To Write or Not To Write?

9 21
Avatar for Gracia42
2 years ago

It's Friday Report on Duty

What a busy day today, I went to school as usual every Friday all Online Delivery Modality Teachers are mandated to report in school. So, there you go I wake early preparing myself, packing my laptop and its charger, my mobile phone, class record, pen case and other papers in my bag. Teachers are known to have more one bag to carry going to school. (LOL). Yes! it is true because we have a lot of things to bring. I can not be avoided to bring our works in home specially this time since I am work from home (WFH) so the tendency when we are mandated to report in school for the whole day. Teachers are now need to bring his/her things in school so that we can still continue to work their.

This week is a crucial week. I called it crucial because we will finalize the record and compute the grades of our students output. I guess it already fair enough what ever the grades of my students in science subject since I have already given them a chance last whole week to comply all their performance task via google classroom (the platform we used that serve as the virtual classroom of my students). But still many of them still not completing their task. Here again, I need to conduct remedial class for the students need help in their academic difficulty in science. Base from my experience in 5 years teaching in private school and 12 year in public school, these are common reasons why students got failed:

According to https://explicitsuccess.com/reasons-why-students-fail/ there are 20 reasons why students failed in their subjects I got 5 out of 20 which are observable to my students.

These are the five reasons for failure.

  1. LAZINESS

    When you’re lazy as a student, you will find it hard to get up to do important things like reading the notes given by the teacher, doing assignments and carrying out some research to expand your knowledge about that particular subject. Some students even find it hard to attend classes. 

    Solution

    Get up and do the needful at the right time.

  2.  PROCRASTINATION AND LACK OF TIME MANAGEMENT

    Most lecturers know it when you rush your project or essay. If you have the habit of waiting until the dying minute to complete your assignments, you will always end up with little or no quality. I need not tell you that this usually results in poor performance and grades.

    In the heart of this habit is procrastination. When you keep shifting the time to read forward until there’s absolutely no time to read again, it will lead to rush hour preparations. 

    Even if you are able to create some time, you will read only be able to read a few portions well.

    Read: Why You Need To Have A Good GPA As A Student

    Solution

    Plan your time well. Do your assignments early enough, read as much as you can, carry out appropriate research and write your essays almost immediately.

  3. BAD READING HABITS

    If you don’t know how to study or what works for you, it’s simply because you haven’t taken sufficient time to study yourself and your capacity. Some students read at wrong times and in the wrong way.

    If you have always been trained to sleep early in your home, it might be a struggle to wake up really early to read. However, with determination and consistency, you can relearn and get used to it.

    Similarly, if you are engaged during the most part of the day, you might not read efficiently at night.

    Even if you’ve slept well in the day, a dim light in the night might not make you read and assimilate properly. 

    Solution

    It’s your duty to study how your body system works and read accordingly. You may also inculcate reading habits at some specific times, but this will take a lot of discipline.

    Practice makes perfect. Try as much as possible to avoid a disorganized reading habit. Start reading early enough to get used to it and recall better.

  4. LACK OF INTEREST

    Another reason for the failure of students is a total lack of interest in a particular subject or topic in school. This could be caused by several reasons like being lackadaisical and unconcerned.

    There is absolutely no way a student who lacks interest in a particular course will pass the examinations.

    Solution

    Focus on the moment. Take that course as serious as you do to other interesting subjects. Learn all that is needed in that course. Do you know that developing an interest in something is a thing of the mind? Try to readjust your mind as regards that course too.

  5. GROUP OF FRIENDS

    Friends can either make or mar you. This has been proved from time to time and remains relevant. The kind of company you keep will, in a way, affect the way you value your academics.

    Your friends have the power to either discourage or motivate you. If your friends don’t care whether you pass or fail your exams, you will care less about your grades too.

    Solution

    Therefore, ensure you choose friends with the same values and goals as yours. They will motivate you to become better and improve your success level. This kind of friends will help you to read and will put you through difficult topics and courses.

  6. NOT FOLLOWING INSTRUCTIONS

    For every question asked in an examination, there is a right way to answer such. Most of the time, students don’t get to read the questions well to answer appropriately.

    For instance, when the question says you should list and explain, if you don’t list before addressing each of the points, you will surely lose some marks.  There is always a command of instruction which you must strictly adhere to.

    Solution

    Reading and understanding the questions and the instructions are very crucial.

    If there are some reasons which I did not include there or I am not aware you are free to comment down below for me to know and be aware of it. That would be great for me to know.

Where to ask favor first?

I don't know how to write this not in offensive way, one of my boss ask me to do a favor. Guess what? To scan her pertinent papers for promotion. There are more than 70 pages that I need to scan and save it in a compact disk. She wants to be promoted 2 steps from her position. One of the papers that I need to scan is her performance rating ( result of the annual employees evaluation) there I saw her rate in the ICT as 5 (5 is the highest and 1 is lowest). Then, something pop up in my mind, you rate yourself 5 in the field of ICT but why your are asking me to do the scanning of your papers. To think that she have her children who are able to do for her and they also have a printer/scanner to use? I have nothing against to it, because I used to help my colleagues specially those who are not so-called techy ( IT literate). What I learn from this scenario is that we as parent we have to be careful asking help to anybody without asking it first to our children specially if they are able. Why? Because the other might think why your children can't help you? Are they not supportive? Some Filipinos mind might ask (Asaan ang iyong mga anak bakit dika nila matutulungan?) Maybe sometimes parents let's ask first our children or family members who are able before you will seek help from others. I really don't know what is on her mind to think she has a education graduate son and daughter, and one architect daughter. Anyway while thinking those things I noticed that I am done with the scanning of her papers and ready to be saved in cd. Philosophy in life it is better to help than to seek help to others. (reminding myself)

It is Better to Give than to Receive

Last week one of my co-teacher ask a variety of indoor plant to me for she knew that my hubby is certified plantito (means love planting flowers) so I told her my this Friday will bring for her. Actually, I don't have a green thumb so I am hesitant to get from the mother plant flower because it will die. I am a science teacher yet it is so hard for me to propagate plants better my husband has that kind of skill so we have many flowers. So what I did? I brought the pot of the flower which she likes just to sure that the plant will survive. (LOL) If my husband will find it? then I will tell him the truth.

Hope no one will ask me what flowers are they because it is only my husband know their name my only role is to water it as needed.

My Affiliate

I saw my colleague scrolling her mobile during lunch break while we are talking and I saw on the screen of phone are the different game app. Then I ask her why you are playing those? She said "because I want to earn money as passive income. Boom! right then I shared to her this platform the read.cash and the Noise.cash how legit these 2 apps. Then I forwarded to her the link. I advise her to try first the noise.cash then when she'll get to use it then she will join too here in read.cash. I told her, since you love writing and posting in the other app why not in read and noise. You are having fun while posting and writing. Then she tried posting in noise and let's see what's next. Time check it's 5 pm whole day in school is done needs to go home.

You might think what is the relationship of my article title. How it is related to the content of this article. Well, actually nothing. It is telling myself if i am going to write an article tonight before I will sleep or not? When I went home I feel so tired and remember my boss asked a favor to scan her papers. So, I decided not to write and publish an article before I will sleep. But it seems like my whole day is not complete if I can not my one article. Hey! what is happening to me?

Sponsorship

By the way I would like to say thank you to @Khing14 for the trust and support as one of my sponsors. I have to sponsors already!!! So happy and thankful again. Before I will end allow me to share one Bible verse hope it can help us all.

2 Corinthians 9:6-8

Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously. Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.

Chronicles 16:34 (ESV) Oh give thanks to the LORD, for He is good; for His steadfast love endures forever!

God bless everyone.

5
$ 0.16
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.02 from @Khing14
+ 2
Sponsors of Gracia42
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gracia42
2 years ago

Comments

Mabuti nlang ung anak ko baby pa, kaya hndi nya mararanasan yang online class. Hopefully bumalik na ang lahat sa dati para mas madali ng mag aral ang mga bata.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naku true po. Actually ok lang nman po ang online if may disiplina talaga ang mga bata kasi high school na po eh. Diko lang tlga alam kung anong nagyayari na parang napakalate ng maturity ng halos sa mga nakakaraming kabataan ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

gnun na tlga sa ngayon sis..iintindihin sa abot ng makakaya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap pag may studyanteng hindi willing mag comply nung mga dapat gawin on time. Kumbaga, yung teacher pa ang mag aadjust, magbibigay ng remedial class. I salute you sis

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow may affiliate na sya! May eucaliptus kapa te?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diko napansin khing.. sisilipin ko mamya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sige te..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh,it's very hard to teach children through the Internet.They do not want to,lazy,they would like to play.You do the right thing that persist in continuing to teach them despite their inattention.My to you - a lot of respect!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for your words of encouragement. I am willing to take remedial classes than to let them pass the subject without doing anything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago