You are not a FAILURE.

18 51
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

The festive season can give birth to a series of problems for some people, I concluded on this after witnessing some things for the past 2-3 weeks. The discussion about celebrating Christmas is the topic many are having for some weeks now, it is worth it because this celebration comes once a year, and the holiday that accompanies it makes the celebration awesome. It allows us to catch up on lots of things, family, friends, and others.

Catching up with people we haven't seen for a while now sometimes usually turns out to be something we weren't expecting and this shouldn't make you feel like a loser. Celebrating the festive season based on our financial ability shouldn't make us feel like we are a failure, you can think of yourself to be whatever you like but referring to yourself as a failure because you can't celebrate like others or match the standard of people you haven't seen for a while is a wrong thing to do.


I didn't write this article to make any feel good because they can afford the big celebration for Christmas, I did it because it is what you need to know.

The past eleven months of the year have been stressful, troubling, and awesome, we made several attempts towards success. Some worked out well and some didn't, we made several decisions, shot at different opportunities but not all went as planned and we must understand that everything that went down which includes the success and disappointment in the previous month has added value to you.

Talking about value, it doesn't necessarily mean a car, money, and other material things. It might be that a lesson or knowledge you have acquired this year which could be all you need to be successful in the coming year, it might be an investment that isn't paying well today but has huge chances of changing your story for the better tomorrow. A few days' celebration shouldn't make you look like you have wasted the whole year except if you have truly done that by not trying to do any life-changing.

A short experience.

A few weeks ago, I got an invite to the old student reunion and doubted if I will attend due to my work. A classmate contacted me and ask if I will be attending the gathering, I said I wasn't sure and he said he won't be attending.

I asked why and he said that a lot has been going on in the Old student WhatsApp group but I wasn't aware because I am too busy to keep a tab on what they usually discussed.

He said some of the old students have bought cars and they will come to flaunt them, it would be bad as a senior to just go anyhow to the event. I couldn't help but laugh because I knew what point he was driving at, he felt that he wasn't doing well enough because his mates and juniors are living expensive life, flaunting all sorts of things on the WhatsApp group.

I felt disappointed and shared some things with him to make him understand that not everyone who is living large is successful and not everyone who isn't spending lavishly is poor.


Using myself as an example, I am the one who is supposed to be referred to as Baba Bukata (responsibility father). I have a lot of responsibilities and only God has been helping me bear them for years now, imagine if I had the money for a vehicle now - would I have bought one?

I wouldn't because I know that it would only add to my responsibilities, instead I would invest the money on something that would bring me more money and the burden on me can automatically be lessened because I have created a new source of income instead of doubling my expenses.

Anyone can mock me because I don't have a car but I can cash out my investment when I feel like I am capable of owning a car without stress. So seeing my mate or even younger ones flexing their cars doesn't make me a failure and it doesn't make you a failure as well.

Using others' success to rate your growth or success is wrong because we grow at a different rate in life, the things you see shouldn't make the things you have achieved worthless.

I made it clear that not attending would be for a greater purpose but he didn't specify if he would attend or not which is not my problem.

Another issue I stumbled on was a man lamenting how he couldn't afford Christmas clothes for his girls because business hasn't been going on well, he was saying silly about himself. He bought goods and the demand for it dropped, he wished he didn't do the business.

I asked if he haven't bought clothes for kids this year and he said he has bought several clothes this year so why would not buying clothes just once make him a terrible person?.


The festive season would pass and what would be left of you?

The season is meant for us to relax, enjoy everything we have worked for whether huge or small and also plan on how to make the coming year a bigger success.

Celebrating to impress or oppress others won't add any value to you or feeling depressed because you can't match others' way of celebrating would only complicate things for you mentally.

Some people will run into debt just to celebrate the festive season in a grand style, do we need that?

Your simple celebration with happiness before and after the season is a blessing and something to be proud of so let's enjoy by cutting our coat according to the material we possess.

Thanks for reading

Lead image...

12
$ 5.62
$ 3.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.05 from @Jane
$ 0.50 from @JustMyRambles01
+ 10
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

So many people feel the need to spend money this time of the year and it is very sad. I made sure that we only have useful presents this year. We focussed on the time spent with each other and enjoying the festive celebrations that would bring us together.

Even if you look at people who buy play stations and things like that for children - the children go to their room and play and the bond between parents and child is missing. I am not saying it is wrong, it's just that this time of the year for me is with my family. It is about bringing us closer and making us stronger for the year ahead.

I have also declined my school reunions. I never made any friends at school anyway so for me there is no reason to go back. I was always the "outcast" and the "failure" because I didn't have money to go to university. For me going back would be opening up old wounds with no purpose.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of persons are pressured to make their Christmas celebration the best they have gotten so far, but Christmas isn't an avenue to compete with others it's just a day to celebrate the birth of Christ in whatever way we can, as long as we are happy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let them mock if they want to, it's their problem. It won't change who you are and what you can do. A lot of people are concerned about what others would say or what they think of them... It's a crazy world but we need to do better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I keep saying it that the end of the year isn't to show your wealth or flaunt your wealth, don't over do... Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this write up, alot will go into debt because of this celebration forgetting that after this celebration the debt will be waiting for them .... Let us all enjoy this celebration with joy not minding what others think

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Others will give everything for one day celebration without minding tomorrow. Christmas means welcoming a new life with joy not just for a day 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with your point, just a day celebration is not worth putting ourselves at the risk of getting broke after the celebration.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder why some people take this one day celebration as life time investment for getting that there is life after Christmas

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Most of the time, these things come up as an act of immaturity. Trying to impress or oppress others by going out of your way is a terrible thing to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray they wise up before some of them find themselves in deep depth

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think some people will heed to your advice bro. They just feel like if the celebration is not huge and grand then it's not a celebration at all or may be they'd be ashame that people will look down on them. They just never consider themselves.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is certain a lot will turn a deaf ear to it, I prefer to live on an average for the whole year than having enough for a few months and going extremely broke in the others.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is so true, and you know what? Non to whom you did that spending for may be around to help you. You'll just be on your own think on how to recover.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right buddy,we shouldn't say negative things to ourselves due to the fact that our mates or younger ones are driving and buying the latest designs,we don't know what they did to attain such position so let's be mindful.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's another point, we really don't know how they got their wealth so we shouldn't be so concerned about their expensive lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you are right, my dear, the time will come when you will get it, do not worry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time will come that you'll have it too 🙂 just believe in the process..

$ 0.00
2 years ago