Correcting a mistake from the past.

14 77
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Having ten minutes to go back and make an amendment from the past is something I would love, it looks very easy to quickly travel to amend just one thing if it is possible to travel back in time but it is difficult to choose from the long list of things I would have loved to fix from the past.

It was the beginning of a new week when I got a notification from one of the blogging community I engage on that the newly built time machine by the community scientist and engineers needs to be tested to be sure if the invention was a success. The first test was good since  @Princessbusayo traveled to the future and return safely through the machine, she came back with the news about what the world and cryptocurrency would look like in the future, she kept some things a secret because they were personal.

(She mentioned a few coins that pumped by over %1k, you can ask her about the coins for yourself.)


We are certain about traveling to the future and now, we are going to test going to the past and some members are showing interest so we have decided to give everyone a chance to go back to the past for just 10 minutes to amend an error they made from the past.

To select whoever will go to the past, we all need to convince the community that we are worthy of the trip. - Community admin


This was an excellent opportunity for me to go back in time to do a lot of things but the time isn't enough so I have to pick one out of the most important things which might be considered by the community and earn me a ticket to the past.

I had to put a lot of things into consideration, my relationship life, my family, my career, finance, and many other things. It was tough but I was able to single one out, it was a simple act of disobedience that I wish I could go back to amend which could have changed my life for good.


I played a lot of football growing up, I played on the street and couldn't count the number of times I was punished for it. I had so much passion for football and I saw myself doing it internationally someday, I have written about why I stopped football due to injury but I didn't mention how disobedience ended my football dreams.

We were preparing for a football audition organized by an international club back then, we were eager to showcase our talents. We were going to the field from time to time just to keep our form intact and in the process of preparing, I got injured badly. It was so bad that I had to stay away from football for some time and when I felt okay to return, it was difficult to do some things.


On that day, my mom warned me not to play football because she dreamt I was injured. She had such a dream when I was very little and it happened despite locking me at home that day, I tore my lower lip while jumping at home.

That day, I was disobedient and broke a bone. It was the end of my football career because I was grounded for up to 3 months and before the big injury, I have broken my smallest toe, torn my leg palm, and had many minor injuries. I was warned about getting more injuries then.

I was prone to injury because I played as a striker and we play on bad grounds for the love of the game. I have so much faith that football could have turned my life around, I wasn't very sure but I could have possibly been one of the good players out there today.

Ten minutes is too much to tell my younger self not to disobey my mom on that day and probably my story could be different.

I could have gone for the audition, probably got lucky like some of my mates, and fulfilling my dreams by now.

Few of my friends then made it to Europe through football even though they aren't famous and some played in other Africa countries, I didn't know what the future held for me with football and I would have been eager to know but been disobedient changed it all.

Disobedience is one of the common habits among humans and it has affected us in one way or the other, there are times we feel like our parent's warnings are mere threats not knowing that they know and understand a lot of things better than we do.

It is when we see the aftermath of the things we were warned about we then understand that they said a lot of things to protect us.

Luckily for some people, they were able to get over the consequences of their disobedience while some got stuck in it forever. Not all advice can be taken but we must take time to consider all this advice carefully to avoid regrets in the future.


Feel free to share with you us one thing you will love to travel back in time to change.

This article was written by me and first appeared as a contest entry on Hive.

Lead image

15
$ 7.73
$ 7.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 9
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

I wish I could travel to the past as well to correct my mistakes. But I guess, if I do that, the present will change and I might not like the consequences. Better do better things now and don't let history repeat itself

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Stepping out from the past is the huge relief to us, making mistakes is normal unless isbwe don't learn from it then it would be useless, past is past people said. Yes we really should be abide what parents wants to us if it will be really brought us to good life.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's right, every mistake we make in the past is meant to be a lesson we need to learn for the future sake.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I believe in letting the past be the past but one thing that I would love to change is spending time with my dad.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is best when we don't tamper with what is passed, you must really miss him.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know if it is my network but your image is not appearing on the post. Just a link but no image. Can't you edit and bring in your image that you have sourced?. Nice travel to the past, anyways.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Readcash doesn't display images after you have opened the post, you can only see the image before opening it. Thanks for the visit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was just like that when I was a kid and I was purely a winger mainly because of my speed and accuracy when I shoot but I started receiving different tackles until one time someone tackled me and I fell on my wrist and since that time I never had chanced to play ball because hand is also useful when it comes to football, you will definitely understand this as a striker. Because of how I got injured time to time, I changed to a midfielder and then my sprinting days was over and after my secondary school days, I just finally lost interest in playing for any team.... If you see me play football now, I'm just playing it to pass away time or when a Player is needed, I just fill in.. but I still enjoy playing sometimes

$ 0.02
1 year ago

If Nigeria had a better system, most of these injuries really shouldn't be a problem but the issue of not getting proper medical attention after the injury is the issue.

Our story looks very similar but I see don't think your parents were against it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Humans are prone to make mistakes, and the most important thing is we learn from them. We live a life filled with "had I known" simply because we make mistakes. Disobedience is one thing that costs people in life, and according to your story, it did put an end to your football dreams. A ten minutes trip to the past is well enough to correct your mistakes, and so also me and everyone out there. Sadly it's how life has been programmed, but when we look back, we wonder how different things could have turned out. Nice to meet you..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are right, every human wished that they did something differently but many of these things have been destined.

It is nice meeting you too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe its one if the reason why you love football games now coz its your dream too

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I still love the game a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago