Not a wrong destination.

4 31
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

The little tertiary education I acquired after secondary school is not something I am in any way proud of, it was so stressful and challenging, and sometimes I just wondered why I had to go through all that stress.

I love education, I cherished it a lot like many kids and it was my dream to become someone great with education.


Becoming a pilot was my dream as a kid so that made me join the science class, I would have chosen otherwise if I had seen the future. I was so dedicated to studies just to make the dream come through but things didn't get go as planned.

After staying at home since 2009, I finally saved enough money to go to school in 2014. I was obsessed with computers so Computer science was what I chose, it was expected to be fun. I wanted to be an expert in hacking, programming, and many other things in that field.

I tried joining the Air force just to accomplish this dream but I didn't have the right connection to help me reach my dream.

I had lots of reasons for choosing computer science, I loved computers and I always believed that I could do a lot with it plus it is a very lucrative field. I thought it would help me become great just like many people I have met in the field, what I expected to be smooth took the route which almost made regretted going to school.


It was a sad experience then but I can tell you that I didn't go there in gain, studying computer science had a lot to do with my journey in life. I eventually got to understand that it wasn't a decision I just made myself, there was more to that decision.

It started with handouts issues, I ran out of cash after making the necessary payment was about $200 for the first year. I had to feed and transport myself and I got tired at some point. I couldn't afford handouts and it attracted several embarrassments.

That made me very famous in class, many times I just walk out before I get embarrassed and some lecturers pitied me and we got closer. Nigerian students can understand what handouts to lecturers, it is really annoying the way they behave as they survive on them.

I slacked off in the practical aspect, I couldn't practice because I didn't a laptop and couldn't afford one.

I got tired but didn't give up, I held on to the theory part which wasn't enough but I had to comfort myself with that.

Do you see why I said it wasn't fun?


The truth is that I was studying computer science to help my country, I was doing it to give myself a good life. Becoming a pilot would have been for the country but here we are today.

I haven't worked in that field and I doubt I can because my practical ability sucks even though I finished as a second-class upper, I can still do a few tricks but working as a computer scientist requires more than tricks.

The course is not a complete waste for me because it somehow channeled my path to where I am in life today. I intend to go back someday to learn more but not in the university, there are lots of computer institutes out there that would teach everything you need to know.


Not so much to tell about my course but I am happy with life and that's what matters.


I now work as a fish farmer, I write articles, and trust me for the fact that I would have chosen some things different in piloting if I had seen the future.

Lead image

8
$ 2.17
$ 1.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 4
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

The future can't be clear to us cos God is only one that knows everything. We can only trust the process, I am glad that you were able to scale through all the hard times and here you are today, you are proud of yourself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Only God knows the ways of man. We might have planned something big, but God's way is different and we won't always see result of what we expected but in another way.

Though it was hard for you then, but see how everything turned for you. The best is to be grateful for where you are and enjoying the moment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And I am happy for you George. The course you've take is you are happy with it. Now I know that you are a computer literate George. I'm sure you will learn more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm we all would have choose something else if we had seen the future But what matter now is that we are doing well and happy with whatever we are doing

$ 0.00
1 year ago