Stop, Don't Fake it

6 16
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

"To be content doesn't mean you don't desire more, it means you are thankful for what you have and patient for what's to come"

This is a world where flashy and classy is ruling. Most results of what we see is where people are living comfortably and adorable and the general mistake is copying what we see. Most people live a luxurious life they can't really afford. They fake it to look flashy in public just to be among. Anyone could quickly assume that they are all rich just by what they see, but little do they know that they go by the believe "fake it till you make it"

Everyone's dream is to make it and live a good life. To be independent and have wealth, being able to take care of ourselves and our family, and for every lady, to look classy. Looking good is good and everyone deserves something good.

During school days, both me and my friends take our time to look good for classes. I know my background and therefore, I don't try to look more than I can afford. But I have friends who follow the trend and fashion but right there in the hostel, I am the one who takes care of their stomach when hunger calls. Sometimes I use to think it just a school life and will always laugh over it but it keeps happening. One day, me and my roommates decided to spend the weekend with our friend her in her place. She accepted at first but told us to postpone the visit to another week which we refused. She agreed anyways and on that day of traveling with her, we were surprised to see her humble in her dressing.

This lady am writing about is a very flashy girl. She sprayed her hair and is always wearing long wig. To our surprise, she wasn't dressed as we know her. She looked so gentle and cute. Well,we kept that to ourselves and went to her house with her. The rest of the story was history anyways, as what we saw wasn't what she said. Things she've spoken of about herself and her town was almost exactly as opposite.

We went, we saw and now we know. Girls code activated! This my friend happens not to be the only one that fakes her life. Most of them still keep believing that they will keep faking it till they make it but the truth is that none of them are ready to make it. It is always easier said than done because they keep depending on someone else's pocket to look good.

Humans can easily believe what they see, but not everyone can easily be deceived by what they see. This faking of a thing has lead so many people into regrets. The impression and believe at first that turns to be unreal at last is always heartbreaking. Some people are just professional in doing this. People fake their looks and appearance, they fake even their character pretending to be nice, some fake even their food to take just a picture and post them on social media. Fake fake fake fake! What joy does that give?

In relationships

This is mostly about the men. Some men will disguise every aspect of them to impress a lady and win ber heart. The most common way they approach me is with money. Well money is good and I'll love to date a rich guy but not a fake one. I am so glad I never fall into that trap of a disguise. That apart,I have numbers of friends that tells me about their relationship. They complain the same thing about their partner; fake life. They say that they thought their boyfriend was as rich as he was before asking them out. It is just shameful to know that all the money spent was to lure them into the relationship. Now the wind has blown and the dried leaves are falling.

I know of a one month old marriage. The couple only dated for a while and the lady thinking she has found a gold mine got married to him and in just less than a month of their union, she found out that the man has been telling her lies.She couldn't take it anymore and filed a divorce immediately. This incidence left the whole town in shock. The man has successfully reaped what he showed.

We have cut our coat according to our size.

One thing I know is that, when a person expands his or her limit, they know. When a person is trying to impress others and displeases him or herself, it is that person that will suffer it alone. If you have rich friends, instead of copying their lifestyle and trying to impress them by looking flashy in the name of following the trend, humbly ask them to show you their source of income and maybe put you through the process not the result.

Right now in my stage of life, I know I love a five-star meal, but I can't afford it. The money a rich fellow might spend in a five-star meal can easily change some persons life. That doesn't mean I don't eat good food with what I have. If I see any opportunity to eat a five-star meal, I'll be in the front seat.

Sometimes I'll need money to do some little things at home just to help myself, but their will not be enough money for me to do everything as I want. I keep it low and work hard to make things better for me. Some people will spend someone else's life savings on a wristwatch that tells the same time with a rubber wrist watch. The difference is so clear and I will be the first to choose the expensive wrist watch. Yeah! I will be the first to buy it if I have enough money that is screaming in my bank account. Right now to be honest, I can't afford it and that's why I look so good in my leather wrist watch.

Some people will try to look flashy by spending more than they have just to buy the fake wristwatch that looks like the real one in the name of following the trend. Good for them though, but I wouldn't do that with my hard earned money.

Looking good, riding expensive cars and living a five-star life is our goal but we have to put in the work and copy the process not the result. We don't have to keep it fake hoping to make it.

Life has taught me to be humble and be on my lane with respect. A blessed water indeed is better than a cursed fried rice. Thanks for reading Lovelies. See you in next article.

@Gianna-B,2022.

Lead image credit: taken from unsplash.com

Picture taken by me

6
$ 1.23
$ 1.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

This understanding is much needed. As you said, especially in relationships.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's a truth dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Living fake life is so common in our world today that am afraid of competition, I don't want to compare my hard earn success to a fake one. That's why contentment really is key

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. Well spoken. We work for the better of the future

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why change ourselves for others? I mean for now what matter is that we are true to ourselves and will work ok the things we want in life

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks sis. I see no reason why people will claim to be what they are not

$ 0.00
1 year ago