Transferring From Tourism to Comelec Office

4 65

It is inevitable that there will be challenging circumstances that will alter the direction of what we want to pursue when we are truly at the pinnacle of the part of our lives that we enjoy doing. The hardest part of saying goodbye is when you meet people in your workplace and you are deprived of the opportunity to make the most of your time to get to know them better. We are starting to learn and we have already adopted those around us in our workplace. But it is inevitable that unexpected events will suddenly emerge.

To re-endorse the new office we will be moving to, PESO called us once more. There was an unexpected emergency because Comelec is currently helping people register while short-staffed, so they asked for more people who can assist them as office clerks in their office. I am one of the SPES beneficiaries who had to leave the Tourism office and who moved to the Comelec office. It is very innovative because from field tourism-related work we need to assist and talk to people in the Comelec. Being assigned to this office presents a significant challenge for me because there are so many people who must register within the allotted time that it is inevitable that we will run into some applicants who are irate and we need to calm them down.

Since our working hours begin at 8, I usually arrive at the office at 7:30 in the morning, but earlier that day I made an extra effort to be on time. When I arrived at 7 o'clock, there were many people waiting to register. My supervisor's estimate of the number of people in the queue was also low; in addition to the vulnerable individuals (PWDs, senior citizens, and pregnant women) who must be given priority, we were supposed to help 130 people daily. We received a number of complaints from applicants who weren't fortunate enough to get a slot for today as soon as the morning arrived. Here, we have actually been cursed by those who are just trying to help us. Although we were moving too quickly to properly complete their forms, we all made an effort to remain as calm as we could.

Time was passing by so quickly that we were about to leave for work again when we realized it was already afternoon. To further expedite the processing of the applicants' documents, we had the experience of eating while conversing with them. Terrifying, stressful, and incredibly difficult. I will do everything in my power to learn as much as I can about human accommodations and effective interpersonal communication during the next two weeks that we will be in the Comelec.


Just a heads up folks, I'm going to publish some late posts about my life in the coming days. I apologize if I wasn't able to write consistently since I was rather busy these days.

You can check a few of my previous works here

Disclaimer: I am neither a psychologist nor a financial advisor, and all of my pieces were done for entertainment purposes only. What I've written here is merely my personal opinion, and any statements made are based on my personal views and should not be taken as fact. Always do your due diligence.

Lead Image is from Unsplash

Support and Follow me here:

https://read.cash/@GelayyLumiere

https://noise.cash/u/Gelayy

5
$ 1.66
$ 1.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @SuperJulalaine
Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Nakakastress pala kapag ganyang field. Ikaw na din o kayo kayo na ang bahalang magtanggal noon at pasensya.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sobra po pero life lesson naman po yung matututunan naming pakikipag-usap at paghandle ng tao kaya sobrang thankful ko na rin po

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. Those changes and challenges in your job will make you Gelai! God bless sayo at sa work mo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you po, lifetime ko na pong itreasure ang experience at natutunan ko sa mga supervisors ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago