Love Letters to the Dead 💀

3 12
Avatar for Fyangzee24
2 years ago
Topics: Random, Thoughts, Thought

It's Friday today and our teacher gave us a weird assignment. As literature students, we tend to write and read articles or stories. She told us to write a letter to a dead person. It should all be like the things you wanted to say to the person when he/she was still living. As for me, I grew up knowing only my mom and dad. I never met my grandparents or either of my parent's siblings. I don't even know if they even have one. So, to whom am I gonna write a letter?

That night, I learned that my parents are both from the orphanage. That means I don't have any extended family to write to. I asked them if they have deceased friends that I knew somehow but there's no one. So, I decided to write a letter to my mother's mom.

There is nothing special in the letter I wrote. I just asked her, why did she leave mom in the orphanage? I know for sure there could be a reason. Well, my mom doesn't talk about it. I would not even know that they were both orphans until today. After writing the letter, I kept it inside my bag ready to pass on Monday. Time check. 11:45 pm. I'm still not asleep. I grab another piece of paper. I was kind of inspired to write another letter. But to whom? As I am a hopeless romantic, I have decided to write a letter to my soulmate. The next day is Sunday, we're gonna pass by a graveyard in going to church, so I'll probably drop by this letter

To my soulmate,

When I was growing up, my dad used to incessantly remind me: the world is made of either warriors or worriers, and I ought to choose my identity wisely. It’s safe to say that after all these years, I most definitely chose to worry.

I am overworked. I set high standards for myself, and I lunge for them in some sort of ambitious fury. Consistency and stability are cornerstones of my existence.

Alas, in my careerist blunder, in a world filled with flawed politics and high stakes: I must stop and wonder what you’re up to.

Are you sleeping enough? Are you compiling a case for a tournament, or do you not loathe yourself enough to debate competitively as I do? Are you hurting or getting hurt; are you stressed or at peace? I must know, albeit I never will.

However, I will hope. I will hope that you are kind, and those around you can feel it. That you continue to challenge everything you know. That you know pain but are lucky enough to avoid its grasps when you can.

I must advise you: no matter how perfect you may seem, you never will be so. Do not ignore the beating heart in your chest. I know it on my own that you and I are not alone.

If you are struggling, I am sure I will be too; not due to unforeseen supernatural circumstances, but because I am almost always struggling with something. Where you seek knowledge, I will be searching for it desperately. We will go to class and come home, find humor in the most dreadful of times, scorn others with contempt only facetious, worry amid warriors — we will do all of it together.

I love you. I don’t know you, but it’s true. For what is the world without its sick, aphoristic mantras, such as my father’s and as this? This sentiment is hollow now, but shall not be in good time.

Until we meet.

Best Regards,

Me

I might be crazy for writing to someone whom I never knew existed.

The next day, as I have said I'm gonna dropped it in the graveyard but the gates are closed. I decided to leave it on the lamp of the gate. No one's gonna read it anyway because of the bad weather coming, the rain will probably rip it to pieces.

Monday.

I passed the assignment to the teachers' table. Everybody was busy talking about their letters. Some are being emotional and I belong to those who don't care at all. We're all waiting for the teacher to come. I realized I don't have my literature book with me. I run quickly to the lockers to get my book. I opened my locker and something dropped on the floor. It's a blue envelope. I picked it up and dash through the corridors.

The whole day at school made me exhausted. I laid my body in my queen-sized bed and I remembered the envelope that fell on the floor when I got my book. I searched for it in my bag and I slowly ripped the envelope. What I read made my jaw dropped.

You,

I had been waiting for you during my lifetime. Distance doesn't matter now. Heaven and hell yet collide so I will go to the ends with you.

Now, you must not worry anymore for I am now here for you.

I am not perfect but I am perfect for you.

I love you.

Your soulmate '75

Holy Ghost! I can feel goosebumps as I read the letter. This can't be happening. The window of my room was open so the big blow of the wind went inside my room. Lights turned off for a second and when it came back there I see him standing behind the curtains. I see the silhouette of the man I called my soulmate.

1
$ 0.04
$ 0.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Fyangzee24
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fyangzee24
2 years ago
Topics: Random, Thoughts, Thought

Comments

Will you create a second part for this? is this true? what happened then?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for reading :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No haha.. It just came into my mind hahaha.. Btw, I'll think about writing the next part 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago