We Need Solutions to the Problem of Unreliable Electricity Supply in My Home Country

Avatar for GreatWhiteSnark
1 year ago

Living in the Third World country that I call home (South Africa), having consistently reliable and stable Internet connection is something of a luxury and a rarity. Consequently, I have had to think of ways to work around that in order to get work done despite obstacles and setbacks. Simply being flexible enough to get work done when I do have electricity supply isn't going to be sufficient, since I don't know for certain when that will be, I need to sleep for at least seven hours at some point once every twenty-four and there's not enough time in the day. (Even if there is a load-shedding schedule, "bonus" outages due to faults and overuse, particularly in Autumn and Winter, can throw it out and often do.) If I don't make another plan (and soon), then I am going to be unable to get sufficient work done in order to earn enough to provide for myself and my family on a monthly basis.


Recently, I decided that one of the ways to overcome the grid failures/power shortage is to move my workstation and tools to a GNU/Linux node running on Linode. That way, I have an always-up compute instance running 24/7 that I can access from anywhere, at any time, provided I have electricity, Internet connection and a secure shell (SSH) client with secure copy (SCP) capabilities. (On Windows, that's SmarTTY. For GNU/Linux, I can use Muon or Termius.) It will only cost me $5-10 USD a month, which is an expense that I can easily incorporate into my monthly expenses and for which I can bill my client. However, that still doesn't solve the problem of having electricity and Internet connection, even when the grid fails. For that, I need something else.

Unfortunately, I cannot currently afford the fuel necessary to run a generator for four to nine or more hours a day (the time it takes to get a day's work done, not counting house- and yard-work). A couple of days ago, it occurred to me that a possible solution would be to purchase a laptop battery and charger, as well as any additional parts to build a circuit that would enable me to run a WiFi-enabled BeagleBone or Rasbperry Pi off that. I figured that since a single-board computer (SBC) has lower power requirements and uses less power than a laptop, I might be able to run it for longer than a few hours. However, that might be rather costly to set up and building the circuit could be somewhat involved, especially since I don't have all the required tools at my disposal (because they were stolen) or a workbench on which to do so.


Edit, a few hours later: An American client, for whom I have been doing freelance work in the few hours a day in which I do have power, just to get by, has been sending me links to various products that make use of laptop batteries to provide external power. There's one that recharges through solar panels. I like the look of that. I'm going to see if I can find something locally, since I'm not a fan of Big Tech companies and don't want to support Amazon (not just because it can be finicky about shipping tech to South Africa).


Last night, another idea occurred to me: I could use a power bank or two instead, possibly splicing the output cables together with a couple of rectifier diodes, some caps, a resistor and a barrel jack once I can afford to replace my tools and buy the parts. The advantage of this is that the power bank(s) already has/have all the necessary circuitry for charging and outputting 5V @ 1A, which is perfectly adequate for an SBC doing nothing more than running GNU/Linux and SSH. (Heavier loads, such as a LAMP stack, might require up to 3A on a Pi.) Another advantage is that a couple of power banks are probably going to be cheaper than what I'd originally considered, which was customised/modified laptop circuitry. The downside, of course, is that drawing power from a rechargeable battery is never going to be as efficient as directly drawing it from a converter/transformer, thanks to the Laws of Thermodynamics. But this isn't about efficiency. It's about being able to overcome a major obstacle to productivity. Having to down tools and stop working every time the electricity goes off (which it does frequently and for prolonged periods) is definitely horribly inefficient and puts me at a major disadvantage.

"If I stay here, trouble will find me. If I stay here, I'll never leave. ... So I believe.
— The National; "Sea of Love"; Trouble Will Find Me

Ultimately, I need to get to a point where I'm living completely off-grid, generating and storing my own electricity (probably using solar power, because there's a lot of sunshine here) and processing/treating my own water (probably rainwater, because there's a lot of that too) and sewage. The way things are going in my country of residence, they're only going to get worse. (The problem isn't only that the infrastructure doesn't exist because it wasn't created or properly maintained. That's only part of it. The other part is that criminal syndicates operating within the government are sabotaging the coal supply by dumping rocks and metal ore into it, since coal is paid for by weight. These impurities damage the plants, which are already taking strain. The chief investigator who discovered this and reported on it received death threats and his home was fired upon.) Such a disconnected way of life might become a necessity, rather than an option. It's either that or gap it for Europe (probably Italy, Spain or Portugal). All that's going to be expensive and a long way off, though. For now, I've got to stay focussed on incremental improvements that I can achieve. The only missing piece in my current idea/plan is a WiFi-enabled SBC that can run GNU/Linux or me knowing enough C/C++ to write an SSH+SCP client capable of running on an Arduino Mega with microSD card and WiFi shields (or one that combines them). That's probably going to cost me an extra $125 USD I don't currently have and somehow need to bring in. I best get back to work while I'm still able to ...


Snark out!


Lead image: Photo by Andre Moura from/on Pexels

4
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.03 from @zulfrontado
$ 0.02 from @mypathtofire
Sponsors of GreatWhiteSnark
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for GreatWhiteSnark
1 year ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Laptop with a good battery + a dual battery (or quad-battery) second hand UPS.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same issue here for years. What I have is power banks to at least recharge phones and let them work on it. I switch of everything/internet including saving the battery. Next, I have a mobile router. This means I have internet as long as I charged the battery of the router and I can attach it to the power bank too. I have a jumpstarter (for the car) which I charge once a month. I can use it for the phones and power banks, there's a strong light in it (very helpful my house is dark) plus I can start the car with it if needed. I'm thinking about buying an aggregator but I need one that starts by pressing a button (expensive so it needs to wait). I no longer use a fridge (since a few years), the tv etc so I don't need power for that but I do need electricity to have water and if I want to use the washing machine it means I most likely need two aggregators.

Because of the electricity most 'high 'tech is broken within a year. I bought several laptop batteries but the same problem even if the battery isn't used frequently. They are expensive and don't seem to last long. Annoying.

I thought about solar cells (wind turbine isn't in it) but since it takes 8-10 years before I earned the investment back and they are toxic and extra waste I skipped that plan.

As long as I'm not too long without electricity I have internet and can use my phone (important in case of need). My main problem is water if there's a blackout. If we all do weeks, months without electricity I doubt we are still at work. I cook mainly with a gas bottle (oven too). I prefer to use my washing machine and if not I will survive. Once I can no longer afford to buy gasoline we need to bicycle (one hour) to the bus stop en back home (exhausting and long days because it's leaving at 4 or 4.30 am).

PS, it should be possible to charge a laptop but I have no idea how that works since the plugs are different. If you are suddenly out of electricity it will harm your devices. I intended to buy a deep freezer but decided not to since there's a lack of food.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeesh. That's tough. It's similar to my situation in many ways.

I have a mobile/LTE 3G router for backup/emergencies, since the fibre connection (which is expensive and supposedly better) is often flaky and problematic. I honestly don't know why my housemates still have it and don't go back to what we had before (maybe because it's uncapped. LTE bundles are expensive, considering how little data the service providers permit each month (and it's bracketed, too, meaning I can only use certain amounts for certain things, a lot of which are useless to me. If I want to cancel my contract and move to another provider and a better deal, I have to pay three months upfront, which I can't afford.)

We've got camping lights with rechargeable batteries which we use for overnight outages. We use rainwater from storage tanks whenever we can, since the municipal water supply is also often unreliable, despite the fact we live in a catchment area/wetland. The problem with that is that filtering and pumping it requires electricity. I don't watch TV anymore, but my housemates do. (I prefer JungleTV, since it pays out Banano.)

Photovoltaic/solar cells are supposed to be a green/eco-friendly option, but it really isn't. Such is the nature of humanity: All of our inventive tech is destructive or has a disadvantage in some way. (Apparently, wind turbines are not friendly to birds and the old blades aren't recyclable.)

" I cook mainly with a gas bottle (oven too)."

Gas is pretty much a backup for us, although I can see the merit in a gas oven/stove, despite it using fossil fuels. I think biofuels are the way to go, but then one has to have land and crops/livestock to produce it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Did you consider some solar panels? You can get a plugin balcony kit for around €600 here. In SA, you have optimal weather too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have considered them, but they are both expensive (taking a long time to pay for themselves as well) and not eco-friendly. I don't really have the money to shell out for them, being in a Catch-22 situation where I need to do enough work to bring in money to buy them and I need them in order to have enough electricity to do work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What is an SSH+SCP client client?

Something similar is happening in Venezuela with regard to the Internet connection. A private service is very expensive, and the national company is crap. I have internet from the national company called CANTV, so sometimes I don't have internet, or it's very intermittent so I can't deliver my tasks on time, or work everything I want and need online.

So, I understand you. Although your situation is a little more complicated. I do not pay for electricity, in many places in Venezuela it is not paid. And it is not done because no one pays attention to it. Although it should be paid.

However, right now I don't have money to pay for the electricity service, but when my income improves, I will contribute to the payment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

SSH is an abbreviation for "secure shell". It's a way of accessing a remote computer (usually a server that doesn't have the overhead of a graphical interface) through the Internet or other network in order to perform tasks as if one was performing them on one's own computer or was sitting at the computer being accessed. "SCP" is "secure copy". It allows copying files to/from a remote computer by using the SSH protocol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My internet is slow and bad too. It doesn't matter how frequently I complain. They just slow it down. It costs me 38 euros a month :(

Lucky you, you don't need to pay for electricity. With us, you have to even if you don't use it. Same for the gas. You pay for the wires, pipelines and so on. On the bill, this is the highest amount not what you use.

$ 0.00
1 year ago