Financial discipline: Don't give them all

1 28
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago


I came up with this post doubting my opinion about it, I doubted my opinion because I wrote it based on my background, experience and I could be judging or concluding from a wrong angle. There are times we write from experience and knowledge which contradict what's happening in reality and that's one of the reasons I always want feedback to help me understand if I am on track with my ideas.

Growing up without wealth has taught me and guided me on how to live in a world where we can easily lose ourselves because of how intoxicating wealth can be.

We often don't see the need to teach financial discipline to kids and when we try to start it, they have grown out of the zone. Financial discipline starts from an age bracket and when I use the word child, I hope we all understand that toddlers are not included.

Kids don't necessarily need things before they ask and the parents must put them through with the knowledge they need when acquiring things.

I believe that financial discipline starts with making children understand the difference between want and need because those lessons would be a guide to them on how they spend money which starts from the tips they get from their parent to the extent when they will be independent.

I am really happy when I see parents who go out of their way to make their children feel very comfortable in life. It matters a lot because they embrace their responsibility of bringing these kids to the world but things are changing pretty fast and children these days have so many things they want in their possession even though they are not necessary.


I called it not necessary because they can live very well without those things but they just want it because they see it in other children's possession.

This is where the issue of want and need comes in because if they understand the difference, they wouldn't ask or bother you for things that ain't even necessary. When kids can handle their urge for want and need, they become wise enough to save their money when there is nothing worth using it for at the moment.

This brought up the topic "Should they have it all? 

I don't believe in parents providing everything that a child request because it doesn't make them value the importance of labor which eventually makes them believe they can achieve anything with ease not knowing what both parents are going through to make through to. 

Providing for the children should come in majorly for their needs and not want. As parents, we must focus on their needs and differentiate the want, let them why it is important you do some things for them and don't do some as well. 

Benefits:

It helps them to know the values of money and effort at the same time because they will understand if you have explained to them that the money available can only cater for the needs and not want because after exhausting your hard earn money on wants and the needs arrive, it is going to be a big problem. 

Not giving children all they want triggers their ability to save and they are like if they don't get it for me, I will save and do it myself. After saving they start having the thought that, how would I suffer myself all these days by saving and use the money to buy something that is not important to me?. 

It is very important as parents not to always give the children all they request. 

Let me know your thoughts about it and share your opinion well.


6
$ 1.29
$ 1.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
$ 0.02 from @Olasquare
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Like you,we're in the middle class and my experience thought me to be frugal and save money not until last Sunday when my son was scammed by 200 k by an unidentified person..this situation makes me think why there are people doing such things to like us when we only want is to live a very comfortable life,how depressing😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago