel like everything will be alright.

The moonless dark night sky's memories

Have you ever wondered why bad things often happen in the dark when watching Horror films? Well, the night feels scary especially when the moon is nowhere to be found.

This memory had been recently associated with the night my dog died. It was just like any other night and Harmony was not feeling the usual, I remember I had just finished talking to @The.Ada just before I realized he was dead. It is a memory that might linger on for a while.


This is just from my own point of view and a peek into my memories, when you think about the sky, what memories come to mind?

Thank you for all your support, I apologize if I haven't been as active as I should, I've been preparing for school resumption but as soon as I'm settled in, I will be active again


Image Source: Unsplash free images

14
$ 4.76
$ 4.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 8
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: About the sky

Comments

The skies makes me wonder in words especially with how ecloved it appears. It's simply bluish in colour and sometimes very whitish and stages some stars on it as part of it's heavenly bodies that reminds me of the very popular "twinkle twinkle Little Star...up above the world so high" poem we recited those days when were still kids

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I look at the sky these days, I think of heaven. Sometimes Airplane because I can't wait to Jand😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I remember when I was a child when I saw you in the clouds, we were happy, my friends, because it used to be one of the hobbies, and not like now, their activities and hobbies are all cell phones.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You’ve really write a good article. This one is special and the topic and subtopics are very interesting from your points of view. Though I’ve never thought that the rain falls whenever the angels are crying.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They were just the imagination of a young boy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No you ain’t a young boy you really tried

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe those memories are real friction, whenever i take a look at the sky,the clouds form some images which sometimes give me joy and makes me happy.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sorry about your lonely times,,, and your dog... But most importantly,,, sorry about science... Lol...!!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Things that we learned during the early stage of our lives are basically not the truth. But they are just works of creativity and to make the children to learn some morals. Nicely written sir!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I know, but they were beautiful memories

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Memories of the frat what a great topic to lighten up the day! Hahaha. I am familiar with some of your memories but not all. And who did you said just died?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My dog, Harmony

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Better thought it was ada

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, she helped me through the pain though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okaay now I get

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol....I was also used to think the same about sky and its different hues and colours.The most exciting thing was to consider the moon is walking with us....lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yesss, it took me a long time to realise it wasn't following me, but it did make me feel special that the moon would love to accompany me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think of the sky as different things. Sometimes the clouds will form the shape of an animal in the sky and I will feel like are there animals up there.

Back then, there was a day I brought all corners of the clouds together to form the shape of human😂

Till now when I look at the sky I still relate the shape the clouds form with anything.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Same here, it is a habit I can't seem to stop

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The sky brings about a lot of memories. I can definitely relate with the crying sky and thunder light i.e Sango

$ 0.02
2 years ago

At the time, they were stories my dad would tell us to keep us indoors when it rained

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do believe in everything you said about the sky. I always thought that the soul of passing are all there watching us down below.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yesss, you totally get it, it's nice to see I'm not alone in this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dark cloudy sky, make me more Nostalgic. Love those vibes. I admire dark cloudy day. Well written.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I find them lonely

$ 0.00
2 years ago