Drawtober #4: Folkore

0 18
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

I finished my fourth drawtober prompt. Since the them is folklore ,I decided to base mine on a know cryptic urban legend: the Mothman.

The mothman is a legendary monster popular in West Virgina, US. It was supposedly sighted during the 60s.

Mothman Art by Tim Bertelink Source:https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/User:Triangulum#Uploaded_images

It was often described as this huge dark half-man half creature with huge wings and red glowing eyes. Depending on which version you hear, it only shows up during huge disasters either to warn people or it causes them. While the Mothman Diaries has helped jumpstart interest, this legend has grown in popularity ever since. The town where this originated even has a festival dedicated to him.

One of my favorite theories is that people simply mistook a barn owl for a monster. I decided it would be fun to make this version an owl/moth hybrid.

So I first started with the head:

I drew the rest of the body. The hardest part was figuring out what do with the wings. I gave and just posed with it´s wings closed.

I used my fine liner and then painted with colored pencils

I know everyone has their own version what this creature is supposed to look like. But I had fun coming up with my own version, even if it´s radically different from the more popular image.

My next prompt is gonna be ancient rituals, I´ll post it in next week.

Thanks for reading, if you like my content feel free to support me here or you can tip and follow me on other sites through Cointree


2
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ghostcat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

Comments