Me and My Thoughts about Marriage

19 27

Marriage is a beautiful thing shared by two people in love with each other. It is a sacred union and a promise to hold that two people will be together, in the end, no matter where life would take them.

My parents have been married for more than 25 years now. I can see that they are still in love even for the long time that they’ve been together. For sure they have encountered hardships and different casualties in life, but still after all the years; they’re still together, which I’m very much proud of.

I am 22 years old now. Working as a school teacher I haven’t experienced yet having a long time relationship. Well, I’ve been to some relationships back at college but nothing lasted for years. With my experiences, I have realized that the problem was on me like I don’t know how to keep up a relationship. I just think that I’m still young for all of these. But, whenever I go to family reunions, questions like, “Who’s your boyfriend?,” “Are you dating now?” bla… bla…bla… Why do I get to answer those questions? Can I not enjoy my single life?

When my sister got married, she moved out of the house. Since their house is still under construction, she lived with her in-laws. She told me that at first, their treatment was fair and she could really feel belongingness not until she heard her mother-in-law talking about her behind her back. It’s not that she doesn’t help to do the chores in the house, in fact, she does all of it, from cleaning to cooking. Her husband’s family found her as their rival on the packages and allotment that they receive monthly.

One time, she came home crying because she argued with her sister-in-law. It was just a very small matter but their family made it big. I felt pity for her. I told her to tell her husband about it so she could go back to our house while waiting for their house to be done. She refused because she doesn’t want her husband to worry about her knowing that he is working abroad. It would just lead to more ruckuses to the issue.

So then I thought I don’t like to mess with in-laws. Well, lucky for those who have understanding and supportive in-laws. It’s like it doesn’t matter how respectful of the kind you are, if they find you a threat to their family, you will find no peace living with them. I don’t like to deal with other family matters.

Aside from the issue about dealing with in-laws, I also don’t want to move out of the house. I don’t like to live far away from my family. I am also considering living with my parents if ever I get married. But that would be another issue if my husband doesn’t agree with the setup.

It’s a very complicated thing. As for my sister, she has already moved out from her in-laws' house since their house is almost done. Her relationship with them is not as good as the first time she was introduced to the family. You will really know the real character of those people, once you lived with them.

As for me, I’m not for marriage. As of now, that’s what I’m thinking. I don’t want to live a complicated life and I don't like to be away from the freedom that I am enjoying. But, who knows, I do not know what's ahead of me, there could be someone who will change my thoughts about marriage.

What about you, what are your thoughts about it?

9
$ 5.03
$ 4.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
$ 0.02 from @Marinov
+ 3
Sponsors of Fyangzee24
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Na di nako matinga anang in-laws hahaha! Ang bida2 jod ana ang nanay kay kanang mga tatay di man na kaajo magtingog. Pero basin pa diay swerte kas imo in laws baray. Gow! 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those girls are really lucky who gets a supportive and understanding in laws. I saw my mother who suffered just like your sister by her in laws but luckily my mom is really lucky for having a supportive and lovable husband like my father. I wish every girl may get a lovely in laws.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is why it's better to prioritize yourself first before diving in to relationship. Have a stable job and stable life so that you can afford to have your own. Hirap kasi kapag kasalo yung in-laws eh, Lalo na pag medyo ma attitude. Wews

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Only few people will get a chance to have a real and supportive in-laws. You are right, you will definitely know the true color of a person when you live with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, that's what I am worried about. If the right time comes and if God allows, I hope I don't suffer emotionally about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah you right. Every girl has this kind of thinking point in her mind..may god bless you and happy time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe it's just temporary. I do not know what's in the future hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naaahhh malas kaayo ko kay ang side ni kuya nimu bby, ila tan aw nahu is threat hahaa. Labi na atung time na kamao na ko mo say no nyahahahha adahh urui,.. bahala sila diha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maayo ra jud nibuwag namo mmy. Kay dakong samok sa injong panag uban

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah it is true that I want to get married but I don't want it now in my life cause I want to establish and settle my life first

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thinking. Probably if both of you and your partner have stable lives before engaging in marriage, I don't think in-laws will meddle in your marriage life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As of now, I'm not yet ready to enter this kind of life. I don't want to get married and unprepared for the future of the family. Its not that as easy thing though especially when you have a mother in law unsupportive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. I can't see myself living such a kind of life. If ever, I'm gonna miss my freedom forever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

On one knows, bka nga may taong makakapagbago ng mindset mo yung taong maaring maging way na mag.asawa ka at titira din pansamantala. Yung taong mghahatid sayu para ma face mo yung fear mo in terms of pag.aasawa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know what to react if that ever happens haha. I'm not planning on changing my mind about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah maybe not now, but might soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha amen 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the best thing for any marriage is when the couple lives alone, without parents. There will always be problems with in-laws even when there is the greatest respect because it is not natural to live in such a community. There will always be a conflict of opinion that will lead to disagreements.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes and I cannot myself engage in such a scenario. I am always reminded of my sister's life as married woman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago