Do we have the right to say NO to our Visitors?

2 29
Avatar for Glez
Written by
2 years ago

Filipinos are known to be hospitable. This has been part of the culture and one of the traits that is known when you are a Pinoy.

My grandmother before would often keep nice bedsheets, nice pillows, expensive plates and cups so as spoon and fork. When I asked her why not use those whenever I see the plates she has in the kitchen which are way too old, she would often tell me, "Because that is for our visitors".

Whenever there is a visitor be it expected or not they will be treated like a King and Queen my grandma would even cook her specialty and would give a very clean bedsheets if not new in case the visitor needs to stay for a night or two.

We were always taught to keep something for the visitors so in case someone would just come and visit we will not be put into shame for not being a good host. This is maybe something that I am way too against because why would you suffer using old stuff to prepare for someone when you can use those new things you bought.

As what I have observed, people before are way too afraid of being judge while I do not see it on the same perspective. I do not care if what other people might think about me especially when I am in my own territory. Of course, we are also taught about delicadeza.

It is when you have to pretend it is find just for the sake of not being the talk of the town but as for me whenever I feel like the visitor is being absorb then I would really inform him/her since there are some people who just take advantage of you just because they are a GUEST.

You might say that I will never be a good host at my own house of which I can agree with you. I mean, I am not really someone who invites people to come over to my place because other than the fact that it is small I do not find it decent and I just do not want to hear anyone criticizing how me and my family lives. It would be a lot better if I would be the one to meet up someone anywhere if needed than to let them visit me at home.

So as I had this realization I remembered my grandma would also be the one to fetch water from the Well just for the visitor to take a bath and I do not want that to happen to me though now it is different than before since we do not need to fetch water, still.

On the other hand, my mom would often tell me not to bring any attitude that I have at home when I am at anyone's territory or my friends house. I do not even look for anything that I do not see around or I do not ask for food or water just because I am visitor not unless the host of the house would offer me one. Why not? But then I am not a demanding one. We just have to be sensitive enough.

One experienced I had before is during High School. We stayed on a classmates house because of a certain project and my classmates were ecstatic of the food offered and so as how big my classmates house. From then on, they kept on tagging that classmate along to the group. Then when we went to the other classmates house who live in a squatter area they kept on saying alibis to go home already even when we are not done with the activities needed which was the reason why we get there. Then they don't go near to that classmate.


...end thoughts...

From then I decided to stop my classmates going to our house or even know where I actually live. I do want someone mocking the kind of HOME I have just because that is the only thing my parents can afford.


6
$ 4.94
$ 4.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @foryoubtc09
+ 2
Sponsors of Glez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Glez
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

That is why everytime my mom gas a visitor, I chose to always stay in my room instead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The common filipino trait... Tsk tsk tsk...

$ 0.00
2 years ago