When I Was A Kid: A Life in which I Have Enjoyed Most of my Childhood

Avatar for GlenCanete
2 years ago

Introduction:

Living in the province and far away from the city was truly amusing and a hearth warming things that you would experience. I guess, that’s why most of the people are buying lots and building houses in the provinces just to get away from the pollution and noise living here in the City. Living there allows you to enjoy and savor each moment. You won’t feel the rush and you may choose to do tasks and chores at your own pace. You also get to explore and enjoy the great outdoors. It’s fun and enjoyable too.

 Childhood Memories:

This is how I described my childhood. I grew up under the care my grandparents in the province, my parents opted to send me there for some reasons or might be they just wanted to get away with their obligations. Well, I don’t really understands the logic behind it until now. On the other hand, it’s also a good thing because I was able to spent time with my grandparents before they passed away. I felt loved and importance from them. We lived in a small but a very nice house with full of memories as what I have described it. The kitchen was built separately and just a few steps away from the house. My grandfather worked in the Sugar Milling Factory while my grandmother was always the one who always do the buying of foods in the market and cooking, she doesn’t mostly join us every time we eat breakfast, lunch or dinner. She just sits beside you until you get finished eating and every time I invited her to join in, she always said that she would also feel full whenever she sees us eating too. That’s how martyr and good my grandmother she was to us. I really missed her a lot though.

My childhood was indeed fun and memorable. I prefer living in the province more than spending most of my time here in the city. Aside from the fresh air, I always going elsewhere every time I like to, together with my childhood friends of course. There were lot a happy memories too that still lingers on my head every time I see pictures of people enjoying their life in the province.

These are among of the happy memories that I had:

·         Climbing mountains – we used to climb mountains together with the childhood friends and my cousins in which we enjoyed the fresh air and the very nice view from the top.

 

·         Playing a playhouse made of palm leaf – we used to make a play house with the palm leaf and cooking real foods. We’re playing the playhouse like it was totally real and it’s always been fun. 

         (Image: Courtesy of Google)

·         Fetching water – I used to fetched water in the water well during the morning and afternoon. In our province where in we don’t have the proper water supply, we only rely on our single water well in our place. It’s fun because there were lots of people falling in-line to fetch some water. It’s fun because most of us there are spending time talking to each while waiting for our turn to fetch. 

   (Image: Courtesy of Google)

 ·         Kite Flying – we used to fly kites in the rice field. 

   (Image: Courtesy of Google)

 ·         Harvesting sugarcane – it’s was just in the province where I experienced seeing a lot of people harvesting a wide area of sugarcane plants. We often join in and bringing home a lot of it. 

     (Image: Courtesy of Google)

 ·         The most amazing part is when the harvest has been completed, they will burn out the areas during the night where the leaves of the sugarcane remains to clean-up the area and make it fertilized too. It’s really fun and enjoyable of seeing it. 

(Image: Courtesy of Google) 

·         Watching movie from a traditional movie Van theater – the theater Van seldom visit our barangay or it may have some schedule to follow. The very first movie that I saw was the movie “Rambo”. The very first part of it. We usually go to the area where the free movie will takes placed. I usually go there with my childhood friends and cousins at night. We just sat down in the vacant lot with the use of our slippers that we wear just to make us feel better on sitting down

 

·         And the most important thing that I have enjoyed most was riding of a cart that was being pulled by a water buffalo. 

    (Image: Courtesy of Google)

 ·         Some traditional games that I’m not sure if it’s still being played now by some children of the new generation:

o   "Tumbang preso"

o   "Shatong"

o   Hide-and-seek

o   "Luksong baka"

o   Jackstone

o   Hopscotch

o   Duck, duck, goose

o   Marble playing

o   Spinning top and others.

When I turned 9, my mother transferred me back to the city and lived with them together with my other brother and sister. There wasn’t much of strolling around, my life got stuck at home and school day by day. That’s always been the daily routine for me from the time I got and live my life in the city.

Closing Thoughts:

Living in the province was indeed fun and exciting. It would also mean living a peaceful, calm and tranquil life. It has a lot of greenery fields, hills and forests that you can always explore and stroll around. It’s actually a place where I would prefer to go back if given a chance and spend for the rest of my life.

Message from the writer:

This article was created and published as part of the entry for @bmjc98 anniversary contest. It was actually a challenge that I have accepted in response to her previously published article (Getting To Know You More Challenge: When I Was A Kid). Also hoping that this article would also help me prove my worth here that I’m indeed an active writer and not just a spammer. Just like the other writers who joined in, I would also like to try my luck in joining that contest and hoping to get pick and be announce as part of the lucky winners. Wish me luck, Guys and good luck also to everyone who will be joining her contest as well.

3
$ 0.27
$ 0.15 from @bmjc98
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
$ 0.02 from @LucyStephanie
Avatar for GlenCanete
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I'm saving this po for later ha? but ya know, I experienced cutting some of my lolo's sugarcane when i was a kid lol. The good old days!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, Bro. I was really surprised to see the upvotes and the sponsorship. Thank you so much.. Na inspired ulit tuloy ako na magsulat ulit.. I now have enough balance in order to upvotes some articles that I'm visiting. Share sin natin sa iba yung blessing. Napaka saya kasi non! Yes, bro., you can keep it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh very nice childhood experiences. I was able to eat fresh sugarcane taken after harvest. So delicious. Haha. Have never ridden any carabao though. Oh well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad to you have enjoyed reading the article and able relate some of my childhood experiences. Thank you so much for upvoting it as well. It really means a lot. 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay. sayang pero entitled pa rin naman ako diba? hehehe sige sige try ko pa mag interact sa iba.. nag iinteract din naman sa kanila pero baka kulang pa din yun.. try ko pa din. salamat sa tips at sa upvotes ha.. good morning..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sayang kulang ng isa. Sana maging okay na account mo. Try to interact more sa ibang users pag me time ka. BAka need lang interaction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago