My First Earning...

27 71
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

I am not used to writing prompts, but there are some topics I wouldn't just be able to take my mind away from because of the unforgettable experience I had with them, they are good at bringing back things from the good old days.

It took me a while before I could search through my past to pick out my first earnings because this guy has been a hustler from childhood, I just bless God because many of us do not look like what we have been through in life. If SAPA had a conscience, it shouldn't even approach me again in life.

I use to be a child that is available to everyone in my environment and it made me very popular in the neighborhood. I wasn't useless, I am always eager to help and I still do my best to help people today.

I usually run errands, help people with putting on generators, and fetch water for free because we usually get free water on Saturdays from a Landlord so I usually fetch for the people in my compound and neighbors who I know are very busy at work on weekends. It was fun and I usually get tips but it wasn't for the tip though.

These things I helpย people with led to my first earnings, I was in SS1 then. I was fetching water on that fateful day when a rich woman in the neighborhood approached me that she needed someone to help her wash her car because she was going out and there was no time to drive to the car wash.

She had grown-up girls and I was wondering why they couldn't just wash it for her, I told her I am not sure if someone was doing such a job in the area and continued with my work. I went to fetch water again and saw that she was still there looking worried, I ask if I can help and she said okay.

She asked how much but I told her not to worry, she said no and that she was going to pay me so I said she should just give me anything she likes. I told her to bring the car outside but she said I will need to wash it in her compound so I finished fetching water and went there.

They had three cars so she pointed to the Pathfinder jeep and gave me the things I needed. I asked for a brush and packer, I started with brushing and cleaning the jeep interior, and washed the rubber foot mat, tires, and body. It took me longer than I expected and my body was aching immediately.

She was surprised at how clean the car was and asked if I have done it before and my answer was no. She said I washed it very well, she gave me two cans of flavored water and that was the first time I drank it. A pet drink, snacks, and 800 naira. I felt the money was too much, it shouldn't be more than 300-500 but she said she gave me that because I did a good job.


I went home and was scared to tell my mom because she would be angry I did something that stressful but I didn't have a choice but to tell her because it would be a big issue if she discovers by herself. I told her when she returned and handed over the money to her, she told me to get a piggy bank and start saving for the phone I have been dreaming about.

She wasn't angry and I became the woman's regular car washer for some time, she helped me a lot in return. I was able to save up for my java phone then and even supported my mom from the earnings.

The desire to earn more money came into my mind, it was really cool earning small tips. I started doing side hustles since I got exposed to earning my own money, one of which was gathering damaged phones in the neighborhood and getting paid for repairing them. I wasn't an engineer but I knew a close one and he gives me some percentage, I was happy to support my mom.


I got into trouble for a phone which made me lose some of my savings and stopped the stuff but everything taught me to be strong and independent.

Lead image.

20
$ 8.85
$ 8.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Ellawrites
+ 7
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

My first earning was 5k, it was my first salary. The day i was paid the money, i felt like i was floating in the air. I was so happy and proud of myself that this particular money, i worked for it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish I have the same energy and same neighbor like you, George.

Writing here is my first hustle, and I never tried working physically for other people, and I wish I can do it too so I can fully understand the efforts of people spending lot of times and energy just to earn money.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's fun to have the experience of working for other people. Not just about the money, but it exposes you to the behaviors of other people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are lucky man, coming from a poor home made did jobs starting from the age of 12 but I don't regret because it thought me a lot of things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's a very good thing you did. You did people a favor. but I think you've seen evil from them. i'm so sorry about this

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's wasn't evil, it was fun earning and I learned my lessons as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your first earning did pay off. In all we do,we should be strong and never depend solely on anyone.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right, learning to be independent is important because we won't be having people around us to help us always.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That experience of washing that woman's car has made you realise the thrill of making money at a young age and it influenced you towards doing different hustles, but sadly a lot of people aren't that way because will rather remain in their comfort zone of joblessness.

My own is similar to yours but mine was online, I did most of the jobs you can find online starting from a young age. My very first earning came when I was writing for a website back in 2013

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wow, I didn't get to do online things then. It could have been better if I started doing online stuff then, those experience then made us hard hustlers till date.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was like back then, so eager to earn money and gave it to my mom. It is because I saw how she is strugling with money. Every long vacations at school.while my classmate are enjoying the break, I was busy doing some part time jobs

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wow, that's so beautiful of you. Mom must be happy to see you helping her back then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe because I saw the hardship of my Mom. That is why I always strive to earn money.. I don't want to see her having a hard time

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Supporting the family pushed most of us to our first earning, and we should be proud of ourselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The first time I earned my own money it feel so overwhelming and great and the same as you my desire to earn money on my own skyrocketed.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, it is always like that. It will inspire you to earn more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's good to be productive.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Very good to be, we should learn to always be if we aren't.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember when I used to work for other people years ago. I am only a teenager and I worked as a saleslady of some vendors in the market. I did not hesitate because I did earned more money aftee that.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is always inspiring to earn as a teenager, you just want to keep making more money. Why not? The energy is there so making is always on our my mind immediately we ear the first money.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, you have really tried. Whenever you write about what you have passed through, I do imagine that it and it looks as if I was there with you. Thank God for life is all I can say.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Growing up wasn't easy man, we just bless God for how far he has brought us in life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some of us started life early and I know that there are always some people or should I say neighbors that do take advantage of helpful kids, back then, I use to amend shoes, not that I learned it though, but I saw the tool and go into it, I stopped it when some neighbors were playing me, they will bring a lot of damage shoes, both the ones that last worked 10 years ago ๐Ÿ˜‚ and give me to fix, but the pay is always too small for the stress that's how I stopped it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Too bad they took advantage of you, that's Nigerians problem. Life started for many of us as a kid, what can we do since our journey went through those places.

Grateful to God that we are fine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You mean that was how your first earning went, so good and amazing

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, that's it. Beautiful memories every where.

$ 0.00
1 year ago