01: Your title can make a difference.

35 64
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

I read a lot of posts on noise cash about the typhoon that happened in some parts of the Philippines and it aches my heart to see lives and property go through some danger.

Many went through it while some couldn't, I pray that God will restore peace and everything that was lost will be restored in abundance. May the soul of the people who passed away rest in perfect peace.

With my little experience as a baby writer, I have learned huge lessons about writing articles and I would like to share them in series. They are important things every writer ought to know.

What is the first thing that comes to your mind when preparing to write an article?

In most cases, the topic comes first but it is different for some writers because we get our inspiration differently. What inspires writer A might not give writer B inspiration. Aside from that, we all have a different style of developing our content, every writer is unique at what they do.

As easy as we think writing is, it requires creativity. I admire the efforts every writer on the platform put into coming up with an article daily, it is not an easy task.


Using myself as a case study.

The topic comes first for me always, it gives me the perfect view of how my article would be structured. There are times when the content comes first and that's when I am writing a real-life story.

In that case, the body of the story would determine the title of the article.


A lot of us don't understand the power the title of an article carries, we are sometimes not smart putting words together to become a title. The title we give our article can make a difference when it comes to getting the attention of readers out there.

Have you experienced a scenario when you write an article in which the subject is similar to someone else own but the person would get lots of views and engagement more than you did?

During my days on Uptrennd, I made an article about me getting married over the weekend. The body of the article was about relationships but it has nothing to do with me getting married and a lot of people trooped in just to wish me happy married life.

Tricking people into reading the article is not the point I am trying to pick, the power the title had was able to bring people to read the article.

Qualities of a good topic

This might sound silly but every good topic has qualities and applying them might just turn things up for your great content because I understand that a lot of people come up with great articles but their title doesn't inspire people to read.

I am at fault with this because on several occasions, I have skipped articles because the title sounds boring, and reading a boring article is the last thing I want to do when I am willing to engage on the platform.


It must be attractive

An article title must be as attractive as possible because it is the first thing people see in your content.

I have seen low quality articles get lots of engagement because of the title. You click on the article because of the title and you will eventually be disappointed but the author has achieved what he or she wanted.

I am saying you should trick people with your article title and end up writing rubbish, it would discourage people from reading whenever your article pops up again. A great article must be complemented with an awesome title.


It must mirror the body of the article

A good title must give people an insight into what your content is about, which would boost your chances of getting more readers for your content.

It would prepare the readers' minds of what to expect from the article, it would also help them flow with the message in the article.


It must be as simple as possible

What role does simplicity play in an article title?

You must make sure that the words are easy to understand, we know you are good with vocabulary but save them for the content in the article.

If your grammar brings confusion instead of curiosity, you might turn off the reader's mind.

Another thing that has to do with simplicity is keeping your title as short as possible, writing a whole paragraph as a title won't do you any good.

Understanding the power your title posses can give an edge over writers even though you are writing about the same concept.

You can capture the heart of people and make them always come to visit your article but remember that having an awesome topic doesn't make up an article, the content must match or surpass the expectations of your readers after your topic must have captured their hearts.

Join me tomorrow for another writing lesson, kindly share your thoughts about the topic.

Thanks for reading.

Lead image

17
$ 7.58
$ 7.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 13
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Por lo pronto también he estado escribiendo mis artículos según el título, ya que estoy en una dinámica en donde nos dan una lista de tema para que los desarrollemos y así hacer crecer la comunidad en español. La cosa es que veo la lista y me voy imaginando que puedo contar a partir del título de cada uno.

Todo lo que planteas es de gran ayuda. Gracias. Es un gusto leerte, espero pronto estar escribiendo como tú y aportar algo importante como tu lo haces.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said bruv. The title of you article is the first point of contact to your readers. It's great to make it spicy so it could attract.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have rightly said, our article should a catchy title and also a good content to support it so that our readers won't be disappointed at us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Full of information and learning in this article I'm blessed to read it. I'm even observing it that people will gonna read something when their attention was attracted by the title. So title is really the first important thing to consider. It is just me? But when I'm writing a poem, the last thing I'm doing is to make a title. I already finish the whole poem first before thinking of a title. I sometimes do that in writing an article

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Some write-ups requires you to write the article last, inspiration comes from different source. There are time when title comes last.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very apt article! 👏 I remember when I newly joined this platform, I researched a lot about content writing and it included how to write a magnetic title. Most of the things I read about during my research has been said by you in this article also

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks man, I appreciate your compliments. The new article is out on image sourcing, you might find it helpful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I have seen it sir, I will check it out as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most times i write the title last. I do have conflicts picking between different titles. I know how important a title is and as you said, the title might bring in lot of audience but what will make them appreciate it is the content.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Both the title and content must work hand in hand, there is no point in deceiving people with title and not giving them a good content.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I once fell a victim of reading rubbish (sorry to say)because of a catchy topic. In as much as much as we need attention from via out topic, it should totally agree with the contact. I wholeheartedly agree with this write up💪

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I stumbled on many articles like that just because the title was catchy, imagine if the content were great just like the title. I would visit the author on a regular basis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I get a lot from people who just assume the content of the post by the title and the clickbait you did on Uptrennd exposed that hahaha. I like my title going in line with my post, of course. The funny thing is, sometimes I pick my title after writing an article and often times I don't know what to write but the moment I know the title, everything flows...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Honestly the clickbait exposed a lot of people, even the guardians who were preaching about spamming. They fell for the title and I was really surprised, I eventually took the post down to avoid people having proof for a guardian's mistake.

The inspiration comes in different forms and it makes everyone writing unique

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣🤣😂🤣 even the guardians... They can't practice what they preach hahaha. Too many articles to read 🤣🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They have too many tasks that can make them skip the points in articles.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, sometimes the content will be be just excellent. But it might get unnoticed as the title may not be apt.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true, some beautiful content has been written by people because of the title.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not into title, I am into the user. Whatever story it is, I'll read coz there is something you could get at the end of each story..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I get your point, you are a senior writer who loves to acquire more knowledge from reading as well.

Not everyone read as you do, I am guilty of this same thing and I appreciate your effort in reading believing that there is always a message at the end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Title is the first thing which come to grab our attention, and It depends on the writer how attractive title he choose.Thank you for this tip.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My experience sometimes is Im having the title but when I construct the sentence it turns out to be different from the title, so I replace the title

Thanks for the information buddy:) It will helps alot especially im not a good writer

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There are times when our title contradicts the body of the article and a change isn't bad at that point.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right! Sometimes the title of an article is what made other readers read it but the content must be great too for them to finish reading the whole thing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Both title and content must work together, there should be a good balance between them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered the assignment at Uptrennd University then (trickysbait) or something. The title would be like a trick in luring you to reading the post. That is the power of the title for your article. I also do love finding a topic first before working on the body and its content. Though some aren't good in finding the best title and we can find them on this platform.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, UU days inspired me to do this, and I discovered here that a lot of good content creators ain't getting the justified engagement on their content.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is such a helpful and informative post. Thanks @George_Dee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because most of the users only read the first line while scanning posts which is a good title entice them to read your content. The k you for sharing!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, that's true. A lot of people select what to read and the title is one of the important things that they put into consideration.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Having a good and engaging title will attract readers to open your article. And of course, it must be related to your content, or else it will just be clickbait.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, it would end up as clickbait. A good title attracts readers and it boosts the engagement on an article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey, thanks for stopping by the community. I already put you in auto approved. You are right about everything. You need a way to get attention for new users to enter your article. You always have to improve day after day to get a little more attention. Greetings friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Auto??? I feel very honored. It is important we always improve our skills to get more attention, structuring our content is very important.

$ 0.00
2 years ago