Little surprise spreads love and happiness.

25 48
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

The days are running out so quickly, the time between the weekends is shorter than it use to be. I use to observe it when I was younger but it looks so new to me again like I haven't experienced such a season before. Just a few days ago, we greeted ourselves with "happy new week" and by tomorrow we will say "Happy Weekend" to one another again.

I told my younger brother that I can feel Christmas in the air but he laughed it off and teased me, I wasn't offended since I am used to his style.

The Christmas season is important to me not because of the celebration but because it holds a very special place in my heart, this season was the last time I saw my dad and it's been over a decade. He is not dead but we live millions of miles between us but I still love to hear his voice and be sure he is doing great, those memories are very precious to me and even though I am losing the touch, the early morning cold during the festive season brings the memories back.

Thursday has been great so far, something happened today and it really made me happy.

There is this man ( who is a vulcanizer) around the farm who is very jovial and supportive, we usually talk and gist a lot. He does share his life experience with me very well because he wanted me to learn lessons from his mistakes and he has a lot to offer such as land if I am ready to own mine, he advertises the fish farm as it belongs to him and he has brought good customers to purchase fishes.

Another thing he does that touches my heart is that he usually gets cow waste (intestines, fat, and others) for me to feed my fishes. He is an expert when it comes to killing cattle for events so whenever he is been called for a job he doesn't hesitate to bring the waste no matter how tired he is.

Earlier this week, he told me on the 25th of November is his birthday and I immediately had it in mind that I would give him a small token but he mentioned that he hasn't marked a birthday in his life before and I was surprised.

Plans changed immediately but I didn't know what to do, I had the intention of getting a small cake and probably wine but last night while I was at the farm, a caterer around the farm approached and ask if I could support them with some things because they wanted to do a surprise for the man. That should make you understand how people loved him in the neighborhood, I asked what the plan was and she said, she would make a cake, some snacks, and drinks.

That sounds perfect, it would relieve me of the stress so I gave her a few bucks and a few kilos of fish for pepper soup. She was happy and I made it clear that no one must know about my contribution to the surprise to which she agreed.

When I went to the farm very early this morning to feed the fishes, she was done with the cake so she gave me some because she wanted me to have it due to my contribution, I was reluctant to take it but deep in my heart, I was happy because it is hard for me to resist cake.

I took it and went home to devour it, it tasted really good but my siblings wouldn't allow me to enjoy it.

On getting to the farm this afternoon to feed the fishes again, I didn't see the trace of birthday but I wasn't bothered. I saw the caterer running towards me, she said she knew I would come at noon so she waited till I came around. Women can be very funny, they have gathered and we all marched to his shop with the cake, he was surprised.

We all gathered around him to say a prayer and he was saying "amen" with a shaky voice, I saw his face filled with emotions and he was not expecting it. He couldn't alter a word after the prayer and when he did, he said "Ese gan, Inu mi dun lopolopo". It means, Thank you very much, I am extremely happy.

The celebrant

We all departed and the women went back to their businesses, I saw the caterer whispering to the celebrant's ears. I was about to take off when the man ran towards me and said, thank you very much in Yoruba. I am a shy type and wouldn't engage in such conversation so I just smiled and went my way, the celebration would kick off by 4 pm because he has plans of entertaining people since he already got some drinks for his friends but it seems our surprise made it bigger because it drew the attention of people in the neighborhood.

The celebrant and some of the women.

I will miss the party because I won't be going there until 7 pm when I will feed the fishes again and what matters most to me is the happiness on the man's face.

I felt happy playing a little part in making the man's birthday a memorable one, I think there are little things we don't take seriously that can spread love and happiness in the heart of many. Let try to always do the little we can to share love and happiness.

I miss my dad and I am sure he does too but he wouldn't admit it, wishing him and his family a happy life.


I am sorry I didn't upload the faces in the image, I hope you understand why. If I had my way, I wouldn't like to share the pictures at all but I just need to share the proof of the surprise.

Lead image...

14
$ 8.72
$ 8.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 9
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

That man plays a special role in the neighborhood's heart. Therefore, I conclude that he's really a good man, not just only good for one person but to everybody, that is why the neighborhood throws him a surprise birthday gift. I'm glad that you are part of it, George! In his heart, he's grateful. I'm wishing that God give him more strength each day. Nowadays, showing care, love and compassion are very much appreciated!

Take care. ^.^

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The cake looks yummyn🙂.. For sure he is so happy.. I remember when my friend had a birthday.. Me and my other friends decided to cook and buy cake for her.. She was so happy and surprised.. I was the one who purchased stuff for viands... And my other friend baked a cake.. I suddenly missed them 😢

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess you guys are living very far from each other that's why you are missing them a lot. These little acts of kindness go a long way in our heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was craving when I saw your cake haha so yummy hahaha..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We definitely have the same thing in common, it is hard to resist cake whenever I see it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeahh i love sweet cake hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He must be a good man for everyone to celebrate him this much. God bless hyou all for putting a smile on his face

$ 0.02
2 years ago

He is indeed a good man, people who seek for good for others will definitely have a good life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hearing about him, I can say that he is a kind person, and I am glad to hear the way you all tried to make his day special. He must be happy to receive this surprise. I agree sometimes our little move can brought a bundle of joy for someone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

He is indeed a kind person, yeah little things we do to others can go a long way in their life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a yummy cake! Your so sweet. Im sure they will gonna appreciate and feel love on it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

He felt loved and I know that will encourage him to do more good with his life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Time is flying like horse . More faster then before and busy every one. You spend Thursday with lot of good Productive things . Religious holidays like Eid and Christmas has great importance in our lives and agreed to you that they has special place in our hearts.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed, we cherish the moment in our heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I feel emotional seeing such love from people towards him. This shows how good the man has been to everyone because if he's a wicked person, who would dare do such for him? 😅😅

God will also bless you for your kindness in the Celebration too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, we will definitely be rewarded for the things we do and that's exactly what happened to the man.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd like to emphasize that the cake looks so delicious. I wonder what's the name of that cake?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think it is just a butter cake but it taste great and that's all that matters.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awnnnnn, with a happy moment , you end up putting a smile in the face of the man, wish I was there to see the grin on the man face.

Doesn't matter how many achievement you have made , but what's important is the number of people who you have put smile on their faces. The man think he will never celebrate his birthday in a big way, but you gave him a better hope.

There's are so many people around that are always care and love, do we make any attempt in showing then love, is not mandatory we do it in a big way, but the little we give we still go a long way.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What if I told you I am in that man's situation as well but I am still looking forward to the day I am going to celebrate it big as well. I am not just bothered because I am always broke and the year I had enough money for it, covid kicked in.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! Well I'm also in your shoes, haven't celebrate mine in an elaborate way as well , maybe I will say it because I don't fancy birthday, but I will surely brake that yoke one day...lol

Anytime you wanna rang the bell, just lemme Know, Mary must be there to grace the occasion 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's so sweet of you. For sure your father misses you from time to time. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope he doesn't because his action doesn't show it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really nice of just, I'm sure you putting a smile on that man face would go a long way in his life. And he will surely remember that very day until the rest of his nice, I really love what you did.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Definitely, he will remember today's celebration for good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago