Don't wait till you are in need again...

27 67
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

I am poor at keeping up with people, I always try hard to stay in touch with friends but I usually slip off somehow. I don't know if it happens naturally or I am just been lazy to keep up with calling, texting, hanging out, and so on.

That's not the point, I was forced to drop about 30% of that habit because as of now, I am still terrible at it but I try my possible best to keep in touch with people. Life has somehow taught me lessons about keeping in touch with people but I find it hard not to make those mistakes again.

Every person you come across in life has a role to play in our journey, we don't know what they will do until the time comes and it is not necessarily going to be about their first approach, some people would be good and some would teach us lessons the hard way. My journey in life till this point I am today has been about grace, it has been about connecting edges to edges, and the people I never thought would have an impact on my life have done massive things but I never kept in touch with them.

A lot of people know my story, growing up wasn't fun. From the point I finished secondary school, I have been trying my possible best to become someone in life but how would a nobody like me achieve my dream when there is no one to help?

I don't care about how independent you are in life, you still need people. It doesn't have to be for financial reasons, there are things we still look up to people for. Even the richest men in the world still look up to some people for things we might not know about.

In my case, I looked up to people for everything I needed to survive and become someone in life. I feel stupid doing away with those people, what if their journey with me doesn't end there, what if they have bigger opportunities I can get from them, what if I will need them at a crucial stage in life.

Doing away with them wasn't intentional, I just notice I gradually lose the connection we have and I will somehow be trying to tie the loose ends of our relationship when the need arises again which is a very terrible habit.


Today a family who hasn't reached me for a long time called and I was surprised because I wouldn't have believed it would come to pass even if a prophet told me it would happen.

What would someone whose parents have it all need from someone like me?

He needed a school survey in a part of Lagos, I didn't have the data as well but he knew I could help him out since I worked with a marketing brand and we were into school sampling, it is an activity where we visit schools to showcase products.

I told him I was going to give him feedback but it would be a difficult one for me to do as well because I haven't said hello to my former boss since I left the job myself, despite being an open and jovial person. I was surprised when he sent me a birthday message on WhatsApp last year and after replying to him, I never attempted to reach him again.

The problem is how do I connect with him? How do I make him feel that I deserve the help?

Seeing my call would make him believe I want to say hello but he would feel disappointed if the request follows.

I thought about it deeply and he is not the only one I have ended the connection with, he must surely feel the same way I felt when I got the call.


I was talking to someone about it and she said, " I neglected a lot of people as well, I feel ashamed to call them for help today". I want to believe that we are not the only persons guilty of this habit, it is a common habit for many of us. We only remember some important people in our life when we need their help which is very bad, reaching out to them once in a while shouldn't be a problem especially when they have played a role in our lives.

This act doesn't stop between humans, some of us even behave like that to our creator. We don't remember God until we are in a tight situation and we need divine intervention, the worst of it is that some of us wouldn't even remember to say a thank you after God comes through for us.

The fact is that there is no excuse except if the person doesn't want to have anything doing with us due to reasons best known to them, and aside from that, technology has helped us breach lots of barriers when it comes to communicating with people regardless of their location across the world.


The good things some of them did for us can't be paid back probably because the exact favor can't return, they are in a better position than we are or some other reasons but keeping in touch with them would make them feel or know that they had impacted our life beautifully.

What's your excuse?

I bet you don't have one, I understand these things just happen naturally and it is better to make amendments immediately we realize how terrible we have been towards the beautiful people in our lives.

I believe that we all had a great weekend, mine was great until the rain caught me at the farm again. I am shivering while completing this article and I hope the cold would be gone by the time I wake up.

Wishing you all a beautiful day and a great night, thanks for reading.

Lead image.

19
$ 15.30
$ 14.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
+ 13
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Soy Mas menos parecida a ti en cuanto a la presa de llamar y contestar o enviar me sages. No sé porque pasan estas cosas pero pasan. Pensé era la única asi pero veo que no. Y al final me da alegría pues andaba como que asustada. Linda sea tu mañana y que tengas un feliz día mis saludos desde Cuba

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree,no matter how successful someone would be, but he is always in need of someone to help him.We should always go up for good relations with others specially with our friends. You should have some green tea to avoid cold.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is impossible to say you won't need the help of others in life, you definitely need it at some point and we shouldn't ignore people until the time comes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

George ! I am happy to read your story and sad also. We should remain connected with people. We should text, call without any reason. It strengthens the realtionship. But it also true some of us only call message when we need them or need favour. I believe on self-made person. And I respect them all. Inshort excuse beats the love and friendship

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You get my point, we should reach out to them when we are comfortable. It shouldn't be when we are only in need.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually know how to keep in touch with people but as you have rightly said most time we forget them. At least in a month I do check through all my contact lists to check those I haven't talk to in a while and I will talk to them by calling them. All these I do becusse we never know the offer they can do to us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A once in a month thing is not bad after all, I would be happy if I can do that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did you just screened through my heart before publishing this? Lol. I'm getting fond of this fault and I can't just help it. I've tried multiple times to kill the attitude but it's stronger than I thought. Ealier last month, I summoned a "caring heart" to be active on calls and care. I called one of my bosses that we've not seen for 3years, to be sincere, the bond was far away. It pained me. My real self want to awaken this aspect of life but the other side of me is fighting hard😪

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Something we fail to understand is that these people sometimes have opportunities for us but because we are far away they just divert it somewhere else.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can believe I slept off while going through article, I just woke up this morning and continue from where I started.

I'm guilty of these things you're talking about and I could understand what you're saying even more than you thinking of, I'm a type of person that don't know how to Keep people for a very long time , even when I have the whole opportunity to call them and get in touch with them.

You made me to remember what I encounter in school this week, my Friend paid into the wrong portal at school and she needs to get it done before exam, I was like had it been have going to great that man he wouldn't have help her out, the funniest thing, the man will text I would find it difficult to reply just because I'm not always available on social media..lol

So I just feel reluctant to go and met him, I end up going there and luckily for my friend, he helped her out when I told him....

We should not wait untill we need someone help before we ask them, we need each other in our journey of life, leverage on each other to get what we want.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Can you imagine, some immature person wouldn't want to help out because they will feel like you only come when you need them.

I am glad he was able to help you guys out, we have to work on that part of our life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true, me too I was surprised he was able to help out . I'm trying to change that bad attitude of mine , and im working on it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so guilty of this. I have tried to become better at it but to no avail. I sometimes remember to call some people but before you know it i have forgotten to do so, it is really bad and i really need to get better

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Many of us are guilty of this, we just have to get better at reaching out to people who have played important roles in our life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately, I don't even know my relatives 🤣 only those living within our compound. Believe me, I don't interact with them.. Only when they visited home and special occasions I need to attend to.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know very few of them and I mostly interact online because we stay in a state far away, they haven't been good to me though but I don't hesitate to help when there is a need for me to do so for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sadly, this is true. It is just natural sometimes because let's face it, there are too many people to keep up with even when we already know those who are important to us. I used to get angry at people back then when they call me after a long time and the next thing is they make a request. I feel sad and used because some of them don't even remember my birthday and yet they are making requests but now I got to know that it might not be intentional...

They can't keep up with a lot of people and we are all guilty of this too. I do what I can and then move on even if their next call is a request... It hurts but what can I do? We all need one another and no one can make it out here all alone...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have this friend we have been together for decades and we communicate a lot. I forgot her birthday this year and she called me at night asking if I am still alive because she never believed it.

Many times, we allow life challenges to interfere with how we relate with people.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow... Just imagine that. She must have felt something was off. That's so true...we allow life to get in the way of how we relate with others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To keep up with people seem to be a big problem for me as well. I keep procrastinating until it gets too late. Some might see it as pride, but it really is not.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is not pride, it happens naturally but we can always make amendments though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I share the same problem too. Keeping up is no my specialty at all. I really want to pick up my phone and call but the next minute something else has overwhelmed me. Well to make up for it, I try to text every now and then! I know its not enough but at least I'm trying.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Your situation is better than that of many of us because I usually don't remember them at all until there is need to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To become someone in life,it takes hard-work and good plans to achieve the goals you need,we just need to make plans and work with people to achieve a goal btw what you said is very common nowadays among everyone,we totally forget about who helped us when we were nobody and then when we need help me would go back to them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The thing is that we are too occupied with the tasks life has thrown at us and it keeps us away from the people who care about us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am also bad at remembering People until I need help from them and by the time I want to request from them, I feel embarassed because I only came when I needed something. The truth is we are always busy and we can't reach out to everyone on our contacts. We can only remember them when their thoughts comes into our mind. It's not our fault though.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We have a lot to handle and it is the reason why these things happens but out of no time, we can create time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago