Jack Of All Trades Master of None

2 25

I browsed on my Tiktok to watch some videos to distract myself since I couldn't sleep last night. I came upon a video while going through my for you page that really caught my interest.

Have you ever heard the phrase "Jack of all trades, master of none"? According to Wikipedia, this statement refers to a person who has worked with a variety of abilities rather than developing expertise by focusing on one.

It got me thinking for a while, and if I were to assess my own set of abilities, I would say that I fall into the category of people who didn't excel in any particular skill. I mean, I know a little bit of everything, and I don't mean to say that I'm an expert in anything. For instance, I know how to cook; I can bake, but I still rely on youtube; I wrote a poem but used pretty limited words; I do photography and videography and I can edit it as well but just an amateur level of editing. I acquired a little bit of everything I listed above but I could master one skill that I could proudly put on my resume.

In the video, Ms. Ches said that this phrase has a second part and it's "Jack of all trades, master of none but often times better than a master of one". Actually, this was the first time I had heard it in this context, so before I shared my thoughts, allow me to tell you about my previous opinion on this issue.

Despite having the capabilities I've mentioned above, I've always felt unfulfilled. I envied most of my friends who had a skill they were particularly good at. I've always wanted to practice or do some self-study to get better at what I do, but I'm not very reliable about following through. My attempts at improvement were quickly abandoned, but a month or two later, or whenever I felt like it, I would resume my quest. Contrary to what I believed, Manang Ches convinced me that I was fortunate to have a wide range of knowledge and that these skills will be useful for me in the future.


You can check a few of my previous works here

Disclaimer: I am neither a psychologist nor a financial advisor, and all of my pieces were done for entertainment purposes only. What I've written here is merely my personal opinion, and any statements made are based on my personal views and should not be taken as fact. Always do your due diligence.

Images were from Unsplashed.com

Support and Follow me here:

https://read.cash/@GelayyLumiere

https://noise.cash/u/Gelayy

2
$ 0.11
$ 0.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Lhes
Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Minsan mapapaisip ka talaga sa mga ganyang bagay langga nuh. Yung maisip mo yung ibang tao sa skills nila then ma reflect mo sa self mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

now I was thinking if I belong in that category too, ano nga mastery ko?. lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago